We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all the way around.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Cannot wait to stay again but next time I will be bringing my pup. Staff was excellent. Buffett in the morning was great. Very fresh with a great variety. My only complaint, if it is even a complaint, was we went out for dinner on the Saturday night we stayed there and when we came back to the hotel parking was very limited. Wish 1 spot would have been marked for the room we were staying in.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have been staying at this hotel off and on since the 1970's when the hotel opened. Through several changes it was always a little better. I think that what they are doing now has made an old location look and feel 'new'. We have enjoyed the stays there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We love staying at this hotel. It has a lovely relaxing feel to it surrounded by lush green hills and the rooms are spacious and well maintained. The pool and jacuzzi is lovely to relax by and shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Monterrey is just a short drive and Carmel right at the doorstep. This location is superb for visiting Point Lobos State Park, Carmel Valley and even Santa Cruz is an easy and pleasant drive.

The hotel staff are very warm and friendly and I found them very responsive if I needed anything such as extra pillows etc. We have stayed at this facility for 15 plus years and it feels like coming home each and every time. It is one of the nicer places to stay in the area but the Central Coast is known for its beauty and the hotels are not 'City luxurious' but it offers all the comforts of a well run facility, is clean,maid service is very good and location is excellent. It is also in a quiet location and I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting the area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice and well situated. I prefer higher floors and there is elevator access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britgal2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On our 3-day-drive from LA to SFO we stayed the 2nd night in Carmel. When we arrived at Rio Road we were a bit shocked about the outside look of the 'Carmel Mission Inn'. It look a bit like a Motel from the 60's. But then it turned out to be a positive surprise!

Check-in was friendly and fast, got the instruction how to drive to our room. We had a room on the 3rd floor, with a nice balcony. The room itself was nicely renovated. Only when you open the curtains you see the old aluminum-framed windows and the older AC - but nothing to worry about.

The only two negative points are
- Internet very, very slow
- price a bit too high for what is offered

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is such an enjoyable hotel. They have great deals which include breakfast unlike many hotels in the area. The rooms are decorated great and are a very good size. There are also many lovely golf course near by.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My family and I recently spent three nights at the Carmel Mission Inn, our second time staying here. It's an older property, but has been nicely redecorated and is very well maintained. The hotel is conveniently located near a number of eating and shopping choices, and is mere steps away from The Barnyard shopping complex where we ate on two occasions. The swimming pool is nice and, although heated, it still not quite warm enough for a swim on a cool Carmel spring day.

I asked for a quiet room away from the elevators when I booked my room, and they delivered without me having to ask a second time. The rooms are standard-sized motel rooms, are in good condition and have obviously been revamped at some point. We had difficulty getting warm air from the heater, but they sent someone up quickly to fix this. My only complaint regarding the room has to do with the remodeled bathroom. First, the original door has been replaced with a sliding door that leaves a small gap even when closed, compromising privacy. Second, the original tub has been replaced by a shower stall with no door on it, so that if you point the showerhead in the wrong direction, the floor outside the shower gets soaked. Despite these issues, we slept well and found the room comfortable.

The in-room wifi is not terribly fast, and occasionally drops connections, but it wasn't as bad as some I've experienced. The kids were able to see each other's devices and play Minecraft PE over the network, so it was good enough for us. We paid for the breakfast buffet one of the mornings we were there. It was good, certainly better than the free breakfasts many hotels serve. I would recommend buying the breakfast voucher at check-in, however, because it gives you a discounted price and I would have been disappointed if I had paid more than the discounted price.

Overall, I would recommend the Carmel Mission Inn if you are okay with the caveats I've listed. We would stay there again if we return to Carmel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenturaKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The fact that this hotel is pet friendly may explain the strong smell of air freshener that is overwhelming in the room. Maybe there is a way to have some rooms that are not pet friendly. I have allergies and would prefer a non-pet friendly room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Begic3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. I must correct the inaccuracy of your statement however. Yes we are a pet friendly hotel but these rooms are limited and restricted to certain areas only. Thus not all rooms are pet friendly. For anyone traveling to our hotel if you suffer from any allergies please let us know and we will make every effort to insure your comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 24 in Carmel
733 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
928 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carmel Bay View Inn
Carmel Bay View Inn
#14 of 24 in Carmel
1,185 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 24 in Carmel
629 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 24 in Carmel
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £113 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel
Carmel Mission Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing