We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halibut Special, Not”
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Halibut Special, Not”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Went with relatives to celebrate a birthday. Night special was fresh halibut which my wife ordered.
The restaurant should be ashamed for the manner in which the fresh fish was cooked. It was totally over cooked, tasteless and extremely expensive.
There are many other restaurants I would try in Carmel before ever returning here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austinbillgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
First of all let me sincerely apologize for a dining experience that did not meet your expectations. At times our restaurant gets very busy but that is no excuse for a subpar performance. I hope you spoke to your server concerning the quality of your meal and an appropriate adjustment was made to your bill. We stand behind our products and customer satisfaction is our top priority. We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again to create a much better impression about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    716
    215
    60
    51
See reviews for
513
733
49
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Was in town for the Land Rover Experience (a one day 4x4 off-road driving course) and the even't bank of rooms at the Quail Inn were gone so went online a found the Carmel Mission Inn...quite reasonable room rate for just one night, and pretty much around the corner from the Land Rover event...when we checked in the room was close tot he lobby and just fine ... the bathroom was impressive....got in late, so decided to simply check out room service ... it had a half dozen items that looked good but i convinced my son to go get a drink first and we got to the bar/restaurant (around the corner from the lobby) we saw that the menu was way bigger than the room service menu (weird) ... so ... ended having a martini (and then one beer) and a mini-feast (even returned to the room w/ a nice single malt & a piece of cheesecake) but that was after relaxing and listening to some live entertainment and ... some serious dancing going on out on the floor ... all-in-all had a blast our one night there ... will definitely return next time we're in town

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwvierg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the traveling public concerning the Carmel Mission Inn. It sounds like you had a good time during your short stay here. We do offer live music on Friday and Saturday evenings and it can be great fun. We also strive to provide a great value in the Carmel area and I’m glad you found our rates to be reasonable. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I were attending a wedding in the Carmel hills so booked a room at the Inn along with numerous other wedding guests. The service at the Inn was wonderful and the room clean and adequate. We could walk to some wonderful meals in the two shopping areas just next to the Inn and to downtown Carmel for a longer walk. We had a very nice long weekend enchanced by all our friends staying at the same hotel. We didn't have the breakfast but others did and found it fine.

We happened to leave a computer cable in the room but it was returned by mail a few days later.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FilomenaMenloPark_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the many positive comments that you wrote. These will be shared with our hard-working, dedicated staff. We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again and we truly appreciate your business. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, California
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay at Carmel Mission Inn this year. I found it very convenient and close to points of interest in the area and some very good restaurants nearby. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. I love the bath products, Gilchrist and Soames! The only drawback is the lack of elevators, so if you tend to pack a heavy suitcase, choose the rooms on ground level.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChonaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and in particular your positive comments about our friendly, accommodating staff. One thing I would like to point out is that we do have elevators in the hotel and I hope our staff fully explained the access points. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you have ever been to Carmel before, you know that the intrigue is in "downtown" Carmel. When we booked the hotel, we thought it was in that downtown area (or, at least, I did), but it is actually about a two-mile walk from the hotel to the city center. This requires you to either get a cab to drive there, walk (it is actually a very nice stroll), or spend a good amount of money to park.

As for the rooms themselves, they were okay, but not lovely. There were the usual amenities, and definitely a nice spa and pool, but nothing that would take your breath away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We feel that we have a convenient location from which to explore all the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. As you noted we have a great heated pool and spa which many people find very enjoyable. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again in the future. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our official website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We happened across this Inn while driving down the PCH from San Francisco. We started into the main drag of Carmel by the Sea but did not like how touristy it felt. I couldn't be happier we found this gem. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. The room was beautifully renovated with all the touches of the larger hotels (including robes!) and the grounds were beautifully landscaped. The heated pool and spa were very clean. I was also able to enjoy the fitness room which was small but not to busy. The onsite restaurant provided a delicious breakfast buffet for an additional cost (look for a deal on tripadvisor). The location is close to a gas station, shopping center, restaurants, about 1-2 miles south of the busy part of Carmel and a couple miles away from the beach and Point Lobos. I would happily visit this Inn again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halohead8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our Carmel hotel and in particular your recognition of our staff which we are very proud of. We are always quite pleased when someone refers to our hotel as a gem. It seems like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is a great value. We appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel directly or visit the official website for exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

When we checked in, the agent mentioned that they have breakfast with large varieties of hot and cold food. If we sign up now it is $12 per person, if not we have to pay more. So we signed up and it was a total rip off. The varieties are very very less. Even a small hotel provides much more choices with the room rent they charge. With the same amount of money you can go outside and enjoy better breakfast. do not go in for their marketing of"large varieties of hot and cold breakfast". Do yourself a favor and enjoy breakfast someplace else.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank grhrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
First let me apologize for any misconception or misunderstanding about our breakfast. By and large most people are very satisfied with our offering. Our breakfast buffet includes the following: scrambled eggs, cinnamon swirl French toast, bacon, sausage, chefs Yukon gold potatoes, hot oatmeal, granola, yogurt, assorted fresh fruit, biscuits, breakfast breads and Starbucks coffee. And of course this is an all-you-can-eat buffet. Now at a price of $12 per person some may feel this is not a great deal. I’ve been in the area for quite some time and I’ll be honest with you. I haven’t found a better one yet. We do appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
652 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
857 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 25 in Carmel
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing