We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for me...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not for me...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Somewhat disappointed. I love the concept of renovated motels, but this one fell short. Receptionist was a bit short when she did not understand my question. Nice large room on the top floor, with balcony overlooking the pool. But with horrid textured plastered walls, which dominated the room. Very gloomy wall papered bathroom. The electrics were frustrating, could not find the wall switch as I entered the room at night! Good location for a quick overnight stop, next to HW 1, with a great fish shop/restaurant across the street in the mall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    695
    212
    60
    49
See reviews for
491
718
47
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, cozy and contemporary. Our pet friendly room was on the ground floor, so the parking lot was outside the window, but it's a fairly quiet hotel so closing the blackout drapes was sufficient. Nice location outside of busy downtown Carmel, but next to The Barnyard and Crossroads shopping Centers.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin100852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Love this place.
Last stayed 16 yrs ago(!) on honeymoon.Remember relaxing in the outdoor hot tub and enjoying the view.
Reception very friendly and helpful.
V pleasant, retro- style foyer.
Rooms clean, comfortable.
Hot tub still there-had to be revisited after the great value breakfast,lovely pool with towels provided-enjoyed this time with our 2 children.
Will return !!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gasman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were traveling with a dog, and had low expectations of this place - we initially chose it simply because it was dog friendly. It was awesome! The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated and clean. The dog was welcome everywhere - including the happy hour fire pit out front, and even on the pool deck. (There is even a little Scandinavian restaurant walking distance that has good human food, AND a dog menu!) Great pool - with floaties. The breakfast buffet was OK; we did it for 1 morning because it was easy. (Eggs, bacon/sausage, biscuits/gravy, fresh fruit, french toast). It was kind of weird that milk/juice is not included in the price (but coffee/hot chocolate are). This was a fun stay - we will be back.

Room Tip: Upper rooms facing the lobby have a nice hillside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We came to Carmel to visit Point Lobos. Carmel Mission Inn is about 5 minutes from there. We were pleased with the room. It was comfortable, quiet, and clean. There were 2 chairs on our balcony and a refrigerator under the TV. There is a restaurant and bar on site.
I called ahead a few days to request 2 box lunches to take to Point Lobos with us. Stefanie is the restaurant manager at Carmel Mission Inn and she is fantastic. She was so accommodating and friendly we were really impressed. She treated us like friends rather than hotel guests she had never met. Our lunches were ready on time and just as we had ordered.
We stayed 2 nights and had dinner there both nights and breakfast there both mornings. It was so convenient and the food was good. One night the dinner was even free because they had a deal where dinner was free if you bought drinks.
I would have loved to spend more time here and visit more of Carmel. We did enjoy our visit to Point Lobos tremendously and we also drove to see McWay Falls at Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakeAPicture-PaintIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your review of the Carmel Mission Inn. Point Lobos is a must-see when visiting the Carmel area. We are very proud of our hard-working, dedicated staff and I’m glad Stephanie was able to make your stay even more enjoyable. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Went with relatives to celebrate a birthday. Night special was fresh halibut which my wife ordered.
The restaurant should be ashamed for the manner in which the fresh fish was cooked. It was totally over cooked, tasteless and extremely expensive.
There are many other restaurants I would try in Carmel before ever returning here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austinbillgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
First of all let me sincerely apologize for a dining experience that did not meet your expectations. At times our restaurant gets very busy but that is no excuse for a subpar performance. I hope you spoke to your server concerning the quality of your meal and an appropriate adjustment was made to your bill. We stand behind our products and customer satisfaction is our top priority. We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again to create a much better impression about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Was in town for the Land Rover Experience (a one day 4x4 off-road driving course) and the even't bank of rooms at the Quail Inn were gone so went online a found the Carmel Mission Inn...quite reasonable room rate for just one night, and pretty much around the corner from the Land Rover event...when we checked in the room was close tot he lobby and just fine ... the bathroom was impressive....got in late, so decided to simply check out room service ... it had a half dozen items that looked good but i convinced my son to go get a drink first and we got to the bar/restaurant (around the corner from the lobby) we saw that the menu was way bigger than the room service menu (weird) ... so ... ended having a martini (and then one beer) and a mini-feast (even returned to the room w/ a nice single malt & a piece of cheesecake) but that was after relaxing and listening to some live entertainment and ... some serious dancing going on out on the floor ... all-in-all had a blast our one night there ... will definitely return next time we're in town

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwvierg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the traveling public concerning the Carmel Mission Inn. It sounds like you had a good time during your short stay here. We do offer live music on Friday and Saturday evenings and it can be great fun. We also strive to provide a great value in the Carmel area and I’m glad you found our rates to be reasonable. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing