We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families with kids and dogs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great for families with kids and dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We decided on a last minute trip to Monterey/Carmel which meant we had to take our 85lb German Shepheard with us. We found this hotel online and grabbed the last dog friendly room on a busy weekend in the Monterey area (major motorcycling and dog show events going on). It's well located just off Highway 1 in Carmel, a short six miles from downtown Monterey and located next to a shopping center and a pub. We were right opposite the pub so with the windows open on a warm night it was a little noisy but not that bad.

From the outside the hotel looks a little dated but inside is a different story and the common areas are very nice. We had a room at the back of the hotel, which is convenient for access to some large grassy areas.

The room was clean and nicely appointed and we could see that the other, perhaps non-dog friendly were even nicer. The room also has a fridge and our only real complaint was that the bed was very soft and we woke up a little stiff in the morning.

The hotel offers an all-you-can eat buffet at $12 for over 12 years of age and $8 for under 12 at the time of check-in. It was well worth it and we were surprised that there was an outside patio area where dogs were welcome.

From the hotel it's a short 1/2 mile or so walk to the Mission, although you're walking on a very wide road with no sidewalks, and another mile or so beyond that to the super dog-friendly and beautiful city of Carmel. It was well worth the time to walk through the lovely houses and main street down to the beach, back to a dog-friendly restaurant and then back to the hotel. It was probably a 3 mile round-trip and the kids and dog really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Unless you're traveling with a dog you may want to avoid a room on the back facing the pub or on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Si405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our Carmel hotel. I’m glad you were able to enjoy one of our pet friendly rooms. We do offer a limited number of designated pet friendly rooms and we always suggest you call ahead to make sure that we can accommodate your needs. We are also pleased that you noted the cleanliness of our guestrooms as well as our convenient location. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for exclusive rates, packages and pet friendly room availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    690
    212
    60
    49
See reviews for
488
716
47
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for one night on the way from San Francisco to Los Angeles. The hotel is right by the Highway 1 but wasn't disturbed by traffic noise at all. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious and clean and the bathroom was fantastic (although the sliding bathroom door left gaps around the frame which could be awkward if not close to your room-mates. The pool was very nicely done and the breakfast in the morning was great too. There is an entire shopping/restaurant village right out the back of the hotel with great choices to eat at night. WiFi was complimentary everywhere and parking was free. Its only a short drive down to the fantastic Carmel beach also. Would highly recommend from stop-overs or long stays!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We thank you for your “great hotel” comment and most importantly for recognizing our friendly and helpful staff. We recognize them as our most important asset and are very proud of the work they do. It also seems like you enjoyed our recent renovation to the pool area which we feel is very fun and enjoyable. You also noted the free Wi-Fi where we recently did a major upgrade on the system. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just stayed here en route and the hotel was fine but cam across to us as a fairly basic motel on a busy highway. Nice staff - room was OK. Pool was being 'fixed' so didn't use that or have time to see much more of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your positive comments about our “nice staff” and “excellent breakfast”. It seems like you were here during their pool renovation which may have provide some level of inconvenience. Let me say that we are sorry for that but hope you can come back and truly enjoyed the finished product. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haacht, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This is a well kept and well located hotel. It has all the comfort that a person needs after a day's driving. The rooms are very nice and comfy. Only (small) remark is that when you use the parking lot in the back, it is less fortunate that the customer is explicetely confronted with maintenance. But I suppose that's the difference between a *** and a **** or more hotel. Otherwise **** would be in their reach.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to provide a great value and appreciate your comment that the hotel is well taken care of. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again whenever in the area. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Clean pretty rooms. Comfy beds. Granite in the bathrooms. Has fridge. No microwave. Very close to US 1 and Carmel by the Sea.

Wish breakfast was included at cost. Breakfast is up charge per person.

Location is in a complex that has gas, grocery store, Starbucks and more. Very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy-FL-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We appreciate your kind words about our Carmel hotel. Cleanliness is truly important to us and we are also pleased that you enjoyed our comfortable beds. We feel we offer a very convenient location from which to explore the Monterey Peninsula and I’m glad you liked our location. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel directly or visit our website to get the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swag
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Great place for kids, but probably not the first choice for just adults. The pool and hot tub are wonderful, and the chairs and space around it are beautifully decorated. The rooms are fairly nice and spacious, but the location isn't great. Everything is fresh and very clean, my family had a lovely few days there.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bal217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your comments about our recently renovated pool area and we think it’s great for kids of all ages. That includes grandma and grandpa. The pool area and hot tub have been well received and I’m glad you enjoyed yourself. I’m glad you also pointed out the cleanliness of our hotel which is a result of our hard-working, dedicated staff. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Just remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We liked the hotel, decor, comfy beds, nice showers, and location.
The one down point for us was breakfast. We prepaid $12 for buffet breakfast to find that did not include juice which was an additional $4 so be aware. We have travelled many places around the US and world and never have we been charged extra for juice in a buffet price.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank carmyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing