We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover for travel up/down the coast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great stopover for travel up/down the coast.”
Reviewed 25 January 2009

The Carmel Mission Inn is located off Highway one. It is about 5 minutes to downtown Carmel. The staff at the desk were wonderful at checkin and checkout. Very helpful recommendations about places to eat. There is a small shopping center behind the hotel called the Barnyard. The pool is small and the hottub was closed.

The rooms are a funky 60s vibe but very clean and neat. Yes the bathroom door doesn't fit tightly over the opening and the water takes 10 minutes to warm up. But it was a GREAT location and very good price.

Good place to stop when travelling up or down Highway 1.

  • Liked — Location and the price
  • Disliked — water takes awhile to heat up and the door doesn't fit tightly over the bathroom opening
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SilverStar-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    723
    216
    61
    56
See reviews for
525
737
49
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Where can one get a hotel for $109 / nt in Carmel?? And, where can one get a one night stay in Carmel? Most properties on the Monterey Peninsula require a two night minimum.

Check in and check out were very easy. Guest staff is very courteous and friendly.

There is a lounge, but I did not visit it.

This property is recently redecorated. Room was clean, property was clean. Common areas are very nice -- there is a lovely fire pit at the entrance of the hotel.

The hotel is convenient to restaurants, grocery, other amenities and one block off Highway 1.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — internet speed
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WonderTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

This was a pleasure trip to Carmel and this hotel was a VERY pleasant surprise. Comparing the costs of hotels in the area this place is a GREAT value and the newly renovated rooms are seriously DELIGHTFUL! The colors of the decor are totally fun and exciting...the rooms are appointed in bright colors that have a great effect on the senses. The King bed was incredibly comfortable and the coverings were wonderfully heavy! I love heavy comforters. The bathroom looks european with high-end shampoo and soap...with a modern shower...it is very lovely...they have 2 bathrobes that you can use or even buy if you want. Our room did not have a bath tub but I never use bathtubs so the modern, glassed-in shower was a delight. There is a flat screen LCD TV. I do love "experiences" and for the price this hotel gives you alot. Although the exterior is dated the building still has an "old elegance" about it and the lobby and restaurant were both very enjoyable. The hotel is only a mile for downtown Carmel and it is also very convenient to The Barnyard (which has shopping and eateries) which has a walking entrance at the back of the hotel. We were in a room at the backside so it was easy access. Across the street from this hotel is another very nice mall area called the Crossroads and it has shopping and a couple of nice restaurants where we ate. I would absolutely recommend this hotel because its fun to enjoy vibrant colors in the rooms, everything is clean and neat and it is a good location...and the price is definitely very reasonable! I hope you enjoy this place as much as we did.

  • Liked — The newly renovated rooms in very stylish appointments
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makkie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

The remodel and upgrrades to this hotel are great. We have stayed here occasionally over the years and this is the nicest we have seen this hotel. I will definately request a ground level entry room again, as I much preferred this to taking an elevator up to a room off a hallway. It was quiet and super clean. The pool and hot tub area were great too, even for January. The landscaping here is just beautiful.

  • Liked — Updated rooms, clean and quiet.
  • Disliked — Hard to park near your room at night.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ak2id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, ca
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

My husband, myself and my six year old son spent one night in a deluxe queen room at Carmel Mission Inn this past weekend. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the place was. The rooms have all been recently updated with bright contemporary furnishings. Everything was there that we needed....refrig, coffeemaker, great toiletries, safe, etc. They seemed to think of everything. In addition we had a beautiful view out our window and large fourth floor balcony. We ordered room service in the morning and everything was included as ordered and it arrived on time as promised. Upon check in and check out the staff was very friendly. We couldn't have been happier and plan to return for a longer stay very soon. It is a great find in Carmel in which you usually have to pay a bundle for a decent place to stay. Very satisfied!!!

  • Liked — The location and price
  • Disliked — The beds were a little too soft
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jujidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

I satyed here for two nights while visiting Carmel, you will not find better value anywhere in Carmel. The rooms are modern with a kind of aqua theme, they have flat screens and have recently been renovated.

You also get a free drink in their bar/restaurant and the food is good, the staff also go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyDazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North America
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

The front desk staff was not friendly nor were they guest service-oriented. We asked an agent to contact us when our room was ready after it was deemed a "priority rush" to clean but we never received a call. I was placed on hold for four minutes (yes, I timed it) when I asked the front desk (no concierge) for help with restaurant recommendations and reservations. I ended up hanging up instead of holding.

The conference room/luggage storage area was not secure with easy access to anyone that entered the lobby.

It took approximately five minutes for hot water to run in the shower. The front desk agent replied that it's typical for the faucet to run for 10 minutes until the water becomes hot.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank businessorpleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
662 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe

Property: Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel
Carmel Mission Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing