We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but not in downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
155 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good value but not in downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Great service, good beds and good overall value. Not in downtown - on the "other side" of HWY 1 - but otherwise a good pit stop!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    696
    212
    60
    49
See reviews for
491
719
47
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

My boyfriend and i have just returned from a 12 day trip to California where we stayed at the Carmel Mission Inn for one night. I wish it was more!! The hotel is beautifully presented from the outside and in! The room was an absolute delight. The bed was comfy, much needed after a long drive! There was a complimentary dressing gowns which was a lovely unexpected touch and the bathroom was luxurious. The staff and service were fantastic, the rooms hairdryer broke and within in minutes it was replaced. The breakfast was adequate and just what we needed for an early start. Overall we were very impressed and should we visit Carmel again (which we hope to as it is beautiful) then we will look no where else other than the Mission Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your thoughts with the traveling public. We are very proud of our friendly, caring staff and they work very hard to insure your comfort when visiting this wonderful area. Our goal is to provide an outstanding value in a comfortable, fun and convenient location. We thank you for your business and hope you return soon. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

I normally stay closer to the Naval Postgraduate School when I visit the Monterey area, so the Carmel Mission Inn was an adventure for me.

And if anyone doubts that the Inn's restaurant and bar bring in local area residents on Saturday night, then come in very late and try to find a parking space. I had flown down to San Diego for the day and returned about midnight to hear a band playing in the bar and happy people laughing. It was no problem parking in the grass off property -- but because I was tuckered out from my long day -- I went straight up to my room.

My room was in the back facing The Barnyards shops, and it was very quiet back there. Otherwise, the maids liked me ( I make my own bed and keep my room orderly as an old army habit ) so they left me extra coffee packs and extra towels. And I was able to stash take-out in the room's cube fridge, but I could have used a microwave. By the way, restaurants are excellent in Carmel -- but *costly*.

Would I recommend this hotel to my friends? Heck, yeah! And I took some photos of my room to boot -- they should be attached.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forest20851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2010
A "happening place" you say. Thanks for reviewing our our hotel. With great live music on Friday and Saturday nights we are a favorite locals spot. The Prime Rib buffet on Saturday and the seafood buffet on Friday's are very popular also. Our goal is to provide an outstanding value to our guests in a safe and comfortable environment. We sincerely thank you for your business and hope you will visit again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way to San Fransisco, and it was a pleasure to stay there. The rooms were comfortable and clean, very nicely decorated and modern.

The staff were polite and friendly and the hotel bar and lobby was very warm and welcoming.

We had a live band perform on the night we stayed in the hotel baqr, and they were fabulous! They had an all you can eat ribs night too, at a very good price.

Overall an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am please that you were able to enjoy our live music weekends featuring top local bands from the area. The all you can eat Prime Rib buffet on Saturdays is truly a great value as is our happy hour seafood buffet on Fridays. The staff takes pride in providing a clean and comfortable place and we sincerely appreciate your business. We hope that you will stay with us again and please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

We booked through Hotwire and were very pleased with our stay in the King Deluxe room for only $79/night. The room was clean with modern décor and the hotel is located near several restaurants and shops. However, you will need a car to get to Ocean Avenue and the heart of Carmel which is a 5 minute drive away. Worth noting: The Starbucks in the Safeway across the street has free wireless.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy2418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review the Carmel Mission Inn. We pride ourselves in providing an outstanding value in this beautiful area. Our recent renovation has provided a modern look with many fine features. Our location offer a good central vantage point to explore the wonders of Carmel as many have found. We appreciate your business and we welcome your return. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Carmel Mission Inn. What attracted us first was the price--quite a deal for Carmel--then the location (we were attending a wedding on the beach nearby). The first thing we noticed upon arrival was the beautiful outside patio with a firepit and lots of chairs. We were given coupons for free drinks at the bar, so we took our generously poured drinks to the patio and decompressed after our drive. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, though I could have personally done without the chartreuse color scheme. The shower was great, and the night was quiet. Can't ask for much more than that. Oh, yeah, and then there was the free hot breakfast with fresh fruit!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy our beautiful garden patio and fire pit. It truly is a great place to unwind. Many say that we are an "outstanding value" and I'm glad you found our accommodations to be "clean and comfortable". Our bed and breakfast package is very popular and also adds great value. We appreciate your business and hope you will return soon. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

I picked the hotel based on previous tripadvisor reviews and have not been disappointed!
The hotel is really great value overall. Although it looks a bit dated from the outside, interior and rooms have been recently renovated. The rooms are spacious and nicely designed and include perks like a radio with ipod dock. The bathroom is nice with a real shower which is not even matched by many 5star hotels. The only slight minus there is that the water pressure is not too high and it sometimes takes a little for the water to heat up. But this is not affecting the overall picture.
In-room WiFi as well as usage of computer terminals is free, which is a great staff.
Finally, the breakfast has been good value and staff extremely friendly and engaged. I can only recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terp477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Thank you for your review and your comments will be shared with our staff. Our recent renovation has produced a modern look and feel with many good amenities. Our intention is to provide a truly great value in this beautiful and at times expensive destination. It sounds like you enjoyed our bed and breakfast package which we feel is a great value added amenity. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit soon. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing