We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE the Ranch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“LOVE the Ranch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have been visiting CVR for nearly a decade and have watched its wonderful blossoming under the new owners - the setting is gorgeous, lots of land, and the suites are all very large so great for families traveling with kids (we have 3). Their "Family Camp" theme is brilliant for attracting families and having an outstanding range of facilities and activities for adults (Lodge pool and Spa) and then for kids/families (River Ranch pool, gym and sport, tennis and bocce courts) - Nightly S'mores by the fire pit and a visit to the apiary with beekeeper John Russo are 'must do' for any visitor. In particular, we love the tennis facilities and pros at CVR, both Clark Corey and Rick Manning are just FANTASTIC, so we always make a point of enrolling the kids in either a clinic or private lessons. The kids always have a blast and improve greatly as a result of the expert instruction. Food and aesthetic at the Lodge restaurant is great - very easy breakfast there every morning and then most of our dinners as well.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spacious, but if you have 3 kids, like we do, there are two "Carmel Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
I want to sincerely thank you for your kind words and continued patronage. Where do I start? We really appreciate you mentioning how well rounded the resort is. We pride ourselves on having the ability to cater to multiple groups of people. I will also share your comments with Clark and Rick personally. I am sure they will be thrilled! See you again soon. My best, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    220
    82
    31
    22
See reviews for
431
509
29
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is a sprawling resort set in the Carmel Highlands. We really enjoyed our room. It was nice to have a large sitting area and a bedroom. The kids slept in the sleeper sofa and loved it. They supplied some free snacks and water in your room. The kids loved all of their famous large wooden swings throughout the resort.

The family pool are was very nice...minus the lanes they had roped off for people doing laps. We thought it took up too much of the pool for a full pool day. The water jumpies were a lot of fun for the kids, too. The restaurant at the pool was fine...could have been better service and would have enjoyed cocktail servie there as well.

The main hotel restaurant was quite good. We enjoyed the breakfasts and dinner we had there. My only complaint would be that the kids meal at dinner included only pasta...no sides and no drink and it was $7 or $8. The breakfast meal for the kids was better but still asked to pay $5 for a juice for the kids seemed pricey.

The kids loved their nightly S'mores!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for your well-rounded response. We are continually working on ways to improve the service at our restaurant and we thank you for your feedback. We love families here at The Ranch and it’s always nice to hear how things worked out. Come see us again soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Very relaxing staff excellent and great place to relax. We had a family suite - 1 bedroom and large living area with very comfortable sofa bed. Fire in bedroom was fab and shower excellent.
We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmjwbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for giving us such a great recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Our family stayed three nights at the ranch in July. It was a very pleasant stay. The property is well maintained and the staff were very friendly. it is a good base to explore the Monterrey peninsula and a convenient stop on the journey between Los Angeles and San Francisco.

We stayed in a Ranch suite and there was plenty of room to use the sofa bed and a rollaway. The room was clean and well appointed.

The family pool area is great. It has a cafe/restaurant and excellent gym facilities are nearby. Complementary fitness classes are available. The kids loved the swings hanging from trees and the smores in the evening.

We had dinner at the restaurant and it was pleasant. Good was nice but not outstanding.

I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crjcge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review! We love when guests mention the 6 different tree swings on property. The idea of play is one of the signature elements of the resort. The large suites, which you mentioned, also set us apart from many hotels in the area. Thanks again! Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale AZ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We spent three days on a mini-getaway here. The resort is beautiful. We stayed in a Garland Suite, which only needed heated bathroom floors to be perfect in every way (the marble floors were cold!) We loved the deck and the gas fireplaces. Included touches include lush robes, in-room snacks, gourmet coffee, bottled water, and a daily NY Times.

In addition, we spent some time in their infinity hot tub (poolside service was above reproach), utilized the swings, ate a few S'mores, and just drank in the clean, fresh air. We ate breakfast one morning and although we ordered ala carte, their breakfast buffet looked delicious.

This resort reminded me most of Enchantment in Sedona and on one score Enchantment has Carmel Valley Ranch beat. The rooms are all a bit of a hike, often uphill, which is fine but problematic if you dress for dinner and wear heels. At Sedona, golf carts zip around transporting guests, but this service was limited to check in at Carmel Valley Ranch. Bring flats!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laul0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review. We especially appreciate any comments that highlight our in room amenities. We are particularly proud of our lavender soap which is made with lavender from the property. Sorry to hear about the walks in high heels! Golf cart shuttles are actually available anytime during your stay. Simply call the concierge and they can send one to anywhere on the property! We look forward to making your next stay flawless! Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I spent two nights here [a Thursday and Friday] with my sisters. We had a room with separate large living area. Very spacious rooms featuring two large flatscreen TV, a fireplace and comfortable desk area. Well designed in earth tones and natural materials. Very good-sized marble bath with separate shower, tub and toilet area...convenient if you tend to share bathroom time with your "roommates"!

Staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. Parking very easy. No main hotel, so not the best if it rains, though they say that a golfcart pickup is just a call away at any time.

Restaurant at the Lodge was very good. We ate there both nights because Carmel [city] was a good 20 minutes away... not a great idea if you are having anything to drink! Lunch down by the main pool [near golf course] was overpriced with dicey service. Apparently, it is a country club as well, and pricing is different for members vs hotel guests.

Took a wonderful hike with April both mornings. Afforded gorgeous vistas along the way. Yoga is done at the summit of the walk on a large platform overlooking the valley.

Excellent swedish massage with Kristian. Spa itself was average, though the chocolate cupcake after the treatment was a delicious and kind of unusual surprise!

MANY small children around. They have a kids camp and are kid AND dog friendly.

All in all, a good choice. Downside is its distance from the center of Carmel. If you want a resort, this is probably your best bet for the area. And if you are there at the right time of year, you'll enjoy the abundance of lavender growing all around the property!

Room Tip: Though rooms are very spacious with high ceilings, you can still hear your neighbor. We were close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for your extensive review. We like to think that we specialize in girl’s getaways and we were very excited to hear your feedback. Between dining, spa and hiking it sounds like you had a fantastic weekend! Come see us again soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

If you want a nice relaxing resort, this is the place in Carmel. Great restuarant, lounge, grounds, golf course, spa, etc. Away from the beaten path you will also see wild turkey, deer, rabbits, squirrels, etc.It has recently been remodeled. They have beautiful suites with fireplaces, and all the usual electronic gadgets. And your resort fees cover any and all necessary tips, except in the restuarant and lounge.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the 300's, and you will also have a great view of the valley below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenL318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your exceptional review! We appreciate you mentioning the wild life. Often times we will find several cars pulled off to the side of the road watching wild turkey and deer roam through the lavender. It’s truly a wonderful thing to see. There is even a great shot on our Facebook page. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Property: Carmel Valley Ranch
Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing