We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I must admit that the location lends itself to spectacular views and outdoor activities, so it is hard to take a man made structure and improve upon that. But this is the place, they totally nailed it. Took a beautiful place, put equally beautiful condo-style rooms that although townhouse type designed feel like a cabin alone in the woods. The architect for this place needs to be commended. As for the activities here there is a plethora from golf, yoga and spa activities to camp activities for the kids, wine tasting and even a fire pit 'smores' activity nightly. The spa has a monthly special that makes luxuriant decadence affordable. Like I said "Wow".

Room Tip: Rooms in the high 200s are farther away and more private. All the rooms are 'good' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to point out so many wonderful highlights regarding our suites. As an all suite property, every guest gets to experience the spaciousness of a townhouse like setting, with private fireplace and balconies. Thank you for noticing that and sharing with others. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing and I can't wait to go back. My husband and I love carmel and have gone often and this was for sure our fave spot.

The only downside is it is not close to downtown and it is pricey. That said, who needs downtown when you have those grounds? Multiple pools and an infinity hot tub overlooking the golf course. Lavender fields, hiking trails, bocce courts (where they don't mind if you bring your own wine)... Great food, great service and really romantic rooms.

We had a suite overlooking the hills with several fireplaces. Loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msutphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your review. You are right - with 500 acres to explore, and many activities to choose from, you definitely get so much more than just a 'room rate' here. Thank you for noticing that and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the ranch five nights and it was absolutely perfect in every way. I read all the reviews, did more research online and was able to get exactly what we wanted. We stayed in a hilltop ranch suite with a valley view---lovely! We arrived around seven the first night but I had made a reservation at 8:30 at The Lodge. Our dinner was wonderful--the service was good. We did a good bit of hiking---Huff 'n Puff trail was challenging, but great views. Breakfast at The Lodge was good too---the buffet was the best! The staff was helpful in giving directions to all the places we wanted to go and gave their opinions on what to do there. Highly recommend going to Point Lobos State Reserve ( we did two days of this!); the Cypress Grove Trail and the North Shore had the most spectacular views. We did the 17 mile drive and also went to Carmel By the Sea---best restaurants were: The Cottage Restaurant, Grasing's, and Jack London's . Best restaurants in Carmel Valley---Wagon Wheel for breakfast (be sure to write your name on the board when you walk in and they go by that) and Cafe Rustica. We spent our first day hiking and exploring the ranch. We did the Bee Experience and it was so entertaining (and a little scary getting that close to the bees). John does a great job explaining and making sure everyone is suited up for protection. It was very fascinating. We also went to Monterey and did the Aquarium, Cannery Row, and Fisherman's Wharf. This was really our least favorite---the Aquarium is great but the rest is very touristy. We were more into seeing the beautiful natural settings. We did go to Pacific Grove and went through the Monarch Grove Sanctuary and caught the tail end of the monarchs migrating. I got pictures of one landing on my shoulder and riding around as I walked through. We loved coming back "home" to the ranch, exhausted from hiking and sightseeing, chilling with a glass of wine and looking at the black-tailed deer and turkeys from our balcony. They are so tame they almost let you touch them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenjewel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! You noticed so much about the property and the special touches we offer and there is no better testimony than directly from a guest who noticed and enjoyed so much while here. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Was here with a group for a birthday celebration weekend. Could not have asked for a more awesome experience (and it wasn't even my birthday). The property is amazing and the entire staff delights you at every turn. Take advantage of their activities. Super fun and great way to bond with your friends. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed the resort on this special occasion with your friends. The Ranch is the perfect place for birthdays, reunions, families, couples - you name it - as there is so many activities to choose from. We hope to welcome you back for your own birthday celebration in the future! Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at CVR. We stayed for 3 nights and were very impressed witht he resort overall. Our room was incredible with a valley view that went on forever.
We were not impressed with the high priced, limited dinner menu. We very much wanted to stay at the lodge our last night for dinner and relax, but after reviewing the dinner menu decided to, once again, get in our car and find a restaurant. The girl at the front did a great job making suggestions and found us the perfect spot for that night's meal. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our CVR experience and would recommend it highly to our friends.

Room Tip: King room with valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Larry - Thank you for your review and for choosing to allow The Ranch to be a part of this very special celebration in your life. I regret that our dinner menu did not meet your expectations and that you felt the need to leave the property to dine. I have provided your comments to Chef Tim who I know will take your comments to heart. Chef is a true professional and his farm to table cuisine is something he takes great pride in so I know he will use your feedback constructively! Thank you again, and Happy Anniversary. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My first excellent 5 star hotel rating on TA. Obviously we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The property is beautiful, staff helpful and attentive (couldn't disagree more with previous TA reviews who complained about housekeeping and their lack of English. Appalling). The food is very good. We ordered room service our first night and it was there in 20 minutes. The waiter forgot ketchup and was back in superhuman speed. The gym is perfectly adequate. Hiking trails are fun and challenging. The s'mores by the fire are a great touch. My only complaint and I have to say I was pretty aggravated, is that we couldn't get a table at dinner on the Saturday we checked in. I think the hotel should tell guests there are limited seats in the dinning room and guests should have first priority. Really it's been a pleasure and we look forward to returning.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Whipple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort so much and only wish that we could have added to that by accommodating you for dinner on Saturday night as well. I apologize for that, and please know that our team is already working on improving our ability to manage our very busy Lodge Restaurant, Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room, beautiful grounds, I'm sure it's Even prettier when everything is blooming. Pool area is very nice and the nightly s'mores was fun. We had breakfast one morning there at the restaurant and I didn't finish my eggs Benedict because it was way to undercooked but other than that it was a great stay and I would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awills07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your breakfast was not up to par and you were not able to enjoy it fully. We hope to welcome you back soon and provide a much better meal for you! Our fields of lavender are just about to bloom as spring is on the horizon, so hopefully you can come back and enjoy that special time of year here. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
902 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
362 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
359 reviews
8.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £299 - £666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing