We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 week as a couple. We stayed in a base-level suite (Santa Lucia) booked through Expedia.
We had a wonderful time staying here. From arrival to checking out the staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The resort is beautifully kept, clean and quiet throughout. The room was very large and, again, finished to a high standard. There are so many small touches which make such a difference and make you smile - it was pouring with rain when we arrived but we were handed an umbrella to make our way up to the lodge to check in, when arriving in our room there were complimentary snacks, crisps, fresh fruit and a bottle of wine and four bottles of water chilled in a full size refrigerator. Water was replenished daily too. The lobby has a collection of DVDs to borrow and this was impressively up to date with many films catering for all tastes. The suite has its own Blu Ray player. Wifi in the room was fast (I measured 6-10 Mbps) and only once played up.
The hotel is only a 5 min drive from a Shell Garage, a large new Safeway supermarket and a Starbucks. There was always ample parking near to the room.
The reason for 4 stars rather than 5 is that the sound proofing in the room was not that good. Maybe it was because we were in a room that had an interconnecting door but we could hear people in the next room talking, using hair driers and their phone ringing. Secondly, the resort is dog friendly and unless a non pet room is requested there is chance that you would be placed next to a family with a dog.
Whilst an annoyance this did not really spoil our stay and we would definitely return if we were coming back to this area. Re noise, perhaps ask for an end suite to minimize the noise issue.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Paul - thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I am pleased you had such a nice visit with us and thank you for mentioning so many of the special touches we offer. Most importantly, you noticed our staff, and we take great pride in this as genuine, caring service is very important to us. Looks like we got it right! Regarding the noise you mentioned, I do sincerely apologize. I do appreciate that hearing guests next door can make a stay a bit less enjoyable and please know our team agrees and is discussing ways in which we can provide better sound proofing. Regarding pets - we love them - but also respect that it is important to have 'pet free' suites. We do provide that and I regret this was not done for you. We hope to welcome you back soon, and thank you again for your review. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    226
    85
    31
    25
See reviews for
434
529
29
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I booked the Carmel Valley Ranch for the simple reason that I was looking for a nice place that would sleep a family of 5 in the Monterey/Carmel area. The resort is beautiful, completely updated and very well-maintained. Although it a good option for families, it has a sophisticated, adult ambiance and I think that all ages would be comfortable here. I think it is very smart of the resort to have a adult-only pool to keep things peaceful for adults/couples. (The family pool is very nice too but not by the main lodge.)

Our room had two double beds and a living room with a sofa bed. This setup worked perfectly for us, as my 16 yo had her own room. Turndown service had already made up the sofa bed before we arrived, which I had never experienced and totally appreciated. The decor is lovely and the room was spotless. The bathroom is spacious and pretty. We used the fireplace often. Also appreciated the snacks and generous amounts of bottled water.

We did not take advantage of all the activities because we didn't have time, but my kids (teens) really enjoyed making s'mores every night. There are other firepits scattered around the lodge too.

I was concerned that the location was going to be too far away from everything but was completely mistaken. The ranch is a short 7-8 mile drive to town and there is even a grocery store close by. Carmel Valley is beautiful and the Ranch was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Seems like all rooms would be good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlene915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Mariene - thank you for your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed the resort so much. Our spacious suites are unique to this area, and offer the perfect accommodation for a family like yours or for those that just want extra space. Thanks for mentioning that along with our many areas of the resort designed to be a playground for ALL ages - young and 'not so young' alike! We hope to welcome your family back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our daughter and I stayed here for six nights in late March 2014... we loved it. Here's why:

The Property: 500 acres of beauty-- golf course, oak forests, lavender beds, and a newly planted vineyard. Plus, there are big views of the valley.

The Lodge (reception and restaurant): This area of the hotel is beautiful and perfectly maintained.

The Rooms: The suites are large with nice bathrooms, fireplaces and a deck. Plus there's daily housekeeping and nightly turn-down service.

The Restaurant: Great food and service.

The Pool: Really nice, heated and large. Plus there's a large hot tub and nice changing facilities in the adjacent spa.

The Staff: Without exception the staff is first-rate-- always cheerful and attentive.

Carmel Valley Ranch is excellent in every way. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to point out all of the different areas of the resort. I also love that you were able to stay for 6 nights, as this reinforces how perfect we are for longer stays. You never get bored and really have time to explore all we have to offer. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
380 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I must admit that the location lends itself to spectacular views and outdoor activities, so it is hard to take a man made structure and improve upon that. But this is the place, they totally nailed it. Took a beautiful place, put equally beautiful condo-style rooms that although townhouse type designed feel like a cabin alone in the woods. The architect for this place needs to be commended. As for the activities here there is a plethora from golf, yoga and spa activities to camp activities for the kids, wine tasting and even a fire pit 'smores' activity nightly. The spa has a monthly special that makes luxuriant decadence affordable. Like I said "Wow".

Room Tip: Rooms in the high 200s are farther away and more private. All the rooms are 'good' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to point out so many wonderful highlights regarding our suites. As an all suite property, every guest gets to experience the spaciousness of a townhouse like setting, with private fireplace and balconies. Thank you for noticing that and sharing with others. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing and I can't wait to go back. My husband and I love carmel and have gone often and this was for sure our fave spot.

The only downside is it is not close to downtown and it is pricey. That said, who needs downtown when you have those grounds? Multiple pools and an infinity hot tub overlooking the golf course. Lavender fields, hiking trails, bocce courts (where they don't mind if you bring your own wine)... Great food, great service and really romantic rooms.

We had a suite overlooking the hills with several fireplaces. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msutphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your review. You are right - with 500 acres to explore, and many activities to choose from, you definitely get so much more than just a 'room rate' here. Thank you for noticing that and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the ranch five nights and it was absolutely perfect in every way. I read all the reviews, did more research online and was able to get exactly what we wanted. We stayed in a hilltop ranch suite with a valley view---lovely! We arrived around seven the first night but I had made a reservation at 8:30 at The Lodge. Our dinner was wonderful--the service was good. We did a good bit of hiking---Huff 'n Puff trail was challenging, but great views. Breakfast at The Lodge was good too---the buffet was the best! The staff was helpful in giving directions to all the places we wanted to go and gave their opinions on what to do there. Highly recommend going to Point Lobos State Reserve ( we did two days of this!); the Cypress Grove Trail and the North Shore had the most spectacular views. We did the 17 mile drive and also went to Carmel By the Sea---best restaurants were: The Cottage Restaurant, Grasing's, and Jack London's . Best restaurants in Carmel Valley---Wagon Wheel for breakfast (be sure to write your name on the board when you walk in and they go by that) and Cafe Rustica. We spent our first day hiking and exploring the ranch. We did the Bee Experience and it was so entertaining (and a little scary getting that close to the bees). John does a great job explaining and making sure everyone is suited up for protection. It was very fascinating. We also went to Monterey and did the Aquarium, Cannery Row, and Fisherman's Wharf. This was really our least favorite---the Aquarium is great but the rest is very touristy. We were more into seeing the beautiful natural settings. We did go to Pacific Grove and went through the Monarch Grove Sanctuary and caught the tail end of the monarchs migrating. I got pictures of one landing on my shoulder and riding around as I walked through. We loved coming back "home" to the ranch, exhausted from hiking and sightseeing, chilling with a glass of wine and looking at the black-tailed deer and turkeys from our balcony. They are so tame they almost let you touch them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenjewel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! You noticed so much about the property and the special touches we offer and there is no better testimony than directly from a guest who noticed and enjoyed so much while here. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Was here with a group for a birthday celebration weekend. Could not have asked for a more awesome experience (and it wasn't even my birthday). The property is amazing and the entire staff delights you at every turn. Take advantage of their activities. Super fun and great way to bond with your friends. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed the resort on this special occasion with your friends. The Ranch is the perfect place for birthdays, reunions, families, couples - you name it - as there is so many activities to choose from. We hope to welcome you back for your own birthday celebration in the future! Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Property: Carmel Valley Ranch
Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing