We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmel Valley Ranch
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$642
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$611
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$534
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,650)
Filter reviews
1,650 results
Traveller rating
1,149
274
129
56
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,149
274
129
56
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursegarland suitefamily poolcarmel valleywild turkeysorganic gardenadult poollodge restaurantinfinity hot tubbee keepinglavender fieldsfitness classesgreat resortspa treatmentsthe main lodgehiking trailsoak trees
Filter
Updating list...
1,095 - 1,100 of 1,650 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is our 3rd time staying... Great place for a reset. Rooms are clean and quite housekeeping staff pleasant and conscientious. Spa is wonderful therapist very knowledgeable and professional. Concierge was helpful made dinner recommendations/reservations taxis etc... If you have options of room we like the 300's were in the 200's this time the view in my opinion was not as nice. Also don't forget about the $25.00 resort fee EVERY night. This fee seems crazy when you are already paying $500+ per night(ok I will get off my soap box)
We will return I'm sure next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300's have great views.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmm641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review and for your ongoing support of the resort. Your words described us perfectly and we love being your choice as a place to 'reset." I also understand how it can seem that a daily resort fee is a bit much in addition to your room rate. Please know that this fee exists not to annoy, but to allow us to provide you so many complimentary activities and offerings as well as providing gratuities to the wonderful staff you personally mentioned - housekeeping. As an alternative to charging individually for parking, Wi-Fi, bellman and housekeeping gratuities and our many fitness and wellness classes, this fee incorporates all of those into one fee. And while our suites are in high demand and command a solid room rate, I know you agree that the spaciousness, views available, balconies and fireplaces are worth it. Thank you for visiting us so often and we truly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for a business trip and loved it. It is peaceful, quiet, and luxurious. I highly recommend taking the "huff and puff' guided tour. It is complimentary and the day I took it I was the only one, so it was great. The guide was very knowledgable and it really wasn't very strenuous after the first climb (I'm over 60)...and you can stop and rest to enjoy the view all along. The grounds are lovely---grape vines, flowers, deer, turkeys, birds. And in summer, you can take a yoga class up on the hill under spreading oak trees with a view of the valley.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CALuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

What a wonderful illustration you have provided of one of our most popular hiking trails at The Ranch! Thank you for taking the time to provide this 'visual' to potential guests. Nature and the appreciation of it is very important to us and I am delighted you noticed, and got to enjoy that. We hope to welcome you back. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the ranch for 2 nights in April 2014. It was a great experience. They have a nice pool where the kids can hang out and swim and have fun. They also have lots of activities (which we didn't participate in) and smores in the evening every day. The only thing I'll ding them for is that they don't have good selection of food for vegetarians.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purdueboilermaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you had such a good time here with your family. You will have to join us again this summer and participate in one of our many activities - including or newest addition - horseback riding! I am sorry you were not pleased with our vegetarian selections, in particular because we have our own organic garden which provides much of our fresh produce. I know that had Chef Wood known, he would have been happy to create something special for you, and I apologize for that. I will be sure to provide him your feedback. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed only one night as we were heading onto San Fransisco and we knew at the time of booking it would not be long enough - and we were right - could have stayed the week. Beautiful location, very friendly staff, fabulous room and wonderful and quiet. Only downside was that the wi-fi was really poor both in our room and at the ranch. When we got there our fire was also not working but a call to reception and someone was round within 10 minutes to fix it and we were back in business.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerN0ttingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review. You mentioned what many of our guests have realized - once you get here, one night never seems enough! But we hope to welcome you back soon for a longer visit. I am sorry you had Wi-Fi issues and please know that we are currently in the process of improving that. And while your fireplace not working is also disappointing, I am pleased we were able to get that fixed promptly so you could enjoy. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of years ago on a West Coast road trip and absolutely loved it! Only problem was we were only here for 1 night! Were lucky enough to be given a suite as it was our honeymoon. Everything was wonderful and the food was all local and fresh.

The pool area was so relaxing and so was the fire after dinner.

Cannot wait to return one day...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryTraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review and we also hope to welcome you back very soon! Great news is that we are an all suite property, so you will definitely get a spacious accommodation again with fireplace and private balcony. Thank you again for your review and congrats on your recent nuptials. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews