We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights for our honeymoon. We live in LA and got married in Las Vegas and decided we wanted a honeymoon that didn't require us to fly anywhere.
We took the long drive up the PCH - it was beautiful and worth the extra time.
When we finally arrived at the ranch we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who checked us in, provided us with a list of activities and a map of the property.
We stayed in a Garland Suite - it was lovely! We had a beautiful view of the property. It was peaceful and romantic.
We never did venture out of the Ranch because there was so much to do there. We took our Siberian Husky on hikes and walks through the property. Took advantage of some Yoga on the Hilltop and a Barre class at the fitness center. I also got some spa treatments (both of which were lovely) We also spent some time in the hot tub and pool area.
The food at the lodge was delicious and fresh!
No complaints here and we'd love to go back one day :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessik67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for allowing The Ranch to be a part of this special celebration for you. Congratulations on your recent nuptials and we truly hope to be the place you return to for many anniversaries to come. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    226
    85
    31
    25
See reviews for
434
529
29
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed over the busy Spring break period and the hotel was busy with many many children. Even though the weather was unusually cool we enjoyed the pool, the fabulous lawns, the bocce. The staff were marvellous and the room was very spacious. I would recommend at least a minimum 3 night stay here - it is worth taking the time to enjoy all the activities. Carmel is just a short drive away. The kids adored the old style swings - which adorn many of the low boughs of the magnificent Californian coastal oak trees.

Room Tip: The rooms are very spread out so it can be quite a walk to the pool area / reception. Take the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi3205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Heidi - we are honored that you chose to spend your family's spring break at The Ranch. With so much to offer, you very accurately suggested at least 3 nights at the resort. This amount of extra time allows you to participate in many of the activities we offer as well as treasure the quieter moments - like a leisurely stroll through our organic garden, or taking a moment to enjoy the swings hanging from our many oak trees - as you mentioned. Thank you, and we hope to welcome you and your family back this summer. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a spectacular property located about 20 minutes inland from Carmel by the Sea -- 500 lush rolling acres with each room located with some type of view. Definitely felt as though we were out in the country - gorgeous trees abound -- peaceful walking trails that look like picture postcards -- weeping willows and full beautiful shrubbery that truly look like paradise (and I'm from southern California -- I see green all the time!). The rooms are all on one level, situated like single floor town homes - so there is no feeling of being cramped or claustrophobic. In addition, there are walking trails, a golf course, gym, swimming pool and spa. And it is pet friendly to boot -- we had our golden retriever, who was actually reluctant to leave!

Room location makes a difference if view is important to you. We stayed twice -- one night en route to UC Davis, and one night en route back home. We had a Garland Suite each trip. The first night we had a forest view with a wraparound deck -- gorgeous trees and distant valley from one side. The second night we had a bluff view --of the parking lots. Not so great -- but the room and services were so wonderful, that we couldn't complain.

The only downsides I can think of are that you are pretty much captive in the environment-- it is a 10 minute ride to the gas stations and another 15 minutes if you want to get to the ocean. If you want a beach town vacation - this isn't for you. Also --if you are staying for the first time, make sure you arrive during the daylight hours -- at night it is pitch black on the highway and easy to miss the turn --even with navigation --onto Robinson Canyon which leads to gated guard station of the hotel.

But if you are looking for a beautiful, peaceful romantic stay at a 5 star property, with or without your dog, this is it. The staff was great, breakfasts were wonderful --would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a forest or valley view --not the bluff view which faces the parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWLYRETIRED100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. You touched on so many of our features and described them beautifully. Being on such a large landscape allows our guests the ability to co-exist among a variety of travelers - each with their own playlist for creating a special memory during their time here. And you are correct - there is really no need to leave the resort for anything - and we hope you choose to spend all of your time here. Thank you again and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I visited the "ranch" in February, 2014 for 2 nights. It was a very relaxing experience, especially since we lucked out on the weather. The room was very nice with a relaxing fireplace in the BR. I enjoyed a fabulous massage at the spa, and the food at both dinners was amazing... they stress local produce and we could tell by the freshness of the salads and veggies. It was very quiet at night, perfect for a stroll. We were about a 5 minute walk away from the main lodge and it was pleasant walking to dinner. The paths were well lit and added to the overall ambience of the ranch. I also took a yoga class and worked out in the gym... both clean and well appointed. The beekeeping tour was top-notch. If you're visiting, make sure you take a ride through the town of Carmel, expensive but quaint architecture and fun window shopping. Though pricey, you won't be disappointed with a stay to Carmel Valley Ranch.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ja9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post your review. It was wonderful to hear you got to enjoy so much of the property, and that you also noticed so much of the little details we strive to get right for our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UTAH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is our 3rd time staying... Great place for a reset. Rooms are clean and quite housekeeping staff pleasant and conscientious. Spa is wonderful therapist very knowledgeable and professional. Concierge was helpful made dinner recommendations/reservations taxis etc... If you have options of room we like the 300's were in the 200's this time the view in my opinion was not as nice. Also don't forget about the $25.00 resort fee EVERY night. This fee seems crazy when you are already paying $500+ per night(ok I will get off my soap box)
We will return I'm sure next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300's have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmm641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for your ongoing support of the resort. Your words described us perfectly and we love being your choice as a place to 'reset." I also understand how it can seem that a daily resort fee is a bit much in addition to your room rate. Please know that this fee exists not to annoy, but to allow us to provide you so many complimentary activities and offerings as well as providing gratuities to the wonderful staff you personally mentioned - housekeeping. As an alternative to charging individually for parking, Wi-Fi, bellman and housekeeping gratuities and our many fitness and wellness classes, this fee incorporates all of those into one fee. And while our suites are in high demand and command a solid room rate, I know you agree that the spaciousness, views available, balconies and fireplaces are worth it. Thank you for visiting us so often and we truly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for a business trip and loved it. It is peaceful, quiet, and luxurious. I highly recommend taking the "huff and puff' guided tour. It is complimentary and the day I took it I was the only one, so it was great. The guide was very knowledgable and it really wasn't very strenuous after the first climb (I'm over 60)...and you can stop and rest to enjoy the view all along. The grounds are lovely---grape vines, flowers, deer, turkeys, birds. And in summer, you can take a yoga class up on the hill under spreading oak trees with a view of the valley.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
What a wonderful illustration you have provided of one of our most popular hiking trails at The Ranch! Thank you for taking the time to provide this 'visual' to potential guests. Nature and the appreciation of it is very important to us and I am delighted you noticed, and got to enjoy that. We hope to welcome you back. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay area
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the ranch for 2 nights in April 2014. It was a great experience. They have a nice pool where the kids can hang out and swim and have fun. They also have lots of activities (which we didn't participate in) and smores in the evening every day. The only thing I'll ding them for is that they don't have good selection of food for vegetarians.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purdueboilermaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I am delighted you had such a good time here with your family. You will have to join us again this summer and participate in one of our many activities - including or newest addition - horseback riding! I am sorry you were not pleased with our vegetarian selections, in particular because we have our own organic garden which provides much of our fresh produce. I know that had Chef Wood known, he would have been happy to create something special for you, and I apologize for that. I will be sure to provide him your feedback. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Property: Carmel Valley Ranch
Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing