We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmel Valley Ranch
Nearby Hotels
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$570
US$388
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Playa Carmel(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$472
US$434
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$215
US$158
Official Site
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$201
ComfortInn
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quail Lodge & Golf Club(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$443
US$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,619)
Filter reviews
1,619 results
Traveller rating
1,127
270
126
55
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,127
270
126
55
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursegarland suitefamily poolcarmel valleywild turkeysorganic gardenadult poollodge restaurantinfinity hot tubbee keepinglavender fieldsfitness classesgreat resortspa treatmentsthe main lodgehiking trailsoak trees
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,055 - 1,060 of 1,619 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Gorgeous resort which was frankly the highlight of our drive up Big Sur. We had 2 kids in tow and the unit was a perfect size with an incredibly luxurious feel to it. It's not cheap but you really do get what you pay for. The s'mores and dinner were both fantastic on our evening arrival but the real treats revealed themselves the following day. My wife and daughter did the bee experience, which got rave reviews, whilst my son and I explored the child's pool area at the bottom of the resort. It's an area that is undersold by the ranch for some reason, but it really is a gorgeous spot, the swimming with him and then the family hot dogs by the fire (even though it was a sweltering day) is a days memory that will never leave me.

I have decided to only post reviews when places really blow me away and offer something that I think should be shared, Carmel Valley Ranch certainly exceeded that benchmark by some distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smythmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Wow - we are truly honored that you chose to review The Ranch! It is apparent that you were able to create lifetime memories on your recent visit here, and you have touched on, and highlighted the success of, our most important endeavor for our resort. We hope to welcome you and your family here again. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is my second stay. My first stay was for work. This time I came back with my family and children (ages 6 and 9) and my parents. We spent one Saturday night during the weekend of the Pebble Beach Food and Wine Fest.

The suite met all our needs (this is an all-suite property). Spacious bedroom with fireplace and a balcony with its own door to the mini-hallway where the bathroom is located and then another door into the living room. Our kids slept on the sofa bed which is probably the best sofa bed I've ever encountered at a hotel - it was at least a queen-size and practically felt like a mattress of a bed. Most sofa beds are way too soft with little support and way too small. A complimentary small basket of snacks welcomed us.

We had dinner at the Lodge Restaurant. Service was outstanding, food was delicious. We had a lovely view of the valley and watched the sunset. Afterwards, we had a great time making s'mores by the firepit. We also enjoyed a mini astronomy lesson from an expert who was there with a very strong telescope.

We ate breakfast the next morning at the restaurant at the golf course. Fewer items on the menu than the Lodge. Friendly service, but there was only one server for the four tables of people eating while we were there. So, service was a bit slow.

We also enjoyed the pool and bocce courts. Kids loved finding all the tree swings. We also walked from our room down to the golf course restaurant - a nice walk with a short stroll through the organic gardens. The kids stopped to check out the hen house.

Wonderful resort - I'd return again and hopefully stay longer!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kht2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Like many guests who come here for business, you chose to return for leisure, and we are delighted you brought your family along to enjoy our offerings. Thank you for mentioning so many of the special things we do, and you will be excited to know we plan on rolling out even more wonderful choices this summer, so you will have to return. Thank you for mentioning the service delay at our Clubhouse Restaurant as I have passed this on so we can ensure it is improved. We look forward to welcoming you back for both business and pleasure in the future. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked three nights at Carmel Valley Ranch through Jetsetter as we were attending a wedding in Carmel and originally thought we'd need a suite. When our older daughter was unable to attend the wedding, we found ourselves with a very roomy unit at an incredibly beautiful resort. The Ranch is about ten to fifteen minutes outside of downtown Carmel and it was a very easy drive for us to the wedding events as well as the shopping and dining areas in the village of Carmel Valley. There are wild turkeys and deer on the grounds of the resort and the view from our unit was breathtaking. We had breakfast at the resort's main restaurant and used the exercise facility and were pleased with both. Our unit was modern and luxurious and used the natural lighting very well--and the fireplace was used and appreciated during our stay. We certainly got our money's worth at the Ranch and would recommend it to anyone that wants the resort "feel" and doesn't need to stay in Carmel proper.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scogor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We are thrilled that you stumbled upon us in your search for your wedding weekend, and even more so that you enjoyed your stay so much! As an all suite property, all of our guests get the spacious surroundings you mentioned as well as the beauty of our 500 acres. Thank you again for choosing to visit us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

What a unique experience! It was like grown-up summer camp!

I had so much fun and the staff was great. Kudos to the golf cart guys who are ALWAYS available. If you get a chance to do the bee experience, do it. Kids and adults alike will love this unique experience!

The linens are 5 star and the rooms are lush. Loved the fireplace in the bedroom and the ammenities in the bathroom.

I almost proposed marriage to Craig in the spa. Best massage ever. Don't miss it.

I'm terribly bummed I didnt have time to do hilltop yoga but I heard it was wonderful.

Oh, and be on the lookout for celebrities. We had a well-known rock artist staying at the resort with us. And he did the bees!!!

If you're on the fence, just book your stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quse56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review and for noticing our environment similar to summer camp! It is truly what we had in mind when creating all of our offerings and activities - but of course with less discipline and more play! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Signature Bee Experience, and you will have to return to try our Horseback Trail Rides (coming in July 2014) as well as participating in our first wine harvest - also expected this year. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience here. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We took our one 8 year old daughter here for spring break and loved it! There was so much to do with kids -- pool, hikes, s'mores every night, visits with the bees, and tons of classes offered by the Lodge. We did the candle making class, which had fabulous instructors and wonderful candles to take home. The quiet and beautiful adults only pool was also a plus for those moments without kids. They had tons of kid camps and activities should you want to keep your kids busy without you. Most notable was the setting. The hundreds of acres are set in a stunning area and are kept in impeccable shape. It is luxury in a natural, yet elegant manner. The rooms are filled with normal (not miniature) lotions , body wash, and hair products made from things they grow on property (such as lavender). Not to mention that the rooms are incredibly spacious.

With its captivating setting, gracious staff, numerous rope swings throughout the property (adored by our daughter), and the fact that it is minutes from Carmel by the Sea, Monterey, and numerous wineries definitely makes it an ideal location. I do not hesitate to recommend this Lodge to families and couples alike!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent Spring Break vacation here. We work hard to be the place that you can return to year after year - and continually create special memories with your family and loved ones. We hope to welcome you back this summer - it promises to offer many more new activities (horseback riding in July!) and lots for your family to experience together. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews