We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essentially perfect I. Every detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Amerikaner im Schweiz
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Essentially perfect I. Every detail”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

From passing through the gate at entry until departure, a perfect stay. Quiet, beautiful accommodations, excellent support staff, no interruptions, just peace and quiet. Great hiking trails for non-golfers.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Abbadiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for your review - it was "perfect!" We are thrilled that you enjoyed so much of what we offer and had such a lovely time here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    233
    91
    32
    25
See reviews for
452
545
30
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Considering the reviews of this property I was expecting more. Check in went fine, no explanation of the property, but someone to lead us as to where to park. The room was large, but in need of some repairs. The walls are paper thin, and the people with the stomping child next door for two days really got on my nerves. Had to call maintenance twice to fix the fireplace, the pilot light would not stay lit. At these prices everything should be in working order in the room. Unfortunately, we were staying over Easter break, our mistake, numerous children with no parental supervision in the dining room. We ate in the bar so we could have some as semblance of quite. Either these people left their nanny's at home, or they have no regard for other guests. Hotel management does nothing regarding rude children. Our last night after an early dinner, we could not get into our room, because our room keys no longer worked. My husband had to drive to the office to get new keys, while I was freezing outside. We were informed it would take 20 minutes for them to get the keys to us. Not great service as far as I was concerned. I believe when spending well over $500 per night, it should have been a much nicer place. Probably would not go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vickinbobyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review Vicki, and firstly, please accept my sincerest apologies for your experience. A review like yours is always the hardest to see as it touches on service - something so many of our guests point out is heartfelt and special about The Ranch. You are absolutely correct that your suite should have everything functioning perfectly, at any price for that matter. But equally important is the service and care that we should have extended when things did not go right. It is the follow up call, the 'double check' of a recently repaired item the next day, and the sense of urgency when someone is waiting outside for their key, that makes or breaks good service and can set the tone of your entire visit. And while we consistently get that right on many occasions, it is clear we did not in yours and I sincerely apologize for that. Because the resort offers such a unique environment with so much to do, we do see many families joining us over holiday times. But please know that we have reminded ourselves to take extra care when pre-blocking suites over these busy times to try our best to ensure that those wanting a quieter holiday are accommodated. Your comments are valid, and this extra thought not only applies to our suites, but also providing options for dining for those traveling as couples or child-free. The good news is that with nearly 500 acres and multiple locations and dining options, this is definitely something that can be addressed immediately. Thank you again Vicki, and please know that we would love to welcome you and Bob back to the resort to have a much better experience. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager, 831-626-2548
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The River Ranch site was the location of this three day watercolor workshop with renown artist Nancy Collins. The location was beautiful, just off the family pool area, near the Cafe. All the participants learned so much in this hands on session,completing a beautiful Bird of Paradise in tropical colors and lush greenery. Carmel Valley Ranch is more than a golf course and lodging, it is a great get a way for families and it offers a wide variety of activities such as this watercolor workshop. Would I do it again? Most certainly. Enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Rose - we are delighted that you enjoyed our recent Watercolor Workshop! We hope to offer more of these throughout the year and look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Really beautiful property with so much to explore. Two pool areas, great golf course and hiking. Rooms are large and extremely comfortable. Most have large deck areas with spectacular valley views. We enjoyed the evening s'mores at the firepit. Beds and linens were very comfortable. The feel is a winning combination of relaxed casualness and country sophistication. Stayed here twice over a one month period, and the one area which prevents me from providing 5 stars was the service at the restaurant. It was extremely poor and amateurish on both occasions - so obviously not isolated incidents. At a resort such as this, staff should be a bit more polished and astute.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Frankie - thank you for your review. Your choice of description (relaxed casualness and country sophistication) is spot on and it is encouraging to know that we have communicated that well. I do regret that your restaurant experiences fell short, and please know that our Food & Beverage team will take your comments to heart and focus on making that better. Thank you again and we look forward to your return to the resort. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

In my opinion, Carmel Valley and Carmel By The Sea should be in separate categories. There is a huge difference between the two, both in terms of climate, and expectations.

Carmel Valley Ranch is an outstaning property. It is oriented around families, and you don't have to leave if you don't want to. The restaurant is passable, though barely, but the property and pools are outstanding. Bring the kids and enjoy smore's by the pool!

Room Tip: As for one of the corner rooms with a wrap-around deck for the best view and maximum privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear David - thank you for your observation! You are absolutely correct in that Carmel Valley enjoys a fantastic climate (300 days of sunshine) and there is so much to do at the resort, you really do not have to leave at all. If you do choose to do so, Carmel by the Sea is a short 10 minute drive to the coast. I apologize that it seems your dining experience was not up to par, and please know that I will ensure your comments get to our Food and Beverage team. They are genuine and caring and I know will do all they can to improve. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The 500acres meant that we never felt cramped in the four days we were there...the weather could have been better, but the children,eight and five, had a marvellous day in the pool! We adults had a massage, (hot rock) and felt completely relaxed.
Perhaps not a place for the disabled or the elderly, it is perfect for families.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4519Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mary - thank you kindly for your review. Sounds like you had a lovely visit in April over Spring Break, and we are thrilled that you were able to create some wonderful family memories here. Thank you for noticing how spacious the resort is, suites included. You mentioned that might prove challenging for some, but please know that this is truly a playground for ALL ages and guests! We offer shuttles anywhere you might wish to explore on our 500 acres, including door to door service right to your suite. We hope to become a family tradition for you and look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Check-in was very slow but the Fine Hotel & Resorts benefits were fully explained.

Staff at the resort were friendly.

Food in the restaurant was of a good standard.

Room service food was disappointing in quality although was hot when delivered (quite an achievement given how spread-out the hotel grounds are!).

I was offered an upgrade as part of the FHR programme but they sensibly highlighted that the view from my existing room was probably better and they let me view both of them and decide.

The internet access was ATROCIOUS. The connection kept dropping, barely reaching one bar in my room. I called the front desk twice about this and they promised to try and address it, but it did not improve. I raised this at check-out, in particular with reference to internet acces being a key part of the resort fee, but they just said I should have mentioned it at the time - I pointed out that I had done so but they made no further comment.

Given the price paid I'm afraid I wouldn't be rushing to come back here despite the lovely grounds and views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDIflyer_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Alan - thank you for your review and I am truly sorry that the internet access was not to standard and clearly made your stay less than expected. And equally importantly to the issue itself, is for us to make great effort to ensure it is repaired, and for that I am truly sorry. Thank you for pointing out our friendly staff and the efforts they made to ensure you were happy with the location and view of your suite. I do regret that we did not leave you with the wonderful impression and memories that most of our guests take away. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your visit with us further, and may be reached at 831-626-2548. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
855 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
327 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,655 reviews
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
344 reviews
8.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Property: Carmel Valley Ranch
Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing