We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just what we were looking for! A beautiful setting in the Carmel Valley, first class facilities and extremely helpful and friendly staff. The restaurant was pretty good as well! We were allocated an enormous suite that was quiet, clean and comfortable and car parking was very close.
We were very impressed with the honesty of the housekeeping staff and our particular gratitude goes to Claudia, Daniela and the housekeeping staff who took the time and trouble to find and then return the gold bracelet that my wife 'lost' in our room. A real pleasure to deal with them over the telephone from here in the UK. A big thank-you to all of them.
We could have stayed here a lot longer to relax and enjoy it all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank exmoor-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review. In particular, for taking the time to mention several of our wonderful team members by name. We will be sure to share this with them and the entire team. It was a pleasure to have you visit and we look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is not the place to go if you are looking for a peaceful and quiet vacation. We had trouble checking in at 9:30 p.m. with so many seniors getting out of the restaurant, which is the only restaurant the hotel has, and closes at 10p.m.! We found that to be way too early! The rooms were spacious and comfortable but overall we did not enjoy our stay because all the activities were fully booked!!! Management did try to offer alternatives, but we did not feel special at all here. This is a Disneyworld Resort without Disneyworld. We found it to be terribly overpriced for what they offer. The hotel is a US$350-500 max stay, and instead we payed US$700+. Would not go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaCrisMondin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Ms. Mondin, Thank you for your review. The comment that is so disheartening is that we did not succeed in making you and your family feel special. That is truly what we aspire to most here at The Ranch, and I regret we did not achieve that with your visit. In reviewing your visit, it reminds me how it is not the physical attributes of a place, but the ability of our team to 'make your day' that is the key to making someone feel special. Because even though your family was upgraded to a lovely Hilltop View, provided breakfast for 4 instead of the standard 2 guests, and your rate included a $100 activity credit, we clearly did not leave you with the memories that most of our guests experience here and speak so proudly of. I am truly sorry. We would love to have another opportunity to recreate that for you and should your travels bring you our way again, please contact me personally to assist with those arrangements. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager, 831-626-2548

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Overall a great resort in a great location. Lots of activities and great access point for Monterey and Carmel. The only negative is seemingly random and inconsistent application of family policies at the Lodge pool. Posted sign says unsupervised children under 16 not allowed. My children (15 and 13) and I had used pool during stay. On our last day we were kicked out of pool with excuse that it was only for use for those 16 or older. Manager confirmed that policy even though it is in direct conflict with the sign posted on the pool deck. Many others under 16 had been in pool during our time there supervised by parents. Very frustrating.

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Joel - thank you for your review. I am aware of the disappointment you experienced on your recent visit and can appreciate how frustrating that must have been for you and your family. Please accept my apologies for any inconsistencies and please know that we love families and children and would never consciously try to mislead you or make you feel unwanted in any area of the resort. Because we have 500 acres to spread out on, we created two separate areas with our guest's happiness in mind. The Lodge pool is located by our Spa and outdoor restaurant seating. It tends to be serene and quiet and therefore is our adult pool area for those 16 years and older. The sign you referred to is for safety reasons, but I agree, should be revised to be more clear. We have already made that correction. Our River Ranch pool offers a 2nd Jr Olympic size pool, family hot tub, kids splash zone, kids camps, bocce ball, tennis, ping pong, sports court and much more that we thought families and children alike could enjoy and make memories together without feeling the need to be quiet because of our Spa and restaurant. Please know that it was with our very best intentions that we created these two separate areas - so many guests could co-exist and enjoy their time here - and not with the intention to make anyone feel unwelcome. That is simply not who we are. My sincerest apologies if any of our team did not display consistency in explaining this. That is not fair to you or your family and I am very sorry for that. We do hope to welcome you and your family back to The Ranch. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Everything about this place is amazing! This may be the nicest room we have ever stayed in with one of the most breathtaking views we have ever seen. The room itself is very spacious, and the bathroom is the largest bathroom we have ever encountered during our travels. The spa products provided in the bathroom were luxurious! We were provided water and snacks in our room every day. You could spend an entire day just walking the grounds and taking in the awesome scenery. Deer and turkey are plentiful roaming around the property. The restaurant way exceeded our expectations. It was the best meal we had in Carmel, and we were speechless watching the sunset from our table by the window. Having smores by the fire pits each night was always a great way to end the day. The location is perfect for travelling to Big Sur, Monterey, and many beautiful attractions in the area. We will definitely return here, and would never stay anywhere else in Carmel!

Room Tip: hilltop rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texasCMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that you noticed so much about the resort and the little details we aspire to get right! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you our way. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This resort was a great experience for our family. Friendly and efficient service by check-in, clean pool, and nice SPA facilities. The golf course has wide fairways and high standard of maintenance. Green fees for juniors and twilight package for adults really attractive. At night the outdoor fireplaces around the pool adds to the great experience. the only drawback is the restaurant. The food from beef to risotto is at best mediocre and the prices high. Winelist is long and good but food has to be dramatically improved. Try instead one of the charming local restaurants down the road towards Carmel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tage R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Tage - thank you for your review and for taking the time to point out so many of the highlights of the resort. Having said that, I am truly sorry your dining experience did not reflect the same standards as the rest of your visit. We do genuinely appreciate your feedback - as it is how we can continuously improve - so thank you. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have never felt as welcome at any hotel as I felt when we pulled into Carmel Valley Ranch. The staff seemed genuinely happy to see us and made us feel special during our three day stay. We stayed in a hilltop ranch suite which was huge and had a great view. Shortly after arrival, a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and bath salts were delivered to our room to celebrate our anniversary. Dinner at the Lodge was delicious and the service was excellent. Everything tasted very fresh and it was my favorite meal during my 6 day vacation (which included dinner at Gary Danko's in San Francisco).
My husband and I did the Bee Experience and loved it. We learned so much and it was one of the highlights of our vacation. Also, the grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. The only complaint I have is that, one afternoon, we returned to our suite at 4pm and it was still being cleaned. Other than that, everything was perfect. We felt so relaxed and happy at Carmel Valley Ranch and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lja30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It is truly wonderful to hear how welcomed you felt as this is a key part of our service here. We ARE truly glad you came to stay and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We can not say enough great things about the Carmel Valley Ranch. It was truly amazing, the scenery was beautiful and the staff was so kind and attentive. Our suite was perfect and very spacious, kids loved the fluffy white robes and slippers. Highlight of the trip was the beekeeping adventure, do it, John was great with everyone in our group, including a 4 year old. (No one was stung and he puts all your fears to rest, buy the honey you won't regret it) This is an experience my whole family will never forget. The adult pool and hot tub are stunning, smores the best (go with their gourmet marshmallows yummy), the apples in the lobby, wild deer and turkey a plenty, and the beautiful lavender. Golf cart rides everywhere, my kids loved when the driver took "the Shortcut". Close to Carmel and Monterey, best thing is that there is often a marine layer of clouds over Carmel and Monterey, but in the valley the sun was shining the whole time! Treat yourself!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review Holly - you touched on several special moments over the course of your visit and I appreciate you taking the time to share that. Our staff at The Ranch truly want to offer service that is caring and meaningful and it looks like we did just that during your visit! We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
902 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
362 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
359 reviews
8.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £299 - £666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing