We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2010

This property is amazing, you feel like you are literally out on a ranch with units spread out across the valley, beautiful spacious rooms, quiet setting, beautiful golf course, great food, great service.....a GREAT spot for business or pleasure, a personal retreat or a business retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msbfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,388 - 1,394 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2010

We recently stayed at the Carmel Valley Ranch and highly recommend it while visiting Carmel. We have been here before during summer, and this place is even better in warmer weather, but now I know anytime of year works. Large rooms, balconies with beautiful views of the Carmel Valley, fireplaces, large tubs, flat screen and great in-room Spa service... Even though they are currently limited in room service due to expansion construction, property and staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamiOCupertino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzannaCarmel, E-Commerce & Leisure Travel at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Carmel Valley Ranch! We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasurable stay with us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Currently, only our Estate Suites include flat-screen TV’s but upon the completion of our transformation this summer, all of our suites will be featuring them.

Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Suzanna
sgabulyan@carmelvalleyranch.com
E-Commerce & Leisure Travel
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

So here's the deal. This resort when it opened was one of the swankiest hotel/resorts in Carmel Valley. In July, a new ownership group purchased the resort and it is in the process of being restored up to and beyond it's former glory. In the meantime, they are offering incredible deals on the rooms. We got a giant suite with a great view for $199, with a $75 credit which we were able to use for meals, and stuff at the golf club. It is true that a few of the facilities are currently unavailable, but in addition to our great room, we had perfectly nice meals in the golf club restaurant, used the exercise room, took long walks on the grounds, and would've played a round of golf on the world class course if we had the time. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The rooms are a bit dated but they are perfectly fine, and the property is being well-maintained during the renovation. We asked for a room away from the construction, which we got. There was no construction going on during the week-end. In closing, this was an incredible deal. It was slightly inconvenient while the construction takes place, but my wife and I hope to return before the renovation takes place to enjoy the great deals that are currently being offered. And the best thing for us is that they let us travel with our well-behaved dog for a one time $50 fee. She loved the resort more than we did and made friends with many of the staff and other guests.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waters96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

All our researches of hotels in Monterey / Carmel (with the help of Trip Advisor) failed to find anywhere that excited us. Then we chanced upon this ranch syle hotel which is about 8 miles (15 minutes) inland. The whole area is very beautiful with verdant hills and the resort neighbours a golf course. The accommodation is in separate "cottages" which are full of character and very reasonably priced for this expensive part of California. There is much attractive wildlife just wandering around the complex (especially deer). Our bad experience related to being locked out on the first evening because, unknown to us, our credit card had not worked when we had already paid a deposit in advance for the first nght. Normally, hotels will establish immediately if a credit card is functioning or not; between us, we had several other cards available!
The downside of this hotel relates to food. The arrangements for(and quality of) evening meals are poor, so we found it necessary to make the half an hour round trip to Carmel each evening.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumbocatguernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at Carmel Valley Ranch for 4 nights over the Thanksgiving Holidays. Although I had talked to staff at the Ranch about the condition of our rooms after reading the previous posts, I was still worried that we would be disappointed. Not So! The resort is as beautiful as advertised with a beautifully upgraded golf course and many acres of trees and grass. We did see turkeys and deer on occasion.

My accommodation was a St. Lucia suite, approximately 650 Sq. Ft. The large entryway has a coffee maker, mini refrigerator and a shelf of liquor, should you wish to buy. The fridge was full of goodies to eat and drink(honor bar). The bedroom is next with a King bed with duvet, gas fireplace, chaise lounge, desk and armoire which houses the TV. The deck had a table, two chairs and two lounges with a view of the golf course. Off the bedroom was one of the hugest bathrooms I have ever occupied. Approximately 16’ long, it had double sinks on one side, a 6-8 foot enclosed shower, and a jacuzzi tub on the far end. Down the opposite wall was a separate room for the toilet and a huge walk in closet. Other than not having a kitchen, these units could be lived in full time.

The Golf Club house is now where you register and eat meals, as the lodge and regular restaurant are under reconstruction.

The resort is entered through a security gate and has a guard. The mileage to our unit was almost a mile, and mostly uphill. I imagine some people would walk down to eat, but it was too difficult for us at our age. Access to our unit was from a flat parking lot and easy to manage luggage.

Our St. Lucia suite was connected to a Ranch suite which we also occupied. It, too, was in good condition. In fact, both bathrooms looked as though they were brand new. Entry to this unit was into the living room, which had a couch, two chairs, TV, table with two chairs, coffee maker and mini fridge. Down the hall was a bathroom and bedroom similar to the St. Lucia suite.

We thought the food at the Clubhouse to be OK. The best meal was dinner.

Service was extraordinary. Everyone held open doors and asked what they could do for us I was really impressed.

The Ranch is close to the Barnyard and the Crossroads for shopping, and perhaps 15 minutes to the Aquarium. And Carmel shopping on Ocean Avenue is always fun. We had one day of fog and rain, but all the other days were clear and sunny. The maples and other trees were in reds and gold's.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAGRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

This place feels lifeless. The Veranda suite in which we stayed was old and smelled terrible. Everything in the suite appeared to be aged and worn. There was mildew in the shower stall and the rugs on the floor were deplorable...very dirty! The glass sliding doors were also very dirty.

We were looking forward to playing some golf and relaxing, but relaxing is hard to do in such a room, even with a good view. On a brighter note, the golf course was in rather good condition.

Our advice...spend your money elsewhere. This place is very over priced for what one gets.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elswicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Second visit but this time with friends we booked the two bed Grand suite - not so grand. Tired furniture, dull and only fires in bedrooms lift the gloom. The setting is magnificient the club house good for light snacks with modern surroundings and good staff. The main hotel has a problem, one day using the pool at around 4 p.m. needed a drink so went to the bar, the barmen said it was closed until 5 p.m. try the clubhouse ! Then proceeded to offer drinks to two prospective wedding guests but said bar still closed - to residents ? Eventually an apology from a young lady who said they had new schedules and got the times wrong by which time the moment had passed. Promised to escalate complaint no one got back. On checking out front office apologised and said manager would write to us, he did not but responded to email offering drink/meal in bar - we live in the uk so that was a safe bet and he should have known that. There does seem to be new development taking place but in meantime avoid some of the rooms and staff attitude does not put the hotel guest at the centre of their attention, probably weddings more lucrative so beware if you don't get the service you expect.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leisurely_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.7 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
909 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
7.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
364 reviews
6.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
2.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £270 - £595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing