We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place for a relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
1 review
“Our favorite place for a relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We loved this resort nestled in the Carmel Valley with the quiet, rolling green hills. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the continental breakfast overlooking the golf course and a walk along the paths. It was perfect for a relaxing getaway that my husband and I really enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    226
    85
    31
    25
See reviews for
434
529
29
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2010

There is no doubt that location is everything, and Carmel Valley Ranch sits in one of the most beautiful locations in the Monterey Peninsula. Only minutes from striking ocean vistas, Carmel Valley Ranch feels like it is a world apart. With its charming country atmosphere, and rich history, Carmel Valley Ranch is the perfect place for a get-away. It is a sun-laden haven of rest, and a recipe for sheer pleasure.

Carmel Valley Ranch is situated in the middle of a paradise that draws artists, painters, photographers, golfers, the rich and famous, and those wanting to take time to smell the roses, and simply enjoy life. During my recent stay there, I was particularly impressed with the service at every level. Whether enjoying a scrumptious meal in the clubhouse, or visiting in the pro shop, or wandering the grounds, the sense of energy, and hospitality was impressive.

While Carmel Valley Ranch is known for its award-winning golf course, tennis facilities and remarkable hiking trails, the resort is not limited to just those who are athletically inclined. It is the perfect place to enjoy a wonderful bottle of wine, while sitting out on your deck taking in the pastoral setting. In addition, Carmel Valley Ranch is an ideal spot for honeymooners, or those needing to get away from the hustle-bustle of everyday life with a significant other.

My time at Carmel Valley in was not spent playing tennis or golf, but my 3 day experience was memorable, and like the lure of a fine wine...I will be going back for more.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WriterAtTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

What a fantastic weekend! We took a few days to mentally check out from work and life and found ourselves in a quiet, secluded golf/spa resort. We took some golf lessons, played a round, even got a chance to hike up to the Yoga platform at the top of the hill. I was very pleased with the friendliness of the staff, and the food was fantastic!! (Make sure to have the Huevos Rancheros for breakfast in the morning...) Overall, its one of those places that's a hidden gem. It's a little off the main road from the beach, but well worth the drive. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguru37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

I visited the Carmel Valley Ranch this past weekend from San Francisco and it was the perfect getaway. We left early Saturday morning and returned mid-afternoon on Sunday. Both ways, the drive was shorter than expected.

Besides the beautiful location, picturesque landscape and perfectly situated rooms that all warrant a top rating, the most striking part of my stay was the service. From the bartender who took note of my favorite drink to our golf instructor’s friendly and approachable style, every encounter with the staff well exceeded my expectations. After we had checked out on the last day, we went for a short hike to a yoga platform the resort has set up that overlooks an adjacent valley. The hike itself was fantastic but as-if automatically, our waiter from lunch the day before had glasses of water ready for us upon our return. It is that type of personalized customer oriented service that pulls the Carmel Valley Ranch out from the pack.

On activities, the resort has a lot of space and makes great use of it - we were unable to take full advantage of all they had to offer. There simply is too much to do. I cannot wait to take another weekend trip to the resort and pick up a mountain bike, play more golf or hike to the beach, even before renovations are complete (which will even further drive me to return!).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

The Carmel Valley Ranch was an absolutely fabulous getaway. The hotel is located in a small valley surrounded by green hills on all sides. The view from both our room and the deck behind the main lodge was beautiful...lots of undisturbed greenery. The staff was warm and friendly. The main hotel building was under renovation while we were there so we ate at the restaurant in the golf clubhouse during our stay. It's a smaller menu, but had plenty of options for a weekend stay and everything was delicious. The room we stayed in was enormous (almost a small cottage rather than a hotel room) and had a bedroom with fireplace, bathroom, separate living room, and a deck.

We visited the lodge for a weekend of golfing with a small group of friends, but I would definitely return for a romantic getaway or a trip with family. There was plenty to do, including tennis, golf and hiking in the beautiful surroundings. We also played glow-in-the-dark night golf one evening, which was a big hit. I'm looking forward to returning after the renovations are complete to check out the new pool and spa.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlovestotravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agoura hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We had an amazing experience from the drive to Carmel to the arrival lodge, the room, the service and level of cleansiness and authenticity.
It is a place to relax and the staff made sure you got that relaxing experience. From the location, surroundings, what the room offers you, all these made you relax.
I cannot wait to go back, we sure did not want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petiteartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Despite the renovations taking place, this is a wonderful place to escape to. The landscape is incredible. There were a lot of surprises here. The food, the charming homes. Everything is clean and modern, but it has this sort of country charm where you feel like you are taken back to a time where time wasn't so important. Getting from A to Z in the least amount of time doesn't matter here. No matter where you go, you have arrived. Its a different world than the fast-paced life we have almost everywhere else in the developed world.
The golf course proved to be one of the most challenging, but for a novice golfer like myself, not impossibly difficult. Its beautiful...the slopes, ridges, forests and rivers make this one certainly one of the most beautiful that I have ever seen...even when compared to one of its neighbors, Pebble Beach. Its a bit of a drive out of Carmel (about 10 minutes), but its worth it...I would stay here again in a heartbeat...In fact I will...If I don't buy one of the stunning houses on the Summit - just above the resort.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorer852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
2.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Property: Carmel Valley Ranch
Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing