We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location-Clean Rooms”
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hofsas House Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I reviewed many places before chosing Hofsas House. We had a little issue with our room being changed, but it was all worked out. We had a room on the front road and the end of the building. It had a fireplace (we did not need it) and a large bathroom with this room. It was quite, with no view. That was ok, since we were driving down Hwy 1 and would see lots of great views. Everything was clean and worked just fine! I walked back from dinner at dark and felt very safe.
If in town again, we would book here but stay for 2 nights and not just one. Carmel is a nice place to relax and enjoy the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room based on what makes you happy! Bigger bathroom, a view or just a good price. They w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Yes, we are a bit prejudiced, but how really can you top the Hofsas House for the $ , the view, the location? Its not the Four Seasons or the Ritz Carlton. Just a great , homey place to stay.

Stay at other places if you want, but you will be back

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccws19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the great location and that you keep coming back! We are happy you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If your looking for a shiney glass palace with bright lights and 33 floors then look elsewhere. If you enjoy cosy nights in, friendly family staff and hot fresh bread for breakfast, then maybe your getting warmer. Stayed here on our honeymoon and it was lovely

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor for seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beacon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you stayed with us for your honeymoon
and that you had a wonderful stay. We hope you stay with us again next time you are in Carmel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and i stayed there in January 2011, we got the 2nd floor facing the pool and the view was great, we could see the ocean and greenery. our room was a gueen size. The bathroom was ok, the shower a little small but cute. having breakfast in your room or on the balcony was great. The whole building feels sort of whimsical. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed a great winter escape! Thank you for the review and we hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

A very lovely place to sleep in when visiting Carmel. Staff is friendly and the continental breakfast is good. We enjoyed here very much and even got to use the sauna (although it was too cold for the pool)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itzik_Greenvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the delicious continental breakfast! We hope you visit us again and thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The outside of this charming old fashioned hotel is very very pink! Also despite the colour we struggled to find the hotel because you cannot enter it into a satnav as there is no street number. Nice welcome from reception who provided lots of information. We had been upgraded to a suite on the top floor from our king with sea view. Lovely huge suite with very big comfy bed. Good shower. Furniture old fashioned but good quality. Fits in with this type of hotel. Balconies are not private but huge open spaces with table and chairs for lounging. We had a kitchen incl microwave and big fridge. This was great for al fresco dining on the balcony. Watch out for Sidney seagull who can awaken you early with his cries. Breakfast was excellent, continental with the freshest pastries and croissants seen so far. Weather here despite the time of year can e cool so there are wood burning stoves in the rooms should you wish to use. Short walk to the town centre. Try "Brophies" bar for the best beer and bar food around. Lots of up market restaurants also within 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Go for ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham999Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you had a great stay with us and we hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel has grown over the years to become a sprawling series of floors with an excellent outlook on the top floor but not so good lower down. The quality of the rooms was not great with very little sound proofing to separate the rooms. The couple next to us were having an argument and we could hear every word clearly. The television was old fashioned and we could only get one channel to work. We did not use the swimming pool so can't comment on that. They provided a limited but adequate breakfast of pastries and coffee which you can take back to your room or onto the communal balcony. The staff were welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor as that will provide an excellent view out to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlowDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

We strive to offer clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations at our family-operated hotel located in the heart of downtown Carmel. We are happy you enjoyed our friendly service and we sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £98 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing