We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More motel than hotel”
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hofsas House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More motel than hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Was a bit disappointed upon arrival. For the price we paid for a 3 night stay in July of 2014, we found the rooms and buildings to be very outdated and noisey. This is like a roadside motel than a hotel or B&B as expected. On the positive side, the room was very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely in need of a general update from its vintage '70s look. Carmel is worth the visit. Pretty town. Don't miss the 17 Mile road around the region.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Quintanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are happy you enjoyed the location as well as our friendly staff, and we are so sorry you did not enjoy the accommodations. We will look into your comments and thank you for taking the time to review. We sincerely hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    170
    69
    29
    11
See reviews for
96
188
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Fl.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is definitely a bit dated; however the rooms were very spacious and clean. The rooms do not offer any views, but the hotel is a great location, as it is an easy walk to shops and restaurants. Although the breakfast is just pastries, fruit and coffee and OJ, we loved that the pastries are from a local bakery and YUMMY (no yucky prepackaged things). We also enjoyed that we could grab a basket with filled goodies and a carafe of coffee and take it back to our room:-) Overall, a great value for Carmel and we would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We're so happy that you enjoyed a great stay with us as well as the complementary breakfast. We sincerely hope you'll visit us again next time you are in Carmel and thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here on our final night on our week-long trip along the Central Coast...overall it was good; not my favorite place or my worst - it was fine - it's a handy stop-off point....

The positives...
Very central location in Carmel
The staff were very friendly and let us check in early
The room was clean and spacious with a balcony and remote view of the ocean.

The negatives...
It was odd to have the fridge and coffee maker in the bathroom - although there was space for it.
I found the bed too firm, but my mum liked it
We could hear the people next door clearly, not great sound proofing.
The breakfast was carbs and liquids.

We could see the pool from our room but didn't go in....

Found a great family run place for breakfast just a block or so down the hill called Friar Tuck...reasonable prices, fast service, all food cooked fresh to order....wish there was one like this near my house!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review… It helps us to see what you enjoyed and where we can improve. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I picked this place because most other hotels were really overpriced in Carmel. It's offers most comforts but it's a bit run-down. We didn't get to try the pool, but sitting in the west-looking terrace was very nice. The breakfast could be richer and have a proper venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f64CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are so happy you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed the wonderful views. We appreciate your feedback regarding your breakfast and we will look into this. We sincerely hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A nice hotel, with good location, restaurants town at walking distence
clean rooms, but found a bit pricy.
also breakfast is limited with just some bakery stuff, fruits, yogurt coffee, etc
no warm food,
friendly and helpful staff

Room Tip: top floor rooms would be better, as they have patio and can get a glimpse of ocean. although if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful location. We sincerely hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We really enjoyed our visit to Carmel and Hofsas House. The room was pretty, clean, airy and relaxing, with a nice bathroom. Very few options at breakfast but we enjoyed taking our pastries and eating them on the patio tables outside our room. Lovely, friendly staff who gave us great advice for our onward trip down to Big Sur. Overall, pretty expensive for a good, but not outstanding, hotel, but it is in Carmel, after all!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svanhvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your room as well as our friendly staff. We are always happy to offer suggestions for local activities from dining to hiking! We hope you visit us again and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent 10 days touring the Pacific Coast. We started in San Francisco and made our way to Carmel. Based on a friends recommendation, we stayed two nights at the Hofsas House Hotel. It was very charming and laid back compared to San Francisco. At Hofsas, we stayed in a large room on the top floor with a patio sitting area right outside our door. Beautiful views from the balcony, You could see the ocean. It was definately charming... nice sitting area outside of bathroom, fire place, antique secretary desk, and small kitchen with dishes, etc. In the morning, they had fresh pastries, hot chocolate, orange juice and coffee downstairs which was very nice. It was close to shops, the beach, and had a Tavern directly across the street. The staff was so attentive and helpful. We like to choose family owned hotels with character vs. chain hotels. And I'd have to say, that out of all the hotels we stayed at during our 10 day tour, the Hofsas was among the best. I would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay a little more for one of the suites, however, my friends stayed in a regula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmramage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are so happy you decided to stay with us and that you enjoyed everything form the room to the friendly staff and great views! Thank you for the great review and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,655 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.4 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Property: Hofsas House Hotel
Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing