We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Playa Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent service”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I was wowed by the pictures on the hotel's website and I was not disappointed! What I could not see was the excellent service which makes the hotel such a standout. It is located a few blocks from the beach and town, but we were so comfortable there, we did not want to leave. There is street parking and the hotel has a minivan and driver at the ready to drive guests into town. We loved sitting on the covered porch by the fire table, listening to the ocean. I wish we had stayed there longer.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    194
    78
    26
    19
See reviews for
142
504
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have stayed at La Playa before, approximately ten years ago. We had very fond memories, and this time La Playa exceeded even those remembrances! The room was exquisite; the breakfast generous and varied--we could have artisanal cheeses as well as granola. Weekend brunch included made-to-order waffle or omelette: delicious! The pool was warm and inviting--especially given the one-day cold snap. Truly, the gardens are one of La Playa's highlights. We frequented the Bar with Kris, who indulged us in his expertise in California wines and West Coast IPA's.
We intend to make La Playa a destination get-away. The area offers hiking, sight-seeing, history and marine bio education (Monterey Aquarium), tons of window-shopping, restaurants (although choose wisely!!! Never hesitate to take a night at the La Playa Bar with their light menu)...wine-tastings.

Thank you for a most wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Add a little extra and pay up a bit--it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coralreefdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I had a two night getaway here in November. The hotel is very elegant and has an 'old school' European shabby chic feel. It reminded us very much of hotels in the south of France. La Playa has plenty of personality and though quite large (for Carmel), feels like a boutique hotel.

The first room we were placed in was quite small with a tiny cute bathroom but amazing ocean views. However due to some noise above us (a banging window left open) we asked to be moved. The staff were very accommodating and relocated us to a really nice and much bigger room that happened to be empty that night.

The wine tasting every evening was a really nice touch and the champagne breakfast (included in the price) was unbelievably good. The omelette / waffle chef was a super nice guy!

Another great thing is the hotel's location. Easy walk to the ocean and all the shops and dining in Carmel but a little further out from all the hustle and bustle.

We plan on coming back very soon. My only very slightly negative point is that some of the staff were a bit wooden. I'm not sure if they are in fear of losing their jobs or the manager is a tough cookie but I felt that they had a script to work from! However, they were all exceedingly polite and so I'd take that over rudeness any day. The guy who relocated us to another room was so helpful – I wish I could remember his name (guy with glasses). Because of him we had an even better stay.

Thank you La Playa for a fab stay. Very, very nice indeed. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Obviously try and get an ocean view room. The higher up you are the better the view due to the trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I drove down from San Francisco to spend a relaxing weekend in Carmel. We'd stayed at La Playa a few years ago before the renovations and enjoyed it and were even more pleased with the recent renovations. The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous. We stayed in a garden patio from which we could sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine and the beautiful grounds of the hotel. The room itself was well appointed and the bed was quite comfortable. The added amenities such as the shuttle to town and the champagne brunch are amazing. The hotel is in a perfect spot. Two blocks from the beach and just a few blocks from the center of town. Then at night we were able to take the shuttle to go back and forth from our hotel which was perfect. The champagne brunch was fantastic. Not only was the food great but there was a wonderful variety. The self serve mimosas a fabulous touch!
Finally, the service was amazing. From check in to check out the service was great. The staff made you feel so welcome and were eager to help in any way. We will for sure be going back to La Playa!

Room Tip: The ocean room views are nice but more expensive and not worth it in my opinion. Stay in a garden p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macdonec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at La Playa in November for our first anniversary. We found the hotel in a write-up in the Southwest Airlines magazine and immediately changed our reservations to this hotel. The location with water/beach views and champagne brunch (included) were the top reasons. When we arrived at the hotel, we were very pleased that all was as advertised. The property is gorgeous. The evening happy hour was a fun surprise and also free! The restaurant/bar staff were great and the wine/beer selection was perfect.

The hotel is quaint and each room is a bit different. . . the reason I know this is because we stayed in 3 different rooms during our 2 night stay. At about 2am on our first night my husband and I were awoken by a ringing/clanging sound. At first we thought it was something in the courtyard. . . we were later told that it was our in-room heater and at 2:30am we were given a second room to sleep in. The next day, we checked in with the front desk multiple times to see if the heater had been fixed - being told each time that there was no update. And, to my shock, we were never offered a new room until a manager got involved. It was a little bit too late if you ask me. But, it was our anniversary trip so I was willing to overlook it.

The hotel is a short walk to the beach, which was beautiful and a short stroll brought us to the cliffs of Pebble Beach. The hotel offers a free van/shuttle service to the "main street" and we found this VERY helpful considering there are absolutely no street lights in carmel. The personalized attention from the shuttle driver was great.

When we finally landed in our 3rd room, we were pleasantly surprised with the view and had no further trouble with our accommodations.

Upon checking out and driving over to Monterey, we realized we had left a bottle of champagne (brought with us from Napa) in our room's mini-fridge. We were going to drive back to the hotel, but decided to make a call to make sure the bottle was still there. My husband called the front desk and we were told we'd receive a call back to confirm. Very sadly, we are still waiting for that call back from the hotel. . . it's been over a month. Now that the trip is behind us, I can say that I am very disappointed at this last piece. How hard would it be for the clerk to keep track of our request and call us back? This left a question in my mind about the overall customer service appreciation of the hotel staff.

I received an online/email survey after our departure and provided this same feedback. Unfortunately, still no response from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rlestner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Staying at La Playa was like staying at a friend's home. There was a wine social in the late afternoon, warm cookies and milk in the evening, and a delicious champagne brunch every morning. The brunch featured quiche, eggs, a lovely cheese & meat assortment, fresh squeezed juices, and much more. The hotel is beautiful, with cozy couches and fireplaces scattered throughout the property. The bathrooms were clean and featured paraben free bath products and fluffy robes. The hotel was only a couple of blocks from the beach, and the they offer a free shuttle to the Carmel shops & restaurants. We stayed there while playing Pebble Beach, and La Playa is only about 5 mins from the Pebble Beach resort. The rooms are a bit small, and the walls are a little thin, but we were not bothered by it in the least. The hotel more than makes up for any shortcomings with the attentive staff, beautiful decor, and overall charm.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This hotel is really close to the beach. There is a parking but if it is full it is easy and free to park on the streets nearby. Very easy.
Nice service, nice breakfast with a full, breakfast included.

One reccomendation: Do not bring a lot of bags and stuff because this hotel is from the 20s (of course it is renovated ) because there are no elevators!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a room in the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
334 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Property: La Playa Carmel
Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Playa Carmel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing