We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Playa Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Playa Carmel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Sharon, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Garden Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Great location to walk, bike, drive from ... explore the town on foot, walk the Carmel beach and see some whales also surfers, dog walkers and Pebble Beach landscape ... take the 17 mile drive $10 .. reimbursed if u have a meal inside. Also, La Playa's breakfast is the best and evening wine tasting!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    194
    78
    26
    19
See reviews for
142
505
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The grounds are so gorgeous and the breakfast was excellent. I very much enjoyed having breakfast each morning on the balcony overlooking the gardens with an ocean view. The balcony was also excellent to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. The location is fabulous (walking distance from beach) and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Go with a room with a view of the grounds, pool, or ocean room. Don't go with the cheapest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This very picky traveler loved LaPlaya. Yes, the bathrooms are small but we are used to that staying in boutique hotels in NYC; in fact, the idiosyncrasies of the LaPlaya are parr for the course when choosing hotels that have character apart from the big chains. The picketers were in front of the hotel loading area when we arrived but we called the desk and staff met us around back to bring up our bags and the protest was over by 6:00 or so (that was on a Thursday and they didn't return again during our stay).

Entire staff was great - the concierge called the week before our scheduled arrival to ask if there were any reservations or other arrangements they could handle for us and responded quickly to subsequent emails.

Great daily brunch overlooking the beautiful gardens and ocean two blocks away. Thinking about our next visit already (and we live in Florida so it's a trip).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BunnyLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary C, General Manager at La Playa Carmel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Bunny,

I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance in arranging your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful gem centrally located in Carmel. Walk to restaurants and shops. Afternoon wine tasting and superb breakfast included - have an omelette made, delicious - and sit on the outdoor Terrance with views of the pacific. Courteous and welcoming staff made it a perfect experience

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dougle_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel was built as a mansion in 1905 for a member of the Ghirardelli family and has been converted into a boutique hotel. Not just another hotel - a gem where you can find a private alcove in the gardens or in front of a fireplace to enjoy a nice glass of wine and perhaps a little romance! Located just 2 blocks from Carmel beach, shops, restaurants. Beautiful gardens, pool house, heated pool. Very good Breakfast included. Rooms with Ocean Views on 3rd and 4th floors are lovely. The largest suites on the 4th Floor are really spacious. Beds/linens/pillows all so comfortable. They also offer a shuttle to take you to restaurants if you dont' care to walk. Management really strives to meet the needs of guests for comfort in this charming place.!

Room Tip: Top 4th Floor Suite has a great Ocean View also overlooking Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camfva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel has a small boutique feel, like your home. I liked the feeling, the decor in the lobby is nice and comfortable. The outside grounds are beautiful, flowers everywhere, very manicured, gorgeous. Our room was disappointing, very small, the desk chair pushed all the way in still touched the bed, no room at all. We overlooked the front door, the bathroom was small. Also, no robes or slippers. Everything else was nice except our room. The bed was very comfortable. They serve a breakfast buffet in the morning and it was very good. Getting a snack at night was not easy as only one person working in the bar. Also, no elevator, no valet, not that big of a deal but could post a problem for some.

Room Tip: check your room before you settle in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyjaclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My best friend and I came here for a quick overnight trip last weekend. We chose to stay at La Playa due to the great reviews and location. The location is great - 2 blocks from downtown, 2 blocks from the beach - easily walkable to any destination.

Our room was tiny and on the main property. The air system made a consistent noise all day/night. One of the front desk receptionists was a bit robotic and didn't seem to know much information. Our check-in form had the wrong credit card number, she told us it was an another guest's information and a mistake, rather than how they process third party reservations.

The wine tasting showcased a red and a white from the Carmel Valley, and they were delicious - a great touch. The bar had a standard drink selection, but very limited food. I would like to see additional food options.

The breakfast was quite sad. They should really let you know that it's mostly continental - fruits, yogurt, cereal, granola, fritattas (which looked old and stale), and a waffle station. Since I have a gluten allergy, I would have liked to see at least an omelet station, or something that is gluten free.

All in all, we weren't satisfied staying here. Therefore, we wouldn't recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gte478p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Carmel

Property: La Playa Carmel
Address: Camino Real at 8th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly La Playa Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Playa Carmel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Playa Carmel is a 75-room historic luxury boutique hotel, newly restored to preserve its turn-of-the-century charm while updating it to modern-day standards. Located two blocks from the beach and village shops, art galleries and restaurants, the hotel is situated in the heart of Carmel and anchors its most prestigious residential neighborhood. The grounds encompass meticulously tended gardens, intimate patios, secluded courtyards and a tranquil terrace swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Playa Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Playa
La Playa Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing