We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway for Two”
Review of Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wayside Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Orangevale, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Getaway for Two”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to spend our two year anniversary on vacation, but couldn't pick a place until the last minute, leaving us with few choices on where to stay. We settled on Carmel, and thankfully, the Wayside Inn had an available room for us. We called and booked a two night stay in the premium king suite in the French building, with a private balcony, fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub.

The room was on the second floor, very spacious, and included a large bed, two bathrobes, a tv, couch, Jacuzzi tub for two, gas fireplace, keurig coffee maker with tea and coffee, mini fridge with waters, microwave, and an outdoor private balcony. The bed, comforter, and pillows were to die for. We never wanted to get out of bed.

Each day there is tea, coffee, hot cocoa, cookies, and fruit in the lobby area. Also, you are given a breakfast menu with a choice of cheerios, raisin bran, rice krispies, fruit, yogurt, pastries, toast, milk, and orange juice to place outside of your door at night. When you wake up in the morning, your order will be waiting (:

Although our stay here was great, there were a few things that were a little bothersome:
1. The jets that create the jacuzzi effect in the tub for two were SO LOUD. As soon as we turned the bubbles on, we looked at each other in horror and turned them right back off, afraid that we had broken something or awoken the entire hotel. Unfortunately, that was the first and last time we used those.
2. Not the hotel's fault, but our neighbors were even louder than the jacuzzi. The ones downstairs apparently preferred their....romantic activities...loud, while the women in the room next to us talked so loud that it sounded like they were in our room. Once again, this is not at all the hotel's fault. It just made things a little less private.
3. The private balcony was a nice touch, but anyone walking on the street below could see/hear us, so we didn't spend much time out there, although it was nice to let a breeze in on the warmer days.
4. The heater in the room was placed at the bottom of the floor behind some curtains, so it was a little difficult to keep the room warm since the heat wasn't spreading easily.
5. Although the FAQ sheet said there were instructions for the fireplace...there weren't. They just left us a lighter and some wood, so we attempted to light it for 15 minutes until we realized it was probably a gas fireplace. We had to call and ask where the switch was and how to use it. The gas switch was behind a curtain on the wall. Not a big deal, but we felt pretty dumb afterwards.

If you're looking for a nice room, with fairly good amenities, AMAZING location, and a fair price, look no further.
If you're looking for an extremely personal bed & breakfast with hand and foot service and complete privacy, you may want to look just a little more.

Overall pretty good experience and right within walking distance to the beach and shops and tons of food. Would recommend it (:

Room Tip: French premium king sweet was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    88
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
73
124
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a 2 night stay here in September and we are so glad we chose Wayside Inn. We felt the position was just right being off the main road which made it quiet yet close to everything we needed. The room was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. I emailed a couple of days before we arrived to request a ground floor room and this was arranged. The staff were all very pleasant and everything was clean. We did not know what to expect for breakfast but the little hamper bags were lovely although a bit more variety of cereal would have been nice and a plate in the bag would be a good idea. Overall we all felt this was a lovely place to stay and would definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeandDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

we had a huge room with 2 king beds, it was very clean, perfectly quiet, breakfast was unique delivered to your door in the morning in cool bags and good quality, everything was in walking distance (though Carmel is small and everywhere is walkable from anywhere i'd say)
front desk were friendly, coffee and fruit and fresh cooked biscuits in reception all day was nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
470 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Used TA to select my hotel and chose this on the back of good reviews. They were mostly right. Well located with off road parking (a big plus in central Carmel), our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The staff were all very polite and welcoming. Whilst a short stay, we very much enjoyed our few nights at the Wayside and would recommend the Wayside to any discerning traveller.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Charming inn close to shopping and restaurants. Great bed in an adorable room with terrace. The "box" breakfast, delivered to the room, was a nice touch. The staff was helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions. Convenient parking on premises and proximity to village enabled us to leave the car parked while we walked to shopping, beach and fine restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solna, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

A very nice little place to stay. Stay here when you're driving the PCH. However the parking was smaller than I thought so we had to park in the street. A nice neighbourhood so I wasn't worried about the car, but we had to walk a distance with our luggage. So be early if possible:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I was there for one night for business, and my visit could not have been more pleasant. My room was lovely with a terrace and fireplace. The bed was supremely comfortable. The room and bathroom were spacious and the overall decor was lovely. The front desk, Stephanie was helpful ad very accommodating. A lovely cold breakfast I delivered to your room. I have nothing bad to say!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aretha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
845 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Property: Wayside Inn
Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing