We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
260
119
26
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
119
26
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location quiche delivered breakfast separate bedroom cookies big room close to shops full kitchen street noise each morning great place to stay great bed on site parking upstairs room downtown area walking distance to everything would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Stayed 6/22/ & 6/23/18. I do not agree w/other reviews on this site.
Mattress old/soft. Only 1 tiny bar of soap provided. Only 2 tiny glasses to use for brushing teeth or glass of wine or water? Kuerig: why not check to be sure it is working before we check in? (cause it was not). Coffee pods not refilled. Weird towels that do not dry you. Water pressure in shower zero. Breakfast delivered when you post the time you want it which, may work for some but if you do not want it (and good reason not to want it) you still have to endure the clunking of feet up/down steps followed by a knock on a neighbors door. No replacement of empty box of tissues, 1 sorry looking half used roll of toilet paper (no extra). Pillows good, Balcony sunny & Location very good.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jehan T, Manager at Wayside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Sigham, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review. We were sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected. We always appreciate feedback in any way and are always looking to improve. We were sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our mattress as we received many compliments on our bedding and work very hard to to ensure that everyone will have a relaxing and peaceful stay. We place a feather topper on our mattresses (that could be easily remove upon request) and perhaps for some it will make the bed less firm than desired. As for the other amenities in the room, complementary bottles of water are replenished daily and available more upon request with the front desk. 6 pods of Keurigs coffee both regular and decaf are replenished daily and Keurig coffee machine are inspected daily prior to guests arrival to ensure they are working properly. We put extra toilet paper rolls and facial tissue boxes in each room under the vanity for our guests to use. Shower gel, 2 type of bar soaps are provided in each room along with some shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bath salts and shower cap to ensure our guests have enough amenities during their stay and replenished daily during room clean. I'm very sorry we fell short on your expectation on this trip. We hope that you will find that special place in Carmel that offers everything you are looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

It is a great surprise staying at this boutique hotel in downtown Carmel. The lady at reception was very pleasant and warm. We stayed in a king suite downstairs with fireplace. The room smelt super nice and is well decorated with warm colors. We walked to the restaurant and shops, even to the beach for sunset. Next morning, a full breakfast including quiches and pastries was served to our room with local newspaper. One minor concern was our room was close to stairs kind of noisy all well as the noise from the upstairs floor. Overall it’s a great boutique hotel that I would strongly recommend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Culture214259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jehan T, Manager at Wayside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Wayside Inn. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the Inn. We love to hear our guest’s experiences and are always looking for ways to improve. We look forward to having you again in the future the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We stayed at the hotel for three days up until 7th June and we feel in love with it. It is very quaint and its design and style fits perfectly into this magical little town. We found the room slightly small by US standards, but extremely comfortable. The size was no limitation to us.
Another added benefit to the hotel is its staff. They were extremely friendly and very pleasant. Im not sure how busy the hotel was, but we managed to park in the courtyard every day. However, I dont get the impression that parking is a problem in Carmel.
We would definitely come back here again and hopefully we will in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jehan T, Manager at Wayside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear David M, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We at the Wayside Inn were so glad that we were able to make your stay here a wonderful and memorable experience. I will be sure to pass along the kind words to all of our staff and We hope to welcome you back to Wayside inn in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Unfortunately the bed was very uncomfortable, was old and needs to be replaced. The breakfast was very good and the staff was very nice. The location is great if you want to me near shops and restaurants!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank cacn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jehan T, Manager at Wayside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear cacn56, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write the review. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the bed to be comfortable to your liking. We received many compliments on our beddings and work very hard to ensure that everyone will have a relaxing stay. We placed a feather topper on our mattresses and perhaps for some it will make the bed less firm than desired. Please let us know in the future and we will be happy to remove the feather topper for our guest. We take great pride in preparing our breakfast and I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. We hope to host you again the next time you are in Carmel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Great property, close to Ocean Ave. When they are full, there is not enough onsite parking. Other than that, it's a great place to stay. Everyone is very helpful. The beds are super comfortable with extra padding (feather bed mattress topper?)

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L4134CZcarmenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jehan T, Manager at Wayside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear L4134CZcarmenc, Thank you for your review and for your recent stay with us. Our centralized location allows our guess to make the most of their time in Carmel and it sounds like you were able to do just that. Our beddings are one of the most common complements we received from our guests and happy to hear that you enjoyed it as well. We look forward to your next visit the next time you are in Carmel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews