We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value (w/ discount), great location, great rooms”
Review of Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wayside Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
hopping
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value (w/ discount), great location, great rooms”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We had a big discount when we stayed so that improved its value proposition for me. It is not an "elegant" hotel, but rather a B&B approach in a highly improved motel-style building. That makes it sound bad; but it is actually really nice. It is quite charming. The bed was VERY comfortable, simple continental breakfast delivered each morning. Lot's of space in the room. Very nice staff. Great location in the center of town next to Carmel Plaza.

Note: crying babies can be heard easily through the walls. This may be the case anywhere, I'm not sure.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalconsigliari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    90
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
76
127
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

My wife and I stayed here after Christmas for a little getaway. Wayside Inn was a pleasure to stay in. The staff was great and the amenities made the stay perfect. It was also close to all the great restaurants in town. The place was clean and the fireplace was a great feature. We stayed in room #9 and with all the rain and cold, the room was a great rest from all that.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfuenteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We stayed at the Wayside Inn for our 4 year anniversery and it was nothing less than spectacular!!! (as all inns by the sea hotels are) We had the Premier Room with the 2 person Jacuzzi Tub, it also had a private little patio which we didnt know was included with the room until we arrived. The staff is always smiling and friendly and the had really yummy cookies in the Lobby area, close to all the lovely shops and CONVIENTLY located just one block from a little market incase you need something, they also provide a continetal breakfast in the mornings that they just place outside your door in a cooler so you can enjoy whenever you are ready, no worries of having to wake up and go out to the lobby for breakfast or have to get up and wait for a server, its just there waiting for you along with a paper!!! WE LOVED THE WAYSIDE INN!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissee1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The Wayside Inn is a rare gem. The rooms are beautiful and very spacious. We had the room with a large jacuzzi tub next to the fireplace. After long walks all day and evening the hot tub was very relaxing and romantic. The hotel manager Kelly is like no other. She had great suggestions of where to eat and what to do. She knew everything about the restaurants and the town. We valued her opinion by the way she was so confident about her knowledge of the town. We would go back in a heart beat and plan on it the first chance we get.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRooneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed at the Wayside Inn for a short trip to Carmel. The grounds are lovely, full of flowers and beautiful plantings. The charming room had wonderful cozy beds and linens, and the location has to be one of the best in Carmel -- right beside the Carmel Plaza with its fun shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likethecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We took our 2 1/2 year old grandson on a mini-vacation to visit family, and stayed in the best room ever! We had a balcony, our own bedroom, kitchenette, living/dining room and TWO full bathrooms - and we're not talking about tiny rooms here.

The Wayside staff provided a portable crib so we didn't have to pack yet another thing in the car. Every morning, there'd be a great breakfast for 3 and the newspaper waiting for us at the door. Every afternoon there was warm cookies in the lobby!

We were one block south of Ocean, so we took our grandson out strolling or to meals without his stroller. He walked or we carried him when his little legs got tired. We drove the car to the beach (to avoid the uphill walk on the way back), but would've taken the trolley had we remembered it was running.

The final selling point - I'm a stickler for cleanliness, and these rooms were VERY CLEAN. My only complaint...they don't have the the Food Network/HGTV channels :-(

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I recently did a girls weekend here and it was great! The location is awesome as its so close to shops and restaurants. Before we checked in, they upgraded us to a suite since it was open! It had a living room with a kitchenette. The only thing that was a little weird was that to get to the bedroom, you had to go through the bathroom, but other than that the room was awesome. Having breakfast brought to your door is a really nice touch - some fruit in it would've been nice though. Overall, I was really happy we stayed here and I would definitely stay here again! And oh yeah, the bed was crazy comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qlarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
861 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Inn

Property: Wayside Inn
Address: 7th & Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the forest just across from Carmel's premier shopping plaza, the Wayside Inn reflects the charm of the quintessential Carmel cottage. Offering 22 guest rooms and suites, special amenities may include spa tubs, full kitchens, fireplaces, and large balconies overlooking the quaint village of Carmel. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with the daily newspaper and freshly baked cookies are always available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing