We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Los Laureles Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Laureles Lodge
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a lovely room in the stables area. It was smaller than others we have stayed in but had a rustic charm and we all slept very well. Everything was clean and the bathroom was good. Breakfast was really nice - good selection of cereal, muffins and fruit. The lady at the desk was very friendly and helped us out with some information on whale migration as we were driving down Big Sur.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crispya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    40
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
46
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was one of the suggested places for a friend's wedding. I appreciated having an affordable option close to the wedding venue, and would stay here again.

PROS
Great location
Clean
Complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, and muffins available for breakfast
Friendly front desk

TO BE AWARE OF
* No A/C
* More importantly - our room did not have a window, except in the bathroom. Even with evening temperatures in the high 50s/low 60s, the room got stuffy at night. It would be nice if the owners installed ceiling fans in rooms without windows to allow for air circulation.
* Impossible to close "inner" door from the outside, meaning if one person got up early, the other person either had to get up to close the door (the only thing providing privacy) or leave it open, allowing anyone to look in.
* Mattresses were noticeably older
* Small, stall showers
* Very few available outlets
* Our room was close to a busy road.

I would recommend asking for a room with a window, away from the road if possible.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room with a window, away from the road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have had both a wedding (130 guests, Nov 2012) and an engagement dinner (30 guests, Jul 2014) at Los Laurales Lodge and the planning, support and occasions were absolutely wonderful. Les and Mike Terry are very patient and provide support, encouragement, and insight (in making choices), prior to the occasion. The planning is low stress and delightful. On both special days Les managed the activities in events, working well with all principals and attaining two very special, and memorable occasions. We are deeply grateful for the attentiveness of Les and the wonderful landscape and dining facilities at the Lodge. We recommend this facility and Les's expertise enthusiastically! (Friends and family stayed at the lodge during the days surrounding the events and found the facilities comfortable, relaxing and convenient.)

-Joe and Lynn Welch

Room Tip: Hilltop House is a large house on the grounds that will accommodate a family through an event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara, california
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We chose the Los Laureles Lodge for its proximity to family we were visiting....and we wanted to take our sweet older dog with us...The Lodge, which was the former thoroughbred stables for a Vanderbilt kin, is gracious about pets, charming in its historic ranch motif, and casually inviting.
Our room, totally reminiscent of a ranch bunk house, was very clean and pleasant, with a very comfortable bed....a continental breakfast is served in the fireplace room adjoining the front desk, and the gentleman at the desk was friendly and informative about the history of the property. It was also a great opportunity to chart with other guests as well. We did not have time to take advantage of the restaurant for dinner, but have heard good things...there is also a swimming pool that is quite popular in the summer months.

Room Tip: Our room, #12, was nice and quiet...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My son and his wife chose this place for their wedding and so we rented a room for 2 nights. We used the room to leave our belongings to get ready for the wedding but did not stay the night. The place is nice and the room is clean. It's got the rustic atmosphere. They offer continental breakfast but did not try but was told it's pretty basic. The only issue I have is the restaurant is closed during lunch. Don't understand why when you know all rooms are occupied with people from the wedding. We drove about a mile and half away and found lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cusip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A wonderful surprise in the hills of Carmel valley. The rooms are clean and efficient. The outdoor firepit is a great place to sit with a glass of wine after a long day. The pool and pool bar are perfect and don't forget to order a mangler or strangler.. The bartenders were great and the hotel front desk staff very helpful. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: A room closer to the restaurant/pool area makes it very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have stayed here twice now - it's inexpensive and in a wonderful location just a short drive from Carmel Valley Village with its excellent restaurants and winery tasting rooms. The lodge is a former ranch; the restaurant is in what was the main home and the rooms are in various outbuildings around the property. Overall, the property is beautiful – classic California valley feel – great views of the mountains and the rugged terrain. The rooms are small and the furnishings are not fancy, but for the price it’s fine. The rooms in what used to be the stables are really nice - cozy with old wood walls and floors. The breakfast is marginal; we went to the village for a real breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms that are in the former stables are small but charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blairhankins33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
0.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
329 reviews
9.6 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
6.5 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
654 reviews
10.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carmel Valley Lodge
Carmel Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carmel Valley
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Laureles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Laureles Lodge

Property: Los Laureles Lodge
Address: 313 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9415
Region: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Laureles Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Laureles Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Laureles Hotel Carmel Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing