We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and Knowledgeable Server”

Boekenoogen Winery Tasting Room
Attraction details
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent and Knowledgeable Server”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

great variety of wine tastings for your money. server was very nice and knew a lot about Boekenoogen wines.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent wine with advice from family members”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We had several wine tastings at various places, but Boekenoogen was much our favourite. It was a much more personal experience than the others, with family members who own and run the vineyard on hand to guide you through the various wines and grapes.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank CumbrianCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
180 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Hard to say, easy to love”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We visited Boekenoogen on a tip from strangers we'd chatted with over a wine tasting in Amador County. When they found out we were headed toward the Monterey Peninsula, they said, "Don't miss this one!" and spelled out the name so we would be sure to find it. We were welcomed by Candace and John onto the warmly inviting tasting room in the crossroads of Carmel Valley's village. They knew so much about the wines we were tasting, about their vineyard and vinification practices, and about wines in general that there wasn't a question that went unanswered. Being from Oregon's pinot noir country and fans of Burgundy's great pinots, we were unprepared to be so impressed by the depth, fruit, and balance of the pinot noirs they are producing nearby, and their Santa Lucia Highlands syrah was a dead ringer for the wines of Vacqueyras that we seek out when we want a heavier red. Although we came in expecting to pay the nominal $5 tasting fee and leave empty handed, our cellar now has half a case of Carmel wines that we will mete out for very special occasions over the next ten years.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank patandmaryjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel Valley, Ca.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This tasting room is not to be missed!”
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Carmel Valley resident who takes our tasting rooms for granted... stopped by for a bottle and was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of these wines. Holly was most informative and pleasant...You will enjoy her and her expertise. I will make sure I encourage all my friends and tourists to make time and treat themselves to wines that are worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Silverseas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“BOEKENOOGEN HARD TO SAY EASY TO DRINK”
Reviewed 30 December 2009

This newcommer is going places with their 2007 chardonnay with 94+ points. All the wines are fantastic. the outside patio with tables and chairs is a great place to sample wine, with your refill needs attended to by very attentive and knowledgable host Holly Boekenoogen.I highly reccommend this wine, and tasting room.NO SNOBINESS HERE!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank piratemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boekenoogen Winery Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to Boekenoogen Winery Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing