We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If You Are a Foodie, You Gotta Go!”
Review of Marinus At Bernardus Lodge - CLOSED

Marinus At Bernardus Lodge
Price range: US$35 - US$50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Laureles Grade
Clayton
Level Contributor
169 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“If You Are a Foodie, You Gotta Go!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We didn't stay at Bernardus Lodge, but wanted to try Marinus for dinner. The service level and food knocked our socks off! Now my wife wants to stay at Bernardus Lodge for the entire experience. Warning, the lodge and dinner are not inexpensive. The lodge does have a small grill room where inexpensive fare for lunch can be had. But if you are celebrating a special event I highly recommend you consider Marinus for dinner. Sit back and let the staff pamper you and your guest(s). We were so impressed we've decided we don't need a special event to warrant our return

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dokepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    19
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Experience - Book the Kitchen Chef Table!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Sit and watch the kitchen at work for a once in a lifetime experience! We booked ahead for the small table in the "Alcove of the Stars" (will explain below) directly in the Kitchen and had a fabulous meal and experience. Chef Cal is fantastic and put together a special birthday celebration meal for us. We had a tasty 8 courses that seemed to top each prior course. Chef Cal walked us through the courses. Paul the sommelier was great and did a fantastic pairing with each course and even tailored a few special tastes after we talked about some of the wine varieties. I personally loved the Reisling for a change and a good pairing. Thanks also for the special Sauternes! We were treated to a special Carmel Spot Prawn which was in season and local catch. The Red Beet and Green Apple soup course was a favorite. The Sonoma Duck and Wagyu Beef portions were prepared to perfection. Holly served us all night and did a fantastic job reading our minds at every move. It was great fun sitting close to the prep tables and chatting with the Sous Chef and watch how they prepare and present each dish for the restaurant. We felt like part of their family and they really made us feel special and welcome. We ended with a Cremeux with spiced Hot Chocolate. This was one of the best Hot Chocolates I have tasted. I hear it is a favorite and on the regular menu also so it is a must try. The pastry chef was great as well. Lastly, make sure to ask about the history of the Chef Table. You will notice all the graffiti and signatures on the wall behind you. Many greats have sat there and enjoyed a meal with Chef Cal. I loved seeing the Julia Childs, Clint Eastwood and Leonardo DiCaprio graffiti among many others. Just a one of a kind experience with a top chef and top kitchen!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The food was fantastic and every little attention to detail was taken care of. Great staff without being to intrusive. We loved the local wine selection and use of local food and produce. We highly recommend this dining experience even if you are not staying at the resort.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
286 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Marinus is Still Magnificent”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was my 3rd visit in the last 8 years and arguably the best. I had heard that the lodge and restaurant but not the winery, had recently changed owners and was somewhat apprehensive. Not to worry. The new owners have apparently left all the keys to Marinus's success in place -- Chef and his fresh menu's, Somm, wait staff, and the lovely ambiance of the room. all w unchanged. Food and wine service were impeccable. We had our own wines and shared with the Somm, admired greatly his wine list as well.
To the food: after the gespacho amusee we started with fresh oysters, Then to salads - beet salad and Parmesan with local greenns salad. A mid course of risotto with porcini's. Entre's of Maryland soft shell crab and Sonoma duck. Desserts chocolate decadence and cheese. we can say truthfully this was an awesome meal with "not a hair out of place"! We hope the new owners remember if it ain't broke,,,,,,

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aresverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Prime Celebration Dining”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Bernardus Lodge's attentive concierge support secured our belated anniversary celebration at "Marinus".

We were seated at the center window-side table, affording us a pleasant view of the formally romantic dining room and our interesting fellow diners (one pair of whom should really have stayed in their room that night). Night time dining precluded any view of the exterior vista.

Chef Cal Stamenov's prime seasonal offerings were flavorful, well plated, and generously portioned. Service was well paced and attentive for the most part.

To our delight, we were gifted after dinner with a specially printed, ribbon-tied custom Commemorative Menu scroll of our personal dining selections from the Chef's Tasting Menu that night, together with their finely-paired companion wines.

To sojourn well at Bernardus is also to dine well at Marinus, and the costs are surely most well worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marinus At Bernardus Lodge also viewed

 
Carmel Valley, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing