We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great deal”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey, United States
1 review
“great deal”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great place, rooms are nice, equipped with everything, price is right. Not luxurious by any standards but great for what was needed. The staff was helpful and courteous, nice to be in nature and get away from the hectic pace.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MlR135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    113
    24
    16
    21
See reviews for
64
186
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

this is our first trip in carmel valley but certainly not the last.
As great as big sur and a lot cheaper
This hotel have a great situation. Rooms are very confortablecwith all you need.
Price level ok. Situation excellentceasy to find and quiet.

Room Tip: Room 5 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momososo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Carmel Valley was a great location to explore this beautiful area. We were not disappointed with all aspects of the stay. Our room was beautifully clean and just as it was depicted on the website. The rooms are spacious and comfortable ours had patio doors to a small private area to relax outside with access to the pool and larger communal areas. There was a fridge and a coffee maker. There was also a tv but we could only get one channel but who needs to watch tv anyway! For some this may be a bit basic and the staff work hard to make everything pleasant but maybe some aspects could do with updating. Breakfast is taken in the main building in a very pleasant room and our hosts offer waffles, bagels, eggs and cereals with ample tea, coffee and orange juice. Slightly limited but there was Earl Grey tea so I was happy! (Maybe more fruit and some yoghurts would be nice). A nice touch is the complimentary wine and cheese from 5- 6pm. The first night we were the only ones who showed up. The second night there were a couple of other guests and the manager, Kirsten was also there to greet and chat to and she was great. We found it useful that they kept menus from the local restaurants available and there was plenty of choice for eating within walking distance. (Don't stop at the first one, the Corkscrew, but go to the Vineyard Bistro!). The staff were all very helpful with suggestions on where to go and how to get there. The German manager/owner was particularly helpful and friendly. We did meet a few other really friendly guests and it was enchanting to watch the hummingbirds whilst we had breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby uk
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The views,breakfast,hummingbirds ,staff and surrounding area were all lovely,the rooms are however a bit dated and the balcony and swimming pool area a disappointment. The free wine and cheese was a nice touch but very basic..just a cracker and slice of cheese. It did not compare to other hotels we stayed at and it was the most expensive we stayed at on our trip )

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

From check in to breakfast service, the staff was friendly, accommodating and professional BUT the rooms were terribly run down and in bad disrepair. The only exception to great service was the woman serving the reception at the check in office. She was so busy chatting with a male guest that she disregarded all other the guests. She was talking and laughing overly loud, and I saw several guests startled by her outbursts. In our room, the floor level heater warmed the room after a couple of hours, but there were electrical cords run over the heating element which did not look safe. There was no way to adjust the heat, it was either ON or OFF, so temperature could not be regulated. The screen was missing from the sliding door, the carpet was unraveled, the vinyl baseboards were not complete on the walls and the switch to turn off our bedside lamps did not work. We had to unscrew the light bulbs to turn off the lamps at bedtime which left exposed electrically "live" sockets. The mini-fridge was located in the closet, along with the coffee maker which is unacceptable. (I do not want my clothing to smell like coffee.) The wooden hangers in the closet were very old, and rough. One of my blouses was snagged by the very old and splintery wood. There were no thoughts for families traveling with children or seniors, as there were no offerings for non-drinkers at the evening reception other than water. The location was good, the staff was so kind, but the rooms are in drastic need of updating and safety review. Definitely NOT worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdI-Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper102, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
It was very hard to read this review. There is no need to say how upset we are that this guest left so unhappy. We are struggling a little with the extent of this complaint. It appears that absolutely everything was terrible. Of course we are not perfect and like any other property we have an ongoing maintenance program to take care of any needed repairs.The vast majority of our guest are very satisfied with their experience. We will continue with our maintenance and upgrading program to assure that our guest are provided with a clean and comfortable room during their stay.
Dirk Oldenburg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We came from England and stayed for 2 nights for our wedding Anniversary got lovely choc dipped strawberries left in our room. Staff and breakfast were wonderful. The hotel needs a bit of updating for the price especially the balconys they need screening for some privacy and the pool area needs tidying and cleaning. But overall we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The service at the Country Garden Inn was fantastic. It made up for any small negative aspects of the Inn. I felt like the staff really wanted us to have an enjoyable and relaxing time. The view of the mountains behind the Inn are gorgeous. There is a patio with an excellent view, where you can eat waffles or drink wine. Talk about relaxing. I would recommend spending the extra money and getting one of the better rooms. I went with the cheapest room available, and there was no bathtub, and the bed was a typical hard hotel bed. But I love the location of this Inn, and it's easy walking distance to wine tasting and excellent dining. It's also a 25 minute drive to downtown Carmel. I would recommend to a friend and I would stay again.

Room Tip: The service at the Country Garden Inn was fantastic. It made up for any small negative aspects of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxShores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
1.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
317 reviews
17.5 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,125 reviews
10.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Blue Sky Lodge
Blue Sky Lodge
#3 of 5 in Carmel Valley
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carmel Valley Lodge
Carmel Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carmel Valley
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Property: Hidden Valley Inn
Address: 102 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9573 (Formerly Country Garden Inns)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hidden Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All in-room amenities may not be available in every room. Please call the front desk for assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Garden Inns Hotel Carmel Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing