We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable rooms with everything you need.”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable rooms with everything you need.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had a fantastic stay. The rooms were spacious & the bathrooms had everything we needed. The outdoor pool area was relaxing & our room looked into the pool. The friendly service was next to none. We thoroughly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeePratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    113
    24
    16
    21
See reviews for
64
186
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were so pleased with our stay here. Having stayed in Carmel-by-the-Sea before, I wasn't sure what to expect of this Carmel Valley inn, but it was wonderful (and for a much more reasonable price than if we'd stayed by the sea). The room was clean, modern and spacious. The grounds are beautifully kept, including the pool (although we didn't use it, we enjoyed sitting by it). We especially enjoyed the breakfast, which is included. It is served in a beautiful dining area, and the food was plentiful and very good. The host was especially kind and provided wonderful service. We also very much enjoyed the evening social hour with excellent wine, and cheese and crackers. Each day we enjoyed our walk into the town for wine tastings and dinners. We will definitely be returning to Country Garden Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IleFille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nice, personal welcome.

Modern, clean rooms. Comfortable decoration and furniture.

Good bed, bathroom, wifi and pool. Great view from the well heated pool.

Hotel well located with at least two good eating options within minutes of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGordonChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This place has great service but is a bit expensive for the hotel room size and ambiance. The problem with the Monterey Bay area is a lot of hotels require 2-3 night minimum so this was our only choice. For the over 200$ I paid, I have had amazing rooms. If you have no other choice, it is nice and the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I never want to write a negative review, especially for a place that seems to try hard. Our experience turned sour due to the summer heat and communication errors of some sort between the front desk and the manager.

We arrived very early and the room was ready for us. A great start! We had upgraded to a King fireplace suite. Price point for this room should be around $150. Even that rate is too high. I was informed during check-in that there was no air conditioning in the room, but "not to worry" as it never gets “too hot” in Carmel Valley. Famous last words…

The room is cute and country bumpkin style. Not fancy, but comfortable enough. The fireplace is gas and not exciting. The room seems ready for a serious upgrade, but it was very clean. We entered the room and saw 2 fans running. Not ceiling fans, these were the type you buy for $25 and stick in the corner of the room. It was hot in the room. But no problem I thoughts, because we were heading out to drink, I mean “taste” some wine.

When we came back to the room a few hours later (4pm) the room was ridiculously hot. Maybe 90 degrees! All the windows were opened and the fans were blasting full steam ahead. It was miserable. I called the front desk and asked if the room would cool down at some point and I was told yes it would. (It did not cool down until around 8 or 9pm.)

With the room being so hot, we needed to drink water. Unfortunately, the water coming from the sink was hotter than the room. Cold and hot sides were boiling hot. I mean boiling. We had no water to drink. Another phone call to the front desk was made. We were told by the front desk that they would call us back. They never did. (We ended up using ice from the ice machine to try and cool down the water to drinking temperature)

Carmel Valley is basically a wine tasting area. You would think there would be a wine opener in the room. There was not. Another call to the front desk and I was told I could grab one during the wine and cheese hour at 5pm. (From the rooms to the lobby, there is a VERY steep hill to climb, be aware of that.) The wine and cheese hour is basically just to review menus of local restaurants to make a reservation for dinner. There is not one single delivery place in town, you so either have to go out and eat, or bring something back. Do not plan on ordering in. Bummer.

After zero return phone calls from the front desk/manager, and still 90 degree heat in the room and no water to drink, my wife became so overwhelmed and frustrated, she made the trek up the hill herself, to find the manager. She came back with the manager herself and it turns out the manager thought we were in another room and tried calling there etc. She tried her best to make things right with us, but at this point, we had had enough. We just wanted to leave. (We eventually made a deal with the manager and we decided to stay and not pack up and leave.) We figured that the room would cool down soon enough, and we could try and enjoy the rest of the stay.

The room did cool down eventually. And it got COLD. Really cold. We had to use the heater. Talk about swing in temperature! The bed was not horrible and we slept.

Breakfast at the Inn started at 8am. (We were up at the crack of dawn, starving, and had to wait until 8am to eat.) Breakfast I thought was really well done. We hiked up the huge incline at 8am. We were 100% happy with what they offered and the set up itself. The manager, instead of spitting in our food, genuinely seemed sorry for the issues we had to deal with prior. She apologized left and right. If it was not for her, this review would be really, really bad. But she helped turn it around for us. She did her best.

Wifi is included here. I like that. The pool was small but “fairly” clean. I looked everywhere for a jacuzzi, but could not find one. Most tasting rooms are a short walk down a dangerous road. If you are going to walk, know that cars will be flying by you within 5 feet at 45 MPH. Probably best to avoid walking after dark. I recommend stopping by the Boekenoogen for the Syrah.

We will not be back to this property unfortunately. They really need to be more apparent about the rooms not having air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Baronent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a lovely time, originally booked four nights, We loved the place hence booked an additional 3 nights. We think it's a perfect location for exploring Carmel, Monteray and Big Sur areas, because you can spend time relaxing in the warm sunshine 25c by the pool if you want to, and these places are just a short drive down the road. If we had stayed in Carmel we wouldn't have been able to relax as much because of the fog and cold 16c temperatures. I would have been so disappointed.

I enjoyed our rooms, the beds were really comfortable, nice linen, lovely soft pillows and towels, spacious, nicely decorated and furnished. The photos on the website doesn't do them justice.

We really enjoyed our breakfast each morning, the coffee and waffles were very good. And we throughly enjoyed the social evenings we attended, met some interesting people and enjoyed the complimentary cheese and wine, a very nice touch we thought. Sitting on the balcony in the last of the evening sunshine was wonderful.

I have to say that all of the staff that we met were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, they do a great job.

We also, on the recommendation of Katherine, had some lovely meals out, 3 in the village, plus Mission Ranch and Rocky Point.

I shall remember my holiday at hidden valley as one of the good ones.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 791Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We enjoyed a beautiful 4th of July wedding weekend in Carmel Valley. Our guest came from near and far to this lovely destination. Most stayed in the Valley at The Hidden Valley Inn and the Acacia lodge. We all enjoyed the lodging, the fresh waffles at breakfast, the accomadating staff and the friendly atmosphere. Thank you for playing a part in our family celebration.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
1.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
317 reviews
10.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,641 reviews
17.5 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
10.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Sky Lodge
Blue Sky Lodge
#3 of 5 in Carmel Valley
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Property: Hidden Valley Inn
Address: 102 W Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9573 (Formerly Country Garden Inns)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hidden Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All in-room amenities may not be available in every room. Please call the front desk for assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Garden Inns Hotel Carmel Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing