We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Side Dinning”

Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front and Center
Transit: All local bus lines drop off and pick up in front of Gar Woods Grill & Pier
Description: Since 1988 Gar Woods Grill & Pier has been the premier North Lake Tahoe waterfront dining destination. Located in Carnelian Bay, our floor to ceiling windows, large deck and balconies provide breath-taking views of Lake Tahoe and the Sierras. Gar Woods Grill & Pier is an upscale casual restaurant that accommodates groups of 160 just as easily as groups of 2. Our Chef has created a menu highlighting California cuisine, hand cut steaks and fresh Pacific seafood, served in our fun in the sun atmosphere. The wine list is a collection of California's best-known vintners featuring more than a dozen wines by the glass. Enjoy Tahoe's warm summer days sitting on our waterfront deck while sipping on a world famous Wet Woody. With nearly two million sold you'll be in good company but come early to get a seat. When visiting during the ski season thaw out in front of our three story tall river rock fireplace with a Warm Woody or a Heavenly bottom. Lake Tahoe sunsets are our specialty.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lake Side Dinning”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We sat down to a beautiful sunset view of Lake Tahoe. Our waiter Wesley was excellent in informing us of the items on the menu. The service was very good and food came out in a timely manner. All of the dinners were cooked to perfection. Looking forward to returning to a relaxings dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank photojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    175
    65
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect...from start to finish”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 20th Anniversary Dinner at Gar Woods on advice from a friend and from Tripadvisor reviews....and we were still blown away by the experience. We started with a specialty margarita and of course their famous Wet Woody at the bar. We were going to eat outside on the lovely deck, but it was a touch cool that evening and only one other couple was eating outside, so we ate inside at the window (but they have heaters on deck). Everything we ate was absolutely delicious. We split a very large house salad, which was to die for, with candied walnuts and feta. the steak and pork entrees were phenomenal. And the chocolate bread pudding was the best bread pudding I've ever had in my life. Better yet, that was on the house as our server wished us a happy 20th. The view, music, service, food, ambience was unmatched in our 5 night stay in Tahoe/Reno. If we make it back to Tahoe, we'll definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoranTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
1 review
“AVOID AVOID AVOID”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Avoid this restaurant unless you like bad food way overpriced and poor service. After 3 trips to Grand Cayman and not having one bad meal this place came as quite a shock it was so bad. Nice view of the lake but that's it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Went 2 days in a row”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We really liked the food, drinks and view/atmosphere here. It is very pricey. Both days lunch was over 80$ for cheeseburgers a few beers and 2 of their famous woodys. Service isn't great but we went back bc the food was very good and the view and boat ride there was worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RomaTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great casual restaurant spot on Lake Tahoe”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We ate at Gar Woods for lunch over Labor Day weekend. The restaurant has a casual atmosphere and great views of Lake Tahoe. The menu had something for everyone, and the food and service were excellent. Everyone appeared to be having a great time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 853kathrynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing