We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experience dining on patio”

Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front and Center
Transit: All local bus lines drop off and pick up in front of Gar Woods Grill & Pier
Description: Since 1988 Gar Woods Grill & Pier has been the premier North Lake Tahoe waterfront dining destination. Located in Carnelian Bay, our floor to ceiling windows, large deck and balconies provide breath-taking views of Lake Tahoe and the Sierras. Gar Woods Grill & Pier is an upscale casual restaurant that accommodates groups of 160 just as easily as groups of 2. Our Chef has created a menu highlighting California cuisine, hand cut steaks and fresh Pacific seafood, served in our fun in the sun atmosphere. The wine list is a collection of California's best-known vintners featuring more than a dozen wines by the glass. Enjoy Tahoe's warm summer days sitting on our waterfront deck while sipping on a world famous Wet Woody. With nearly two million sold you'll be in good company but come early to get a seat. When visiting during the ski season thaw out in front of our three story tall river rock fireplace with a Warm Woody or a Heavenly bottom. Lake Tahoe sunsets are our specialty.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fun experience dining on patio”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Doesn't get much better than this! A sunny day in late October, fabulous views of the water from the patio, great margaritas and good wine selection by the glass. Staff was very accommodating when we got to hot in the direct sun so they put up the giant fourteen foot umbrellas to make us cooler and more comfortable. Fresh, delicious food followed. I had the fresh fish special of the day and my husband had fresh fish tacos. We totally enjoyed both. We took a walk after lunch on the shore and my husband cut his hand throwing a stick. We went back to the front desk to see if we could get a bandaid. The hostess ran all the way upstairs to get us one. All around wonderful people and experience. Great memory-builder!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    171
    63
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dinner and Drinks”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband had a steak Cobb salad and I had the fish special. My drink was very good as well as the non-alcoholic beer they served.There is a bar and dining room. This is a large restaurant and the view from the patio must be beautiful when the weather is warm.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank like2Ctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felton, California
Level Contributor
741 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Nice Lake View”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Outdoor seating allows for a good view of the lake and adjacent beach area. Very busy place. My fish entrée was mediocre but my mates said their food was very good. Can be noisy. Lots of parking because they need it. Pricey!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice locale for a rehearsal dinner”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I came here for a rehearsal dinner. Breathtaking view! The party rooms upstairs are really pretty and are all glassed in. We were served wine or their signature drink, which I forget the name of but was a crazy strong (and good) frozen drink. They were able to make "virgin" versions for the non-drinkers as well.

They started with a selection of cheeses and crackers with baguettes, some hummus and a few other things. It was ok. The baguette was kind of stale.

The salad served was delicious! The dressing, goat cheese, and spiced nuts were a great touch. Very enjoyable.

I got a vegetable pesto pasta for my entree. It was just ok - but had a bunch of huge artichoke hearts and very little pasta in it. I didn't eat much.

The ice cream with berries was a perfect ending. It was a local ice cream and the flavor showed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubyiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Our visit was not as successful as many others”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a large party here recently. I think we were 26 or so. The service people were excellent and beverage service went off without a hitch. Dinner service was also excellent but the food left something to be desired. Our three entree selection included an ahi dish that was very much below par. The ahi was advertised as rare but it was actually cold inside. In addition, it was not close to sushi grade as it had lots of tough membranes in it. All who selected this dish were unhappy with it. The view, of course, is world class. I rate the large group experience as very good because of the service and ambience and the fact that we had a room upstairs for ourselves.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank troutbum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Gar Woods Grill & Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing