We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Clean, Tidy”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

For those who dont know, NEVER walk in and pay, ALWAYS book on line, even if its an hour before you arrive. We had no choice but ended up paying almost DOUBLE the on line rate!

The place is clean, tidy and has plenty of free parking. The pool looked very inviting altho we didn't have time to use it. One gripe, its usual policy for this firm to provide only one pillow. At home I have three and despite my reqests, they said they couldn't help. Have neck ache this morning!!!!

There are no refridgerators but you will get a modern room with flat screen tv.

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows on arrival!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    70
    59
    43
    37
See reviews for
68
85
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here for one night as it was a cheaper alternative to staying in nearby Santa Barbara. Our room was spotless and we slept very well. We drove to Santa Barbara for dinner which was about 15-20 minutes away. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleHazeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Horrible experience. The room was absolutely beautiful; looked just like the photo's on the website.
I'd requested a quiet room as I was traveling with my son who suffers from a mental illness. I was clear about what I needed in the note section of my reservation.

When my son & I arrived to our room close to 10p (room 269), turned back the sheets, there was what appeared to be big, grain of rice. When I picked it up I realized it wasn't a piece of rice at all. IT WAS A DEAD MAGGOT. I was mortified & so was my son.

The man at the front desk offered to move us, but continued to tell me not to mess up the room we were looking to rest in (room 107). Talk about awesome service. My 12 year old ended sleeping with me for the three days we stayed in the hotel. His full bed sat empty the entire trip. We spent three days checking the sheets, because we were paranoid. Had I not booked the hotel in advanced through 3rd party, we would've stayed else where. Oh, can't forget about the hair we found in our towels & the extremely loud people above us. Sound like kids running & jumping at midnight. Oh & the drunk that tried getting in our room at 2am; guess he was lost. Oh & the charge for internet service. You'd think they'd waive the $2.99 charge.

If you love awful guest service, maggots in your bed, loud people, and hair in your towels, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carpinteria hotels

Southern California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The area around the motel is great. It is about a mile from the beach. We visited the seal sanctuary which was great. There were many newborn pups there and they looked like they were getting swimming lessons from their mothers. There was a docent there to answer questions.

The motel was good especially for the price.

Pros:

1) Area great
2) Good price
3) clean
4) fun modern interior (I liked the fake wood floor since it seemed cleaner than carpet)
5) The interior reminded me of a trip to Europe where we stayed in the motel owned by the same parent company.
6) Check in staff very nice and helpful
7) Quiet at night (I asked for a quiet room). I could hear some road noise though starting at 7am.
8) Large parking lot

Cons:
1) The blankets were very thin and I was very cold. I turned on the heater but I kept having to adjust it all night
2) The railings needed some paint but this is minor.

Overall I liked the motel and will return when I visit the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Buff29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We always check in here when we go to carpinteria for the weekend. We were here jan 2012 and now have second thoughts about staying here again. When i turned down the sheets to get in bed, i found questionable stuff in the sheets. Ok, i'm being too nice. There were spots of feces. Human, animal, i don't know. I rushed to the office and reported it. Luckily, the manager was there and heard my complain. He was very apologetic and professional. Issue was resolved, but i don't think i'll come back again. So gross.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street is quieter than most rooms. Not too busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azpam16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had reason to travel to the Santa Barbara area twice in the past year, both at the last minute. This was our first visit to the area and when we made reservations for our first trip, it was high season. Not only were choices limited but what was available was very expensive. It was with trepidation that we decided to try this Motel 6 in Carpinteria. We were very pleasantly surprised. In July of 2011 we stayed for a week with two rooms and this past February we stayed for another 10 days with one room. After spending that much time at the property, we got a true feel for it's value. Honestly, for the money, you just can't beat it. It's not fancy but it is a solid property and much more pleasant than one would expect from a Motel 6. The first time we stayed on the first floor overlooking the courtyard and pool and stepping out of our room each morning was liking stepping out into a garden with all the plants around the pool. The second time we stayed upstairs, again overlooking the courtyard, because of a little bit of noise from the upstairs room the first time. I wish we'd stayed downstairs and kept "our" garden. The motel is well-staffed so that the grounds are kept well cleaned everyday. The rooms were renovated about 4 years ago and make pretty efficient use of space with a modern flair. The flat panel TV is set into the wall with a panel of jacks to hook up a DVD player or laptop. My only complaints would be that the rooms can be a bit stuffy as a result of the building's originally design and the bedspreads tend to show old stains regardless of the number of washings--they need to dump them and pick something else. We kept our window open as far as it would go (about 8") the entire time, even on 40 degree nights. Our first room had a problem with the a/c dripping water onto the floor and they immediately moved us two doors down. Despite the language barrier with the housekeeping staff, they were very pleasant and helpful, always willing to accommodate requests with a smile. Carpinteria is about 15 minutes to SB on the highway (without traffic) but we found the area very charming and much more low key. It seems like every East-West Road ends with the entrance to the beautiful beach. Check out the walking trails off of Carpinteria Avenue, south of the hotel. Walk out to the cliffs and then head north to the overlook point where the seals come in every night--be there at sunset. Rent bikes across the street (and just north) of the hotel. We didn't do this, but Carpinteria seems very bike friendly. Check out the beach in Summerland on your way to SB, and take a drive through Montecito on route 192 (I think) that will take you up to SB. We ran into several repeat visitors at the Motel 6 who obviously know the value of this little gem, including several people who were driving new Mercedes who apparently know how to squeeze a dime.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwofromMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

After getting stiffed in santa barbara, over priced and dirty room, I wont mention the place, we looked for something better. Never been to carpenteria, but we discovered a wonderful town with great biking opportunities, worlds safest beech, restaurants, shops, and THE BEST MOTEL 6 EVER! Read the previous reviews. There is a reason this place is 80% sold out! I had the best sleep of my life, room was clean, hot shower, flat screen. We will be back!!! Try the thai restaurant for dinner and the cajun kitchen for breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skykingd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carpinteria
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
322 reviews
7.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
16.2 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South

Property: Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South
Address: 5550 Carpinteria Ave, US 101 North at Bailard Avenue, Carpinteria, CA 93013-1424
Region: United States > California > Carpinteria
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South Hotel Carpinteria
Motel 6 Carpinteria
Motel Six Carpinteria
Carpinteria Motel Six
Carpinteria Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing