We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management turned this into a winner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Reviewed 6 August 2013

When we first arrived during the very crowded fiesta time, we found ourselves in a handicapped accessible room with two double beds for two adults and two teens. Obviously, this was going to be tight, so we asked for an additional room. Luckily, we were able to get one, and eventually we were moved to two adjacent rooms by the pool. The rooms open up to each other so we now have lots of space, and two bathrooms. The management and front desk workers make this hotel a real treat, and the cleaning crew is fantastic. I would highly recommend this motel, which surprises me more than anyone! They also have laundry services here, which is much appreciated. Plus, they are pet friendly and they have wifi for purchase at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desertminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Obviously one should not expect a ton of amenities at a 1 or 2 star hotel - so don't expect a hair dryer, a box of tissues or anything fancier than that... However, it is not wrong to expect a clean and quiet place to sleep and that is what you'll get at this Motel 6.

First impression is that the grounds are beautifully kept and the hotel looks very nice inside and out. There is a beautiful pool and an ice machine and plenty of parking... which is about as good as it gets for the money. Not to mention as well -- the hotel is within walking distance of a Starbucks, a grocery store, a drug store and several restaurants --- OH and the beautiful Pacific Ocean to boot!

Carpenteria is a beautiful little town and it's very close to Santa Barbara.

My one complaint is that they do double their prices on the weekends so you will be paying more than you should for a Motel 6 -- but it's summer time so it is what it is if you want to get away for the weekend.

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking for a second floor room with a view of the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurenantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We usually stay here where we are visiting family and their family has filled the house to overflowing. We have never had a problem with bugs, and the room and linens have always been clean. True, there are no dressers, but what are suitcases for, and you are usually only there over one night, or in and out going to the beach daily. The bed, this time was a little lumpy, but it was okay once we found our niches. If you want luxury stay somewhere else, this is no frills but we stay there just to lay our heads down at night. The pool is nice, clean, and roomy. Like I said, no frills, just a clean, quiet place to stay at a reasonable price for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Look, it's a motel 6 so it exceeded my expectations: clean, modern rooms, nice pool and the girls at front were VERY helpful as we had booked several rooms for a family reunion and it was imperative that my mom, who has serious health issues, stay on the bottom floor. All the rooms were on the first floor, most were next to each other by the pool next which was great for the kids! Downside: the beds were pretty stiff/uncomfortable, very sparse rooms, smallish towels and just a tiny bar of soap, very little storage space.
Look, if you are on a budget (***please note-your probably going to have a tough time finding anything else under $150/night in the summer in this area) And want to get away for a few days -this motel 6 is a good choice. It's also a short walk to the main part of town ( shopping, albertsons, ihop, rite sid, star bucks, cute little cafes, etc. ) about a 15-20 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grounds and well kept up rooms and buildings. Only a 10-15 min drive to downtown Santa Barbara and close to beaches. Rooms were recently updated and clean. All the basics are there for you but the towels were tiny!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jadeeladeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The room was unbearably sparse. The mattress was squeaky metal coils on a flat board. No dresser, no nightstand, no clock, not even tissue! I had to get toilet paper from the bathroom. You must live out of your suitcase. Two pillows, that's it, so if you want to read in bed ... no. And at $126 plus tax, came to just over $140, you expect a little more comfort orBASIC amenities than that. (Forget about a little bottle of shampoo or a "bigger than a sliver" piece of soap with which to to shower. They're not there.)
Less important, but notable, was the awful mish mash of colors like a bad college dorm.
I give more than one star because the room was clean, though trash was spilling out of the trash cans around the property.

Room Tip: interior rooms facing the pool. The others face the freeway and/or parking lot
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Jamie M - We apologize for your unsatisfactory experience; thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will take it into account as we work to improve our guests’ experience with us. Please consider contacting our guest relations department to report your experience with us: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Tiny rooms, hard beds, hideous decor. The rooms are decorated extremely modern, not my taste but ok. No elevator and rude front desk staff. It will be fine just to sleep and leave. Next time I will try the holiday inn express next door.

Room Tip: Skip it and stay next door.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M&MB_Phx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carpinteria
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
14.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
10.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
355 reviews
7.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South

Address: 5550 Carpinteria Ave, US 101 North at Bailard Avenue, Carpinteria, CA 93013-1424
Region: United States > California > Carpinteria
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Price Range: £57 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South Hotel Carpinteria
Motel 6 Carpinteria
Motel Six Carpinteria
Carpinteria Motel Six
Carpinteria Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing