We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no one really seemed to care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“no one really seemed to care”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

the tile in the bathroom was crumbling and the wallpaper was peeling up, the hallway carpet was fraying and thin, we were never able to get our card keys to work in the room door without getting them reset by the front desk staff (who always had some reason why it was our fault), the walls were so thin that my daughter and i were treated to the loving exclamations of the couple next door all night, and there was only one thin blanket (but six really huge and overstuffed pillows) on the hard and lumpy beds. but mostly, no one really seemed to care about anything. finally, i accidentally left my custom cowboy boots in the room, and they claim that "they didn't find them there."

Room Tip: freeway close means noisy, but when i asked for a room 'away from the freeway' they just sai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarpinn, Manager at Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Lynn B,

Thank you for sharing your comments in regards to your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 805-684-0473.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    331
    168
    83
    48
See reviews for
269
326
49
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Paper thin walls, my kids and I were able to hear people having sex in the room next to us. To our surprise we saw the General Manger come out of the room after the noise stoped. We were able to smell the marijuana the minute she opened the door. During my stay I call her and stoped at the desk several times to talk to her but of course she was never available.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had stayed here six years ago and the bed was very uncomfortable but decided to try it again while visiting family. Things have changed and the bed and linens were wonderful. I booked on Priceline and they promised a courtyard room but the hotel, I guess, reserves them for the guests who book through their system. The young man who checked us in did his magic and we got a courtyard room, bless his sweet heart, even though the hotel was almost full. The cleaning staff did a great job, I don't think I've stayed in a cleaner room in many years. The room was very quiet with no noise from other rooms. Great towels and shower head too. I'm sure the changes are all do to good management. They have also opened the restaurant for breakfast and lunch as well as dinner and although we didn't use it my husband had coffee there every morning and was very quite happy with it, no small thing. We will be staying there on our future trips as it's much nicer than the Holiday Inn in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor away from the 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigblueprescottaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Landing, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The hotel has a lovely presentation, is clean and modernized. Noise was our biggest issue. The highway noise was nothing compared to the noise from the room above us (we were on the first floor). The floor/ceiling had no sound barrier and we heard every creaking footstep. Unfortunately, the person in the room up there was up most of the night walking back and forth. You could also hear the headboard squeaking against the wall. The water up there ran for nearly an hour and the water pipes would give off a high whistle sound. This all went on past 1:00 AM when we tried to call the front desk and got no answer. Additional noise came from the heater in our room.

When we first arrived the front desk staff was very professional but not exceptionally friendly. When we arrived at our room we discovered there were only 3 bath towels (no hand or face towels) for the 4 of us. We went to the front desk and asked for more. They said they ran out and would not have any for a few more hours but would have some sent to our room. None arrived that evening so we had to call in the morning and they were delivered immediately.

There was also no shower curtain when we first arrived but that did get delivered and installed immediately after we called. There also was no working fan in the bathroom ceiling.

Lastly, breakfast was not included with the room.

Although there were many minor negatives (most were responded to) we would consider staying there again but would be sure to ask for a top floor room (there are 3 levels).

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicali, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This little hotel is beautiful. They have a big mural paint on the lobby, the staff is very friendly. We got a double queen room for one night, around $120USD and didn't include breakfast, so it's a little bit pricey but it is a very cute place to stay. On thing I notice was the floor on the upper level move a bit while walking and that felt strange. Our room had a common balcony that other three rooms had access too (that I didn't like much but I didn't see anybody else in the balcony on the time we spend there).

Our room had the outside view (parking lot view) so we where able to check on the car at a simple glance. The rooms that have an inside view (porch view), however, get to see the beautiful garden this hotel has.

The room itself was big and clean, with a plasma TV. The bathroom was spotless.

If I ever come back to Carpinteria, will def. look for this little hotel.

Room Tip: If you are paranoid about your car ask for a room that look to the parking lot. If you rather enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leobasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Hollywood, CA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just spent 1 night at the Carpinteria Inn. Cute, clean hotel in a quiet beach neighborhood. Next to the 101 freeway, easy to get to, clean room and nice bed. Wanted to stay in Santa Barbara, but way to expensive, so this hotel is about 10-15 minutes outside of SB. Perfect, price was better for a girls weekend of shopping. I would stay here again. Would be great during the summer time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgrs2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed here on business for one night, and would gladly have stayed longer. This property definitely has more sight appeal than 90% of hotels. The lobby has tasteful mural art, the entrance driveway has a striking circular pattern of tiles, and the outside walls are studded with rancho-style lighting. My room faced the inner courtyard, which has a pleasant fountain and I appreciated the tall plants separating 'my' area from the area in from the other rooms. The room was quite nicely furnished, the bed was very comfortable, and the property was quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geogal1671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carpinteria
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
11.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
9.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
16.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
9.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn
Address: 4558 Carpinteria Avenue, Carpinteria, CA 93013-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carpinteria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carpinteria Hotel Carpinteria
Carpinteria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing