We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made us feel welcome from check in to check out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Made us feel welcome from check in to check out.”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was our second time at the HI Express in Carp. The front desk and service staff were always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and equipped with coffee maker, microwave, and mini fridge. We used a roll-away bed two night when our son joined us and there was plenty of room. It's very close to shopping and restaurants. But Linden Ave is a bit of a walk.
We're going back in Dec and already booked our room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Odd side overlook Carpinteria Ave the low 200's are best the even side faces the 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packngo205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    139
    56
    21
    16
See reviews for
123
96
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

About 20 mins south of Santa Barbara, was surprised that it was $250 a night (but then it was July 4th weekend and everything in SB was 300-350) Hot continental b/f, good rooms, we had a good stay. Driving back and forth was not that enjoyable though

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear foobar1973,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted about your positive comments with your stay, specifically the rooms. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We value your comments and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We loved this hotel. The staff is very courteous, the rooms are amazing. We just stayed for a night there, but would definitely recommend it and go back. It is 10 minutes away from Santa Barbara, which is definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jafm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mensign, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your stellar review of our hotel! Carpinteria is a great alternative to staying in Santa Barbara proper. Our town is unique, quiet, friendly, and definitely more affordable than Santa Barbara. We have many one of a kind restaurants and shops, the most beautiful beach in California, and some great hiking trails on the bluffs overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel accessible right from our hotel parking lot. No need to drive! But if you must, Santa Barbara is a short 15 minutes away by car. We look forward to welcoming you back to Carpinteria soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed at HIE Carpinteria last night (Monday) for one night while visiting relatives who were renting a condo for the week at the beach. Have stayed at BW as well, so wanted to give a comparison review.

Holiday Inn Express, for us (my sister and I) was a better fit. It was also more expensive, though not by much. Surprised at the $167 rate for a Monday night, (AAA discount and all) but that was the deal. The rate would have been received better if the gentleman next to us, also checking in, wasn't given a corporate rate of $50 less per room, after asking for something lower.

Anyway, that's not the room point. The rooms are really nice. Newly upgraded, it seems, with great TVs, very light bathrooms, fresh carpet and linens and a plug next to the mirror in the bedroom so that one can dry their hair while the other takes a shower. Our room (255) had two queen beds plus a sofa bed, fridge, microwave, the works. It could have housed 5 people. The breakfast was good -- the usual stuff (bread, bagels, juice, fruit, plenty of hot eggs and sausage, yogurt) and the area was kept really clean. I think this location beats BW as you can easily walk to a shopping mall complete with Starbucks, a grocery store, a bank, pharmacy and many fast foods. Also, you can cross the busy street and walk over to the seal rookery or hike on the beach from the hotel. We felt very safe. Staff really nice. We asked for a quiet room and were given one facing Carpinteria Street versus the freeway. Really good sleep with an abundance of excellent pillows! Also, I think they take pets as we heard a dog barking next door (but not annoyingly so and not when we were sleeping).

FYI for out-of-state travelers -- Carpinteria is a shopping-bag-free city. If you do walk over to the grocery or pharmacy, bring your own shopping bags or a lot of friends/family or you will have to carry everything in your arms. Might be a topic for next tourism meeting.

Room Tip: Always ask for a quiet room if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohiofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mensign, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We think we are the best choice in Carpinteria too! Not to say there aren't some other good options, but we are newer, our rooms are larger, our breakfast more plentiful, and staff the friendliest in town. Yes, Carpinteria is a "bag free" city. There are reusable bags that can be purchased at the grocery stores, but that can be frustrating. Based on your comment we are getting a supply of reusable bags for our guests to use when shopping in our town. Return them for the next guest to use or take them home with our compliments. Very glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope you come back and visit us again very soon. Ask for your free reusable bag:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

FIrst time traveler to Santa Barbara. Went with kids and fiance. Looking at deals online, realized Santa Barbara hotels were expensive. Decided to look 15 minutes away to Carpinteria. Great area. Great hotel. Although I paid 130 a night, next door was Motel 6 @ 59 a night. I did however get a continental breakfast, heated pool, working jacuzzi, and was able to eat my breakfast air fresco and swim @ 8 in the morning. Very refreshing way to begin the day. Santa Barbara beach ok. Water was colder than Pismo it seemed. But loved the Spanish flare every corner I walked. Staff was nice and pleasant. Would go again, but I wouldn't be able to do without looking for discounts first. Believe it or not Hotel.com or cheap tickets did not give me the best deal. I went directly to their website and had AAA, their discount was better than the website offers. Rooms look exactly like the website. Fill up at ARCO up the road around the corner. Cheaper there than anywhere else.

Room Tip: Although my room was facing the freeway, I wasn't bothered by the noise at all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugalips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mensign, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Sugalips1,
We are very glad that you found our hidden little gem of a town with our family friendly vibe and great beach! Thanks also for choosing the Holiday Inn Express over some other choices you might have considered. Our larger rooms and free breakfast are definite pluses for families and our outdoor heated pool and whirlpool spa are a great refresher after a day out having fun. Please come and visit us again and tell your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

This was a nice hotel, very clean. Seemed newer or a newer remodel. It was extremely over priced. Was not really sure why it was so over priced considering the other hotels near it were half the price, and the neighborhood was not a high dollar place just average.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The tv in the room was a lil messed up.....the coloring was off and it was not something that was adjustable, but it was not to big of a deal considering there was to much to do. I also used the guest laundry, which was helpful. The coffee in the lobby was great, breakfast was great as well. Would stay here again if they lowered the price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mensign, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy you found our staff, facilities and services deserved high marks even if our pricing was high. Based upon the date of your review, I might assume that you stayed over the Memorial Day weekend which is one of our 4 or 5 highest rate weekends based upon the high demand we get during holidays. I hope you might get an opportunity to visit when business levels dictate a lower rate. Please let me know anytime I might be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

It is closed to Camarillo and very good location.
I feeled comfortable all through our staying at this hotel.
My room located far away from front area so it was not so convenient for us.
We feel a little high cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jalwaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mensign, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy that your visit was overall a positive experience. With a little notice we are happy to assign a room in advance that is closer to our front desk area or any other special request you might have. Our rates are typically lower mid-week, you might try to visit Sunday through Thursday. Better tables at local restaurants too! Hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carpinteria
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
10.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
10.6 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
Address: 5606 Carpinteria Ave, Carpinteria, CA 93013-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carpinteria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carpinteria
Holiday Inn Express Carpinteria
Holiday Inn Carpinteria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing