We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being Renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Being Renovated”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here on our way home because the Holiday Inn Express' offer such an extensive complimentary breakfast. We were given a newly remodeled room. The room smelled from the new furniture and carpet. We thought it would dissipate if we ran the fan and so we unpacked and settled in. Being tired from the drive we choose not to request another room. There was a problem in trying to get HBO on the TV because there was a separate cable box and two remotes but only the TV remote worked. When we asked the front desk about it we were told there was a problem with the cable to the room and it would not be fixed until the next day.

The next morning when we returned to our room from breakfast we realized just how strong the new carpet/furniture fumes were. We should have insisted on a different room. I mentioned this to the front desk on check-out (just as an FYI) and was offered a discount on out room which I appreciated. The newly remodeled room was very nice it just needs to airs out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Barbara V,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I was delighted to read that after some initial issues with your room, these were soon sorted and this allowed you to enjoy your stay with us. We will always endeavor to ensure that all our guests stays are comfortable.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    141
    57
    21
    16
See reviews for
127
98
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Came here for a lacrosse tournament at the Polo Grounds only 3 miles away and convenient, easy in and out freeway access still close enough to Santa Barbara; nearby shopping center. Our toilet overflowed but they offered another room. Comfortable beds, nice quick breakfast with protein on the menu. the have bath and body shampoos and conditioners

Room Tip: Room at the end of the hallway is closest to the parking to easily bring bags in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mensign, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear AmySD,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our hotel. We are working hard to make improvements to facilities and staff by way of a full renovation of the property and additional training in all departments. As we move into 2014, we are confident that we will be the preferred choice of visitors to Carpinteria and Santa Barbara. We hope you have another opportunity to visit us soon and certainly post renovation, expected mid to late March of next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The first room I was given reeked of smoke despite being a no-smoking room. The second room was fine and quiet, however a friend complained her room had too much noise from above to sleep through the night. If you are allergic to animals I saw no less than half dozen dogs in the hotel. The place was not overly clean and the goings on appeared a bit sketchy. Felt like a hotel in decline. That said, the service was good. I'd stayed her about year ago and it seemed a better place then.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AustinEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear EricF147,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am sincerely sorry that the room you were allocated did not meet your standards. Rest assured this will be addressed and I appreciate your feedback as this is our best means of improving. Despite this, it is good to know you found our staff's service to be excellent.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is by far the worst and the dirtiest HIE I have experienced in my life. First I was not informed of being in a pet room. The carpets were so dirty I had to throw away my socks. DO NOT STAY THERE you would be better off down the street at motel 6

Room Tip: not one in the whole place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank county02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mensign, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear HelenEldoradoIL,

I am very sorry to hear of the conditions you experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. We have inspected the room you occupied and have cleaned the carpet and done a thorough deep cleaning. We are a pet friendly hotel, but do restrict pets to one 1st floor wing of the hotel. We advertize as welcoming pets in a number of publications and web sites including our own. Because the week you visited was exceptionally busy (Avocado Festival week), I must assume that we had very limited availability of alternate rooms. Otherwise we would have been happy to relocate you to a room that better suited your needs. We have just begun a full renovation of our hotel, being done in sections. We look to a late February or early March, 2014 completion. I hope you will give us another opportunity to satisfy your needs once our renovation is complete. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and the chance to make improvements for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed here whilst traveling up from LA to San Fransisco. Wanted to see Santa Barbara and this was the closest hotel we could get in budget. It did all we need. The service was helpful in providing maps for Santa Barbara and some recommendations. Also some close by shops and the beach 10 minutes walk from the hotel is beautiful. Very good for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel does exactly what it promises. The rooms are comfortable, large and clean (although about to be totally refurbished), public areas are nice, and the hotel offers access to washing machines and tumble driers (massively appreciated on a short stay with insufficient time to send clothes to the hotel laundry!) The breakfast is a typically HI Express breakfast (fundamentally fine, but essentially very unnatural and made from the cheapest possible ingredients). Great overall value.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Got checked in for the weekend. The room is very spacious and the bathroom is spacious and has a vent (plus) but it makes more noise then venting. I hate when bathrooms don't have them.
We got a two-bed room although my husband and requested a kingbed. Oh well. We turned the AC on and quickly cooled the room once the AC was off the room continued to sound like the water was running through the pipes or something was tingling.. It was very annoying when your trying to sleep. The vent is dirty when you wake up you feel like you need an allergy pill.
The pillows are not comfortable either. Wifi is slow. Went down for breakfast before 9:30 and they didn't have anything, not even creamcheese for the bagel. One of the worst breakfast we've seen or had for a holiday inn express.
Maybe will return once this place is renovatated

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Kat S,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I apologize for the issues you encountered with the air conditioning unit and cleanliness of the room amenities. Your comments are important to us to ensure we are constantly focused on improving our service and we hope we can demonstrate to you our commitment to value and service.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. If your travel brings you to the area in the future, we hope you give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carpinteria
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carpinteria Inn
14.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
15.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Carpinteria South
10.6 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria
Address: 5606 Carpinteria Ave, Carpinteria, CA 93013-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carpinteria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carpinteria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carpinteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carpinteria
Holiday Inn Express Carpinteria
Holiday Inn Carpinteria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing