We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Burger Joint”
Review of Spot

Spot
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Carpinteria
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Toluca Lake, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Burger Joint”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

There is nothing glamorous about the Spot, just a shack that serves great food and shakes. The service is always fantastic and the although the line can be huge at times it is well worth the wait. Between the 10 of us we had hamburgers, chili burgers, all sorts of shakes, fries, taquitos and everything was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Huge selection of good food”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

There were 11 of us and everyone liked what they had. Between us we had fried clams - delicious, fried shrimp, burgers, and salads. The onion rings looked huge and yummy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamShetler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best burgers on the beach”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

There is a reason the Spot has been around for ages! It is such a fun place to go after a day on the beach! Burgers, fries, and shakes are our favorites!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great burgers in a beach town”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Stopped by on a recommendation from a friend. The burgers were excellent, and portions were large. Thought about ordering a double burger. I'm glad I didn't. Ordered two large fries for a family of four. One would have been perfect. Service was good, but wasn't as personable as we expected. The salsas and peppers were an unexpected surprise. Lunch with 4 cheeseburgers, 2 fries, and 2 sodas was under $30.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cotudiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good average food.”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

First time visit with someone who used to spend time in the summer at Carp as a child. The "retro look" is real. They have been around for 50 years, but my friend did remark how they have expanded and changed a bit over the years. The food was good, but nothing not found at dozens of similar spots near the beach along the California coast. I noticed all ages at 'indoor' and outdoor tables with several tables obviously multi-generational. Spot's is a place that becomes a tradition quickly; after all its near the beach. . . can't get better than that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bin2oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spot also viewed

 

Been to Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing