We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Karteros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Karteros
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karteros
Certificate of Excellence
bucharest
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Karteros is a nice hotel with clean,spacious rooms, nice pool with beds and umbrellas and near the pool you also have backgammon, ping-pong table etc.so you can't get bored. We had half-board and the food was excellent, the only bad thing is that if you are late a funny little man will argue with you in his own language :)
Near the hotel is a car rental with full car insurance more expensive than downtown, but those don't have full insurance. I think this is an important thing to do because we had a little accident, a greek hit our car and from that we hit the car in front of us, so we were very happy at that point and realise the importance of a full car insurance.
A tip: if you don't have a car you'll have to rent one to get downtown.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeatriceBianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    24
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
32
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
haifa israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

was a very good deal and this hotel recommended
The staff is excellent and finaly we enjoy our stay there for 7 days

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sc0647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landkey newland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

i was pleasantly surprised by this hotel,has all the facilities of a 4 xxxx hotel , we were both very satisfied with the hotel staff . and the food was something else- much better than what we have been used to in similar hotels.the closeness of the hotel to the beach made. it special for us.the bus facility which passes the front door enables one to get all over the island.i recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2009

The hotel is very nice and clean. It taes around 10 minutes to get to the Amnissos beach. Please notice that the area is not the cleanest one. There is a small supermarket near the hotel and an extremelly good local taverna - Krithiki Konaki with best lamb, musaka and dolmakia. Water is worm and clean. One can travel by local bus in any direction.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbelula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

My husband and I were looking for accommodation after arriving very late. The garden of the hotel and the pool area attracted us as well as the hospitality of the proprietor, Ilias. \the hotel is very clean, spacious and quiet.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnyandMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramat hasharon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

the good;
location: in Amnissos near airport bet. Heraklion and Herssonisos.
a nicely well maintained hotel.
rooms spacy enough with small balcony.
hotel designed in good & modest taste.
great sandy beach 500 m away.
a few nice inexpensive restaurants & supermarket closeby.
everything in room actualy works!:
running hot & cold water through modern faucets, clean sheets, adequately clean room, doors & locks & sanitaries & furniture all in new or good condition, no wall to wall carpets that pick and host dirt, safe in room (small extra charge), good AC, cute little pool, doubleglazed windows, small fridge in room.
Great helpfull staff - manager Ilya & reception Alex:
we received their "out of the box" help more than once!

needs fixing (still for a 3 star hotel):
breakfast could be better just by serving fresh bread (from nearby bakery), and by cutting the fresh vegetables just before breakfast lounge opens.
shampoo missing in rooms (only soap bars). not possible to double-lock room from inside.
but as one can understand these are quite trivial features compared to the advantages.
all in all a very good hotel for families & couples that either intend to rent a car (since it's bet. 2 central towns as written above) or want a less busy area.
tip: when checking in ask for sea view - must be lovely (unfortunately we missed that).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my wife just after I got married. The first 4 days where ok, we went to the beach in front of the hotel and discovered is good and not very crouded, specially in the morning, we went on a trip organised by the agency which was also ok, we tried to enjoy the food which was good looking but a little to heavy if you whant to stay in shape and not so diverse like other people here mentioned. The noise is indeed very annoing but on the other hand, when you are at the beach you can enjoy looking at close at the airplanes which are landing and taking off the airport which is very close to the beach and hotel.
Getting to the bad part of the trip, I must say that I was very unlucky since some of my things where stolen from my room at this hotel. But the really bad aspect was that it happened during the night with me and my wife inside the room sleeping and not hearing anything because of the noise of the airplanes. We where staying at the first floor and had a balcony. The nights are very hot there and the air conditioner is oriented to the bed in such a way that you can barely stand it all night long al the lowest cooling setting. So we decided to sleep with the door to the balcony open to keep the room cool and also the air fresh. So during the night before friday we where robbed of some money (lucky me I anticipated something like this and put the money in more than one place), the photo camera, the only mobile phone usable in greece, and all my papers. The papers where the most critical thing which was stolen because Karteros is on an island and no Romanian cosulate is there to give me some temporary paper to be able to get out of the country. Beeing friday, all the seats on the Faryboats where occupied and anyway the cosulate from Athens is closed during week-end. My departure flight was on monday and I didn't have much money left and no phone to use it to talk to the relatives back home to help me. I expected that at least the few phone calls made home to enable me to use the other sim card that I had with me in Greece not to be charged but they where.
The ending was that I had my other identification paper at home and I managed to have it sent to me saturday evening with a tourist from another travel agency in Bucharest, but with the good help of my travel agency.

  • Liked — The swimming pool from the garden of the hotel.
  • Disliked — The smell in the room and the high prices for drinks.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Mircea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karteros
0.1 mi away
Prince Of Lillies
Prince Of Lillies
#29 of 58 in Heraklion
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
AKS Minoa Palace
AKS Minoa Palace
#1 of 3 in Karteros
309 reviews
2.3 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#11 of 58 in Heraklion
398 reviews
6.2 mi away
Diogenis Blue Palace
Diogenis Blue Palace
#15 of 36 in Kato Gouves
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minos Village Hotel
Minos Village Hotel
#3 of 3 in Karteros
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karteros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karteros

Property: Hotel Karteros
Address: Old National Way | Amnissos Beach, Karteros, Crete 715 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Karteros
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karteros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Karteros 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well-appointed family hotel with sea views of Karteros Beach. Easy access to further exploration of Crete. Hospitable owners fluent in spoken English, German and Italian. Tariff includes breakfast and air-conditioning. Buffet dining is also available. The gardens include a pool and children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Karteros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karteros Hotel Amnissos
Hotel Karteros Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing