We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular view, beautiful sea, great house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Avali Family

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Avali Sea Resort
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Avali Sea Resort
Master bedroom  balcony view.
Relax with the view of the Ionian Sea by arranging chromatotherapy in the hydromassage
Master bedroom  balcony view.
Relax with the view of the Ionian Sea by arranging chromatotherapy in the hydromassage
Master bedroom 2
Avali Sea Resort
Villa Avali Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Karavadhos, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Russian first
Any
English first
antoniaja...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular view, beautiful sea, great house”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Avali family is as good if not better than it looks in the photos. We just couldn't believe how beautiful the view and sea were when we arrived and felt incredibly lucky to have booked it.The house is well equipped and comfortable with nice crisp fresh white sheets. We were two adults and two children aged 13 and 10 and we hardly sat inside but there was enough room for us. However the house on its own isn't what makes this place. The outside space is great for eating, sitting and even showering (we hardly used the inside showers). Spiros was very easy to deal with from booking through to departure.
We did hire a car as recommended by another reviewer but only drove 71kms as we could not drag ourselves away from the house so would have been able to hire a chauffeur for the same cost! The house is close to the airport which was convenient although we got lost in both directions! Itis very undeveloped around the house which was what we wanted - and my children were very pleased that opportunities to force them to sight see close by were limited. We spent our days snorkelling, kayaking or swimming across the bay to completely empty beaches or just reading books at the house. At 10 and 13 our children were just slightly too young to appreciate the wonderful sea (we couldn't let them go into the sea without us there of course) but older teenagers next door seemed to be having a great time playing and kayaking in the sea.
We ended up at the taverna on the beach 3x and at the bar several more.
We can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellsbell...
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“This is an amazing, relaxing, romantic holiday destination”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Bit later than planned in submitting this review as unfortunately broke my leg the day after we got back from our holiday.
We would not hesitate to recommend this Villa for a Kefalonia holiday. We arrived to be shown around by Spyros' lovely mum, who gave us a great welcome basket of goodies (particularly her homemade jam!) and showed us around the property. Previous reviews really sum up how we felt about the property, so we have just concentrated on some of the practicalities in this review.
FACILITIES:
Top loader washing machine with a few sachets of washing liquid to get you going.
Good size fridge with a quarter size freezer compartment, ample for your ice creams and particularly Greek frozen savoury pastries which are lovely with a beer at lunchtime :)
Electric hob, responsive and easy to cook on.
Electric oven, once you work out the knobs (which doesn't take very long), great for roasting and grilling.
Brilliant, good sized outdoor BBQ (recommend the real charcoal you can buy in local shops - dirty grey bags- for a really good smokey flavour - there is a stainless steel basin alongside the BBQ, handy to soak stuff in)
TV with satellite box and DVD player - we struggled to get any English speaking channels apart from BBC news but in all honesty, would not have even bothered with it if had not been for the unseasonal storms that hit when we were there. We did eventually find that channel 1 often had English speaking drama programmes on with Greek subtitles
Ground coffee maker (lovely with our morning fruit juice)
Small blender - handy for grinding down spices
Solar hot water - always plentiful and very hot
Good showers in both the master bedroom and main bathroom
Bath towel, hand towel and beach towel each
Small dishwasher
We bought our own dishwasher tablets, toilet cleaner, washing powder, washing up liquid etc from local supermarket.
Dish and drying cloths were provided.
Condiments will depend upon what the last visitors have left.
WIFI - ok, as mentioned by others, this can be a bit intermittent, only important to us as handy to look up local info and we Skype my elderly mum daily. Best spots are out on the patio in front of the villa, in the double main bedroom or its verandah.
We loved eating outside and found mossie coils a must, not so much for mossies but to keep wasps at bay in the day time (apparently a bad year for them over the whole island).
As a couple, we found the furnishings comfortable and completely adequate. If you were a party of six, everything would be fine, although you would be a bit squashed on the sofa in front of the tv. We loved sitting under the beach umbrellas on the comfy sun loungers in front of the villa. There is also a store of these by the kayaks to take down to the beach - light and easy to carry.
We didn't use the second double bedroom or twin room but we did investigate their mattresses as the master double mattress was very firm. Just about our only recommendation for improvement would be a thick topper on this.
ENVIRONMENT:
We did not try the local restaurants in the village.
Argostoli is only a 10-15 minute drive from the villa (bypass road leads to Lidl, AB and Carrefour supermarkets) and there are local supermarkets within a five minute drive. We didn't find the quality of fruit and veg any different in the market stalls to the supermarkets (watermelon and tomatoes to die for!). AB was best for fresh fish (farmed but still very good bass and sea bream), veg and fruit, Carrefour for meat and frozen stuff (try the Greek stuffed savoury pastries!!) and I wouldn't bother with Lidl (same old, same old). There is a butchers in the middle of the promenade in Argostoli, which we would highly recommend. They sell lovely meat of all types, particularly recommend their lamb kebabs and steak. Also, we were able to buy live slipper lobster from the fishing boats in the harbour, which was really delicious (stun in freezer for 30 mins, boil, dress, BBQ with garlic, butter and lemon!), 20 euros per KG.
The beach in front of the villa, as stated by others, really does require good quality beach/swimming shoes. Swimming off the rocks is lovely. We tried out a local lobster pot that was lying by the kayaks but didn't catch anything, although all the little fish and crabs would have had a good feed that night!
I fish and was able to buy frozen mackerel, prawns and fresh squid as bait. There are also two shops in Argostoli that sell gear, from one of which you can buy rag ( most successful bait but only really tiddlers on offer). To be in with a better chance, I would have needed to regularly walk out to the far right of the beach (as your back is to the villa) towards high/ebbing tide. Didn't fancy doing this in the dark. Also, if you look at other fishing threads, people wonder at local bait ingredients, turns out it is a mix of bread with the powdered feed that is used by the local fisheries.
I would also recommend taking your sat nav if you have Europe maps, our garmin was spot on!
For anyone thinking of booking the villa, do, it is so quiet and private, we hardly left it (other than to shop for food!), we would definitely go back.
Thank you to Spyros and his family, if you have any problems, they are prompt and friendly in managing things xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The aspect and privacy
Liked least: The double bed mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlinr
Brighton, UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a fantastic week at Villa Avali Family with my wife and our 6 year old son. The villa is gorgeous, spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Spyros and Nikh were a pleasure to deal with from start to finish, kindly letting us stay late on our last day when our flight was delayed. I would strongly recommend bringing beach/swimming shoes, especially if you have kids, as the rocks by the sea are very sharp and would be very difficult to walk on in bare feet. The sea is crystal clear and the snorkelling was fantastic, as was jumping into the sea from the 15ft cliffs! The sea is around 10-20ft deep straight off the rocks, and the visibility is incredible. The little sandy beach 5 mins walk away is perfect if you have younger children, and the tavernas at this beach are decent (EUR40 for 2 mains, a starter, 2 beers and a coke). The barbecue is great, and we used it pretty much every night. Wi fi is ok once you figure out where the best signal is. We booked through Holiday Lettings, who we have used before and also recommend. Our stay did cost as much as the car I've been driving for the past 8 years, but it really was outstanding!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, view, peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing worth mentioning.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blubellym...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely villa and stunning location”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had lovely family week away at Villa Avali, everything was pretty much perfect for what we wanted. It was immaculately clean, quiet, the owners were very helpful and the location was outstanding. We usually do a lot of driving sightseeing on holiday but because we had the sea literally at the end of the garden, apart from a couple of trips out we didn't feel the need to go anywhere else. The kids loved using the kayaks, and bring able to swim off the rocks into crystal clear water made the holiday for us. Loved the grounds with its big lawn and swinging seat. My only little gripe was the lack of comfortable seating in the lounge which I could imagine out of season could get bit annoying but as we were able to sit outside most evenings it wasn't a big problem. Glad we hired cars as there are no food shops within walking distance but we knew this before booking. We had one of favourite family holidays at Villa Avali and will definitely be coming back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashbridge
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wanted a quality villa as near to the sea as possible, and this perfectly filled the brief. Spacious good quality accommodation, comfy beds, clean and tidy, the only thing I found uncomfortable was the sofa. If there are more than three of you, the lounge furniture is a bit sparse, but you will probably be outside most of the time. Just a few yards to the sea, and a few more to the local tavernas, which are both pretty good. Beach is safe and mostly sandy, sea is clear and warm, and simply kayaks are provided for your amusement. Spyros, the owner is delightful and most helpful, leaving us a delicious welcome pack containing his very own olive oil. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Sofa and lack of fan in lounge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth S
1 review
“It was perfect for us as it was so near the sea.”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We wanted a quiet relaxing holiday where we could swim frequently. Villa Avali provided all we could have asked for. Safe deep water swimming was available at the end of the garden and a small sandy beach with good tavernas was only a few minutes walk away. The house is secluded and comfortable. The owner was helpful and the accommodation was very clean with enough equipment for self-catering. Air conditioning in the bedrooms was necessary at night and the fan was useful in the living room as it was very hot at times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nearby swimming
Liked least: Having to be aware of mosquitos and avoid letting them get into the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing