We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit - never disappoints..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I arrived back for a return visit to this property on 9 September. Was checked in efficiently, was given an upgrade due to Priority status with IHG and went up to my room. Opened the door and first impression was "oh", still the outdated furniture, lamps and a CRT tv from the 80's, plus the heavy brown themes, also from the 80's.. I thought, perhaps this will influence my rating for my stay this visit.. But guess what.. Next morning a big truck arrived out front full of new flat screen tv's, modern lamps, totally new furniture for every room. My room wasnt upgraded during my stay, I guess they didnt want to disturb me, but next visit, I'll have a totally new look to look forward to. Everything else about the stay was consistent. Great free breakfast with a good selection and cheerful friendly staff. House keeping were lightning fast, the minute you left your room, they were in straight away to freshen up the room. The front desk girls (both day & night) were so friendly and helpful, plus a new guy, sorry I didnt get his name, but overall they were great and just add to the positive experience. Parking is free and plentiful. The only thing I could complain about but it doesnt detract from the quality of the experience is the pillows on the bed. I couldnt tell the difference between soft & firm options and just couldnt quite get a happy compromise with the pillows. Overall, another 5 star experience, thank you !!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/mountain view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Musclebearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Wow, what a great review!
Thank you very much!!
I will advise our staffs to read your review so we can be even better next time.
For your next visit, please do not hesitate to talk to any of staffs or to me if you face any concerns or issues.
We are always here to accommodate you 24/7!

Thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Nice place. In the middle of Cathedral city close to Palm Desert and Rancho Mirage. Free Internet. Free parking. Nice pool and spa. The beds were very comfortable. Only one complaint-the air conditioner wall unit was extremely noisy. Came on with a bang and shut off with a bang.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Good day, Mark.
Thank you very much for your review!
I hope you had enjoyed our full hot breakfast with Cinnamon Rolls as well.
A/C making noises had been notified to our maintenance crews and will be addressed right away and truly apologize for the inconvenience!

We will do our best to make your stay just right!

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Got a good deal online for this hotel. I've generally enjoyed staying in holiday inn in the last couple of years and this was no different. Comfortable rooms, Friendly help desk, Good hot breakfast with Omlettes, sausages, pancakes, toast, muffins etc ! Loved staying in this hotel. Inaddition this is a great location to access the palm spring attractions like aerial tramway, air museum, soak city etc

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnie610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Hello, Arnie610.
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel!
The hotel is now under new management and we are making quite a few GOOD changes to the property.
I hope you could come back and stay with us as we just UPGRADED our rooms with new furniture!
Please have a look at a photo I just uploaded of our guest rooms.
We are excited about new changes as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Great location. Great breakfast. Extremely helpful staff. Manager responded quickly to our request. This is a great hotel and we have been back here from the UK several times. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Palm Springs. The area around the pool is very big and there is always space for everyone. We have always had an excellent experience here and I recommend it highly to you. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tappy Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Hello, Tappy Feet!
I appreciate your lovely input!
It's always very cheerful to get comments like yours and it will only make us do better job for the future.
We just went through quite many changes to our guest rooms!
Please have a look at a sample photo I just uploaded.
Thank you for coming back and staying with us again and please feel free to contact us anytime for anything we can help you.

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just spent one night at the Palm Springs Renaissance, two nights at the Hyatt Indian Wells and one night at this Holiday Inn. All three hotels provided the essential requirement of a clean room in a safe area. However, in terms of value-for-money and a welcoming environment, this hotel wins. No resort fees, no parking fees, free internet, free cooked breakfast, free upgraded room, quiet air-conditioning and no midnight parties.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldfieldpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Good day, oldfieldpark.
Thank you for putting your survey on Trip Advisor for our property!
As we are Holiday Inn Express and to provide the most convenient service for our guest, we do offer many amenities for free as you mentioned!
Free WiFi, Free news paper, Free local calls, Free parking, and Free HOT breakfast!!
Plus, our guest rooms had just went through major changes as new management had taken over the hotel!
Within a few weeks, our rooms should look very modern and fresh with all new goods!
Please come back and stay with us!

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We spent 5 blissful nights here and will definitely be back. The staff were exceptionally helpful at all times. Our room had a pool view with fabulous mountain views. The breakfast area was always clean and well stocked. We slept peacefully in the quiet and clean surroundings. The poolmarea is huge and always spotless. However, we have always food it to be buoyant week-ends and Saturdaynwas busy on this visit. A large crowd of young couples arrived and set up their coolers and blasted their loud music poolside. The lyrics were not child friendly. The management responded to our concern by asking them to turn down the music immediately. They did but them it went back on again. The management immediately returned and the muis went off permanentlty. It was great to see the management take this seriously and act immediately. I can highly recommend this location. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tappy Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Hello and thank you for sharing your detailed experience at our hotel!
We all know our pool area is quite enjoyable with beautiful open view of mountain but we strongly believe other guests are also to be respected at the same time!
Of course, it is ideal not to experience any inconvenience.
However, we strive our best to address issues as soon as it occurs with new management.
I greatly appreciate that you noticed we are trying.
Thank you.
We just had went through extensive room renovation so hopefully you could come back next time to enjoy all new amenities soon!
And don't forget to get in touch with us for anything you need for stay at our hotel.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Front desk staff was very friendly during my check in and entire stay....The outside grounds were well maintained along with the interior of hotel.
Room was very comfortable...Bed,linens,furniture.....Bathroom was clean and water pressure was excellent!
The only complaint was breakfast...2 mornings without the glazed cinnamon rolls that Holiday Inn Express in known for!
Hotel is close to restaurants,grocery store and approximately 5 minutes to hwy...
I would reccommend hotel for families or business and will retun in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlzom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Hello, trvlzom62.
I appreciate your wonderful review of our hotel!
Your great review helps all of our staff members to improve for the better!
I apologize for not serving Cinnamon Rolls during your stay.
We had an incident where the delivery was mixed up with Cinnamon Rolls and had to deal with a few days without it.
Now, we changed our system a little bit so we NEVER run out of Cinnamon Rolls for all guests who come and stay with us!
Please do not hesitate to contact us hotel directly for the future inquiries and we will take care of it!
Thanks again,

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs Cathedral City Golf Resort
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)

Address: 36101 Date Palm Dr, Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92234-1503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range: £72 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located in the heart of Palm Springs Valley. Our Cathedral City Hotel is a resort destination near Rancho Mirage, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Indian Wells, world class golf courses, spas, casinos, restaurants and shopping. While travelling to our hotel, you will be able to visit the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Indian Canyon Trails, Spa Casino, Agua Caliente Casino, Cathedral Canyon Golf, PGA West Golf, Cabazon World Premium Outlet Mall, Knotts Soak City, Empire Polo Grounds, El Paseo Shopping District, The Living Desert and Joshua Tree National Park. This Holiday Inn Express Hotel is a host hotel for The Big League Dreams Sports Park. We are just minutes from the Palm Springs International Airport in CA. Also nearby Palm Springs Convention Center, Downtown shopping, restaurants, and Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. All leisure or business guests will enjoy our high speed, wireless and wired Internet and complimentary business center. Come experience our serene outdoor heated pool and whirlpool with a large deck and mountain views. Our hotel also features a workout room. Our 100% smoke free hotel features the comforts of home. From our resort style pool, wonderful cinnamon rolls, cookies in the lobby every evening, and the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, this hotel in Cathedral City, CA is sure to please. Swimming pools and Jacuzzi will be closed starting on July 9, 2017 and will re-open on July 18, 2017 as they are being repaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) Hotel Cathedral City
Holiday Inn Cathedral City
Cathedral City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing