We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat it for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Certificate of Excellence
New Englander
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Can't beat it for the price.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our family stayed here in February of this year for three nights. We used the hotel as a base for day trips to Joshua Tree and Palm Springs for hiking and it exceeded our expectations- especially since this was the only available room in the Palm Springs area that would accommodate 4 people (we went during Modernism week?). The whole family was satisfied with the experience. Pool was great. Room and bathroom were clean. Staff were super friendly. View of the mountains from the room was perfect. Jacuzzi was tiny, but so what. The daily complimentary breakfast saved us a bunch. The special touch of hot chocolate chip cookies on Fridays and Saturdays was the best surprise! We do wish it was every night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H_Camber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear H_Camber, thank you for such a kind review! I am glad you really enjoyed yourself at our property! Yes the chocolate cookies are a big hit, we will keep in mind to see what we can do about implementing them every night. We are glad that you ended up staying with us and having such a wonderful experience . If you are ever in the Palm Springs area, please do feel free to contact us on the property level for future inquiries.


Best Regards,


-Hotelstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    109
    38
    12
    14
See reviews for
85
93
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sparks
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

In the area for business the latter part of April. Rooms are dependably clean and comfortable at the Holiday Inn Expresses in which I have stayed in the past. This was no exception. Bed very comfortable. A little slow to get hot water in the sink but almost instant in the shower. Not sure why. My business required being outdoors from 6:00 AM until about 3:00 PM. Two of the four days my room was not made up by the time I returned. The first time I went out to give the maid time to do it. Second time I told her to skip it as I wished to take a nap. Other than that I was pleased with my stay.

There is a nice outdoor pool area and a small fitness center. Several strip mall restaurants within walking distance but car needed for others. No restaurant on site.

Continental breakfast was available in the mornings and included pancakes, scrambled eggs/omelets, sausage bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, etc., as well as coffee, teas and juices. Plenty adequate unless you are into full breakfasts. One downside was this particular week end there were two concerts in the area causing rates in all the motels/hotels to be at a premium.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Macomfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Macomfs, thank you for taking the time out to write a review out about our property! We are more than happy that you were pleased with your stay! It is our pleasure! We will defiantly discuss the housekeeping issue in the next meeting so that this doesn't occur once more! We strive to give proficient and excellent service! Please feel free to contact us next time your in the Palm Springs area!


Best Regards,


-Hotelstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My business partner and I stayed here in January for 4 nights. We were lucky to score an excellent rate on the IHG website after the rate had dropped from a pretty high rate previously. As always, everything was so relaxed and non stressed here. Eva on the front desk was a scream, so fun to deal with, but so professional at the same time. Eva is a real asset to this hotel.. The newly refurbed rooms are great and we got an upgrade to a room with a small lounge thanks to my IHG Platinum membership. The breakfast was nice and there were always tables available, unlike some HIE's where its bedlam at breakfast time. Only negative was one or two days the attendant at breakfast wasn't as nice as she could have been. Apart from that the staff were great, the housekeeping ladies were quick and efficient. Parking is free and plentiful. Laundry is a dream with new washers and dryers and never a queue for machines. Cant wait to return !!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and mountain have lovely views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musclebearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Musclebearnz, thank you for your review! I more than happy that you enjoyed Eva's customer service and I will defiantly relay the message to her! We value your feed-back and your business! Please do come visit us again! Contact us on the property level for future inquires!

Best Regards,


-Hotelstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

When I found out I'd have to go to Palm Springs for work, I was hoping to be put up somewhere swanky like the Ace or the Parker... So I was pretty disappointed that it was going to be a Holiday Inn. But as it turns out, this place had everything I could have needed. We were put on the first floor, which meant we were directly across the hall from the fitness center (bonus), steps from the pool, and had an easy side door we could enter and exit through. That was particularly handy, as my husband and baby daughter came along, so we could take the stroller in and out to the car without having to go through the lobby and around. The breakfast was basic but ample. (Though I'd recommend just a little coffee in the breakfast room and then hightailing it to Elmer's for breakfast -- that place is great!) The fitness center just had a few cardio machines, but it was underutilized while I was there so it wasn't an issue. The pool area was really lovely and the jacuzzi was nice and hot. On our first night we walked to a delicious Indian place in the strip mall right next to the hotel, which was great after having fought traffic from LA; the last thing we wanted to do was get back in the car and drive to dinner. The next night we ordered Thai food and my husband walked over to pick it up. It wasn't bad, though the Indian place was much better. Palm Springs proper is a bit of a drive, so this hotel wouldn't be ideal if you wanted to be right in town. But if you're looking for something reasonably priced with all the basic amenities and nice big rooms, this is a great option.

Room Tip: If you get a room with two beds, trying lying down on both before choosing which to sleep on. We sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Liz B, thank you for taking the time out to write a review! We are more than happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Please feel free to contact us on property level when your in the Palm Springs area again!



Warm Regards,

-Hotelstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We are regular of HIE hotels and this one did not let us down. The rooms are good for the price, nice breakfast, but the POOL and jacuzzi areas were the best. I was suspicious of the pictures, nevermind they are real, a nice big pool area with great views. Courteous staff at front desk, breakfast bar, and housekeeping, ample parking, my only complaint is a bit of a mildey smell in the room, but we opened the window and it all cleared up. We will stay there again, and also recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank been_hereYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear been_hereYT, thank you for your kind review! We are glad that we did not let you down, and that you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to make sure each and everyone of our guest needs are met, even though that can be impossible sometimes, but we can say we try! Next time your in the Palm Springs area don't hesitate to contact us on the property level!


Best Regards,

-Hotelstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

To begin with I like Holiday Inn Express hotels. The last two we stayed at were in Rancho Mirage and JFK. Those two got great ratings.
It's not quite 4:00 AM and I'm sitting in the lobby of the hotel doing this instead of sleeping. We arrived Friday afternoon and all seemed well. We even remarked how quiet the ac unit was. Sometime after midnight it started sounding like a diesel truck idling combined with a clothes drier loaded with running shoes. Went to the desk in the morning and was told they would TRY to send someone to look at it. Do not know if anyone came but it is still acting up Saturday night.

So my wife had to start taking Benadryl soon after arriving. She does not normally take it in the desert. I'm going to try and attach a photo of the very fuzzy vent in the bathroom ceiling. It has not been cleaned for quite a while. When I walked from the bedroom to the bathtub my feet picked up black hair, which was then visible in the tub. The ice machine on our floor does not work. The temp during the day is 89f. The ice machine should have been fixed w/in one day.
There are probably several fine rooms here but if you get one with a problem, it probably will not get fixed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank demozeleski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello Demozelesk, it is unfortunate that we were not able to meet to your expectations. I like to take this time to tell you that I apologize that we have dropped the ball and we were not able to fix the issues that occurred during your stay in a timely matter. We will take this information that you have stated and use this in our next meeting ! We never want our hotel guest to feel uncomfortable or not enjoy their stay! We strive for excellence and unfortunately we didn't meet that criteria during your stay. Please do give us one more chance to make your stay a better stay. Contact us on property for future inquiries and we will be glad to take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
619 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The room was clean and clearly had been renovated relatively recently. There is a pool and it's close to the airport (if you have an early flight). The staff was friendly and it's definitely a place I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mja1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-CC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear mja1982, thank you for such a kind review! We are more than happy that you will stay with us again! Please don't hesitate next time your in the Palm Springs area to contact us on the property level for future inquires!


Best Regards,

-Hotelstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs-Cathedral City Golf Resort
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
2.9 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
909 reviews
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Address: 36101 Date Palm Dr, Cathedral City, CA 92234-1503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located in the heart of Palm Springs Valley. Our Cathedral City Hotel is a resort destination near Rancho Mirage, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Indian Wells, world class golf courses, spas, casinos, restaurants and shopping. While travelling to our hotel, you will be able to visit the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Indian Canyon Trails, Spa Casino, Agua Caliente Casino, Cathedral Canyon Golf, PGA West Golf, Cabazon World Premium Outlet Mall, Knotts Soak City, Empire Polo Grounds, El Paseo Shopping District, The Living Desert and Joshua Tree National Park. This Holiday Inn Express Hotel is a host hotel for The Big League Dreams Sports Park. We are just minutes from the Palm Springs International Airport in CA. Also nearby Palm Springs Convention Center, Downtown shopping, restaurants, and Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. All leisure or business guests will enjoy our high speed, wireless and wired Internet and complimentary business center. Come experience our serene outdoor heated pool and whirlpool with a large deck and mountain views. Our hotel also features a workout room. Our 100% smoke free hotel features the comforts of home. From our resort style pool, wonderful cinnamon rolls, cookies in the lobby every evening, and the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, this hotel in Cathedral City, CA is sure to please. Swimming pools and Jacuzzi will be closed starting on July 9, 2017 and will re-open on July 18, 2017 as they are being repaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) Hotel Cathedral City
Holiday Inn Cathedral City
Cathedral City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing