We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diarrhea sign at the pool (no kidding)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cimarron Golf Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Under the sinks smelled like sewer, pretty gross. The sign at the pool I uploaded is real, kind of unnerving thinking about Diarrhea when going to the pool. It's scary that they actually have to put a sign up. The staff is hit and miss, there is a young woman that seems disgruntled at the desk but maybe she was just having a bad day. The maids did a good job but the rooms are outdated.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank marko-cc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, General Manager at Cimarron Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

In our efforts to offer our guests the cleanest and safest swimming pool we strictly adhere to all of the California requirements for public pools. We understand that the "diarrhea sign" may seem a little offputting however it is required by the state and must be posted at all times. We continuously have county inspections of our pool to make sure that we are following all of the guidelines and we would risk the pool being closed by the inspector if this sign was not in place. We hope in the future that you will be able to overlook this required sign and enjoy the beauty and cleanliness of our pool facility. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here last week and had a mixed experience. .It was hard to rate too. I would give it a two star rating for cleanliness but a four star for accommodations.
The good:
Staff was nice and friendly, the pool area is really great, the area around the pool is nice and grassy and beautifully landscaped. There were people playing beach ball volleyball. It is a gated community so it feels pretty safe, free laundry facility. The bed in our studio was very comfortable. The one and two bedroom units are huge and have patios that face the beautiful pool area. (We had a chance to tour one and wished we had booked one.) The TV was nice and there did seem to be quite a few channels (I didn't spend much time checking it out though - No DVD player in Studios but there was one in the One-Bedroom we toured.) The One and Two Bedroom units come with a garage!
The not-so-good:
The Studios are very small with NO view...unless you consider a stucco wall just off your patio a view....at least it's private. The Studios DO NOT face the pool or grassy area. They are all on the street side. Seriously, only rent a Studio if you do not plan to spend much time other that sleeping in your room. If you view the floor plan for the studio on Raintree's website it is misleading. They are not that big. They show a couch and a loveseat...try two swivel chairs instead. There is this table thing that converts to a small twin bed though. The floor plan for the One-Bedroom units seem about right though. Our mini-fridge didn't seem to be that cold in our unit. No DVD player. No garage for the Studios - parking around the corner.
The bad -
Our room was DIRTY. Hair on both bathroom sinks, tub, and on nightstand, empty cans behind nightstands, pink foam like substance on bathroom counter, shower curtain slightly yellowed on bottom and smelly, towels a bit stinky - they had that smell towels get when they have been at the pool if that makes any sense. Maybe needed to be run through a bleach load.
Maybe it was just this week, because I noticed another person who left a review said they had troubles with cleanliness this same week too while many other reviewers said it was very clean. Maybe they were just having a bad week.
If you stay here it could be great. Get the ONE or TWO BEDROOM. If you get a downstairs unit it will open up to the grassy area, otherwise you have to walk around.to get to the pool. Be prepared to bring your own Clorox (or whatever) wipes to wipe stuff down...really not a bad idea at any hotel anyway.

Room Tip: Get the One or Two bedroom Unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeniK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, General Manager at Cimarron Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We apologize that your unit did not meet our normal standard of cleanliness. Our property was at a high level of occupancy due to the music festival and unfortunately, the staff fell short in meeting expectations. Your feedback will help us to make the necessary changes needed to ensure guests do not have a similar experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our first time at this resort. We had booked a studio as we were told that was all that was available. The studios are awful and ours was dirty, bedding was filthy and full of holes. I would have rated this place a minus 5 at this point. The front desk staff brought clean bedding but the blanket had a big hole in it as well as the sheets, I would have ripped them up and used them for rags to wipe my dog's dirty paws!! No chance of getting the room cleaned, I was told that Walgreens was probably closed and that Walmart might be open when I suggested that perhaps I would have to clean the room myself since I was not prepared to sleep in a room so dirty. That's when I lost my composure and said I was moving into a hotel. All of a sudden there was magically a 2 bedroom unit available and we were moved. This room was lovely on the main floor overlooking the pool. We are Raintree Vacation Club members and this is one of their resorts. We were using points for this reservation so wondering if they give those using points the worst rooms and save the best rooms for the non-members who are paying cash??? I will be investigating this with Raintree.
No fitness centre but there is one fairly close by at the Desert Princess Hotel about a 5 minute drive.
Pool was great except that some people float around on those large floating beds which take up a lot of room and some allow their kids to take over the pool which is very inconsiderate.

Room Tip: Do not book a studio. They are small and dark. Try and get a one or two bedroom overlooking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, General Manager at Cimarron Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Unfortunately, your introduction to our resort was not satisfactory and we regret the obvious breakdown in communication that occurred within our team resulting in the issues described in your review. I am happy to hear that we were able to resolve your situation with the complimentary upgrade to a larger unit that met our normal standards of cleanliness. We apologize for the unfortunate series of events and hope that in the future, you’ll return to the property and give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our friend in LV booked this back in October - not realising the Indian Wells tennis tournament was on, otherwise we would not have found this place. The 2 bedroom unit we shared for 2 nights was huge, up flight of stairs, overlooked the pool area and included a 2 car garage opposite. The only problem was the lukewarm water in the bath/shower in 108A (reported but not fixed). For 1 night we had to move into 2 x one bedroom units - garage is not included but parked right outside. No problem with water in bath/shower here, but no views other than front courtyard. We woke the next morning to find blood on the courtyard. Within 30 mins staff had hosed down and no trace left of the 'curious incident of animals in the night'. Staff could not have been more helpful throughout our stay. Coffee available in Reception but needed reheating.

Room Tip: Odd numbers are on ground floor; even ones up flight of stairs. 'A' 1 bed units have view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have stayed here for the last two years and arrived this year to find a problem with our reservation. I was devestated. I was in tears. Rick, the person and the desk was so kind and promised to try to work something out. He and Paul got us into a unit, and even though we had to move the next day, we were so glad to be able to stay here. We we got to our room they had left a bottle of wine and gave us free internet. They have bed making and towel exchange service each day, and the cleaning person empties the garbage, also.
This is the cleanest and most enjoyable place you will ever visit. The units are large and well stocked and we feel like it is another home. The location is great, as it is about the center of the Palm Springs area. I hope we can stay here again, next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmalea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights with friends in 2 bedroom condo. The rooms were spacious , well decorated and comfortable. The grounds were beautiful with an orange tree just outside our patio. The garage was an added pleasant surprise. These condos were adjacent to the golf course in a quiet neighborhood but a short drive from plenty of restaurants. Would recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

got to stay in the two bedroom unit. great layout, 3 TV's, large living room as well as very nice kitchen with dining area. Unit has a two car garage. Location is great right in the middle of the desert cities area. service at the reception desk was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NativeMextraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
24.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs Cathedral City Golf Resort
25.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
21.2 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
25.3 mi away
Welk Resorts Palm Springs
Welk Resorts Palm Springs
#3 of 7 in Cathedral City
318 reviews
21.6 mi away
Vista Mirage
Vista Mirage
#13 of 41 in Palm Springs
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cimarron Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cimarron Golf Resort

Address: 67707 30th Ave, Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92234-5833
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range: £108 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cimarron Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous mountain views and nearly year-round sunny weather make Palm Springs, California, a veritable golfing paradise. Stay at Cimarron Golf Resort and you’ll be just steps away from two of the best courses in Palm Springs. Spend a few hours on the golf course and return to the resort, where you can relax in the on-site swimming pool and hot tub or unwind in your comfortable home away from home. Cimarron Golf Resort is located in Palm Springs, a popular vacation destination for Hollywood A-Listers since the 1920s. Bob Hope, Frank Sinatra, Marilyn Monroe, and many more celebrities made the short drive from Los Angeles to escape the fast pace of Hollywood. In addition to all the great golf, Palm Springs boasts a diverse selection of fantastic restaurants, its own art district, and easy access to miles of compelling hiking trails through desert canyons and pine forests. Book your next Palm Springs vacation at Cimarron Golf Resort and make your time here truly your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cimarron Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimmaron Golf Hotel Cathedral City
Cimarron Golf Resort California Desert/Cathedral City, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing