We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welk Desert Oasis Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welk Resorts Palm Springs
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My Husband & I stayed one week at this WELK Resort. We liked everything about this resort. The kitchen was well equiped and organized. We spent two mornings at the Annenberg Gardens. The Gardens are on the must see list. This is a family friendly place, an adult pool and a family friendly pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We have stayed here several times trading our time share for here. Its one of the nicer resorts we have stayed at. They really try hard to make it family friendly even though we are seniors we like the effort. There is a large family pool and a smaller lap/adult pool.
The units are all one bedroom with a well stocked kitchen and large bathroom. It can sleep 4 if needed, 2 on the queen sofa bed. There are BBq's all over to use.
The resort is very clean and the lawns and gardens well kept up.
There is golf and tennis right here and lots of kid activities. they have a pool side BBQ 2 times a week, Bingo, Casino Night, Family night, ping pong, kid crafts. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.
The only down side is being nagged to do a time share presentation. And in talking to those who have gone,there are conflicting offers (time shares) and amounts paid to do the presentation.
I am ready to put in my reservation for next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool or golf course view. Avoid the consierge to get the parking pass (go aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeckyinBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was stop 3 out of 4 on a 2 week southern CA vacation. Overall, this is a great place. The pool was the highlight of this resort. There was an adult pool and a family friendly pool, with a nice pool bar. The activity center is conveniently located. The fitness room is well equipped. The suites were spacious and the kitchens were well equipped and maintained. The bathroom was large and they even had a laundry line in the tub to hang your bathing suits. Overall, this would have been my favorite place we stayed in CA, but the beds were miserable. The king was too hard and the sofabed was so flimsy, you felt every spring (my six year old was not comfortable, forget an adult!). I hope they get new mattresses, because this was a great resort otherwise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank movingeast3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We just spent a week at this resort. We had a lovely suite with a view of the mountains. It contains a fully equipped kitchen which we really appreciated and made good use of. It appeared that the decor had been recently updated and everything was fresh and clean. We found the bed very comfortable and had pillows with different degrees of firmness.

The main pool area was well maintained and had a snack bar that offered breakfast and lunch. There was also an adult only pool nearby. There were a variety of activities offered for young and old making it a great place to bring kids or grandkids. We took advantage of the aquafit classes that were offered every morning.

The resort is in an excellent location with restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and a variety of golf courses a short drive away. We also found the staff to be friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kootenay_Traveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We returned as a renter for 3 days.
The location of building 1 is the poorest I would say being near the road and views of the car park.
The unit was the same as others we have stayed in and is more than adequate for a couple.
The pool area is very nice and clean with plenty of sun loungers plus a nice pool bar serving drinks and hot/cold snacks.
The resort is in a very convenient location to Hwy 111 and for getting around.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roscoetheotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

we stayed here for 1 week and were here to golf .the unit was nice and lots of room for the 2 of us.we were on the 2nd floor which is good and the building farest from the road which is good also. the golf course there isn't very good at all.it was busy (for $19) I guess that's why. but we had to wait 20 to 30 minutes at the #1 tee box.and then wait every shot.. we only got done 14 holes and it was getting too dark . Twilight after 1 our tee time was 1:20..But we also golfed Taquitz Creek it was pretty good ,Then Cimmarron the long course it was nice desert course no trees.. the nicest one we golfed was Escena . It is a must very nice and not too expense, twilight after 1 was $65 each .Go to Ralphs for groceries and get the ralph card ,good discounts and it's free.......From Alberta very nice area

Room Tip: second floor ,the golf course view isn't anything special.. farthest biulding away from the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here for a week in January on an exchange through RCI. Our flight from Calgary got in around 1 pm and we were able to check in early to our room. At check in we were instructed to visit the concierge to get our parking pass who proceeded to give us the timeshare presentation sell. We listened politely and told her no thanks and that was the end of it. We did not use the concierge services during our stay so cannot comment on how good they are.
The best thing about the resort is the location. It is very easy to access major roadways. We were there for a golf vacation and appreciated that pretty much every course we golfed was 15 minutes away. We never golfed the Cathedral Canyon course so cannot comment on that. We did golf some beautiful courses, our favorites being Firecliff at Desert Willow and the Players course at Indian Wells Resort.
Lots of great restaurants in Cathedral City! We used Yelp to find them and were very satisfied with that. There is a great breakfast place called Don and Sweet Sues that I would recommend if you get tired of the standard stuff at IHOP or Denny's. There is a great theatre complex close by as well where they have both an IMAX and 6 regular theatres. We took the Tram to Peaks Dining one night which was nice if you are looking looking for a different experience.
The units at the resort are a nice size for a couple. We stayed in building 1 which faces the golf course but is closest to the road. You could hear the road noise from the room. We were also in a bottom floor unit and as the other reviewers mentioned you could hear the people above you whenever they walked about. Also anytime you walked down the hallway you could hear the people talking in their units. Likewise whenever anyone walked by our unit we could hear their conversation clearly, like they were in the other room This didn't bother us much as we were usually up early for golf and then gone in the evenings as well. If you are spending time in the units I recommend getting one in building 2 or 3 and on the second floor.
The resort is an older resort but they have done a good job with unit upgrading and the furniture and unit supplies were very adequate.
While we were there they were resurfacing the pool area which meant the pool and/or spa was closed on some of the days we were there. That was a bit annoying as we were there to enjoy the sun. The days we did get to the pool it looked like the cabana was closed so we brought our own beverages and no one said anything to us.
The bed was fine, a little harder than what we are used to, but we adapted. The pillows weren't the best but again they were adequate. I have had better, but I have also had worse.
Over all our experience was good. I am not sure if I would return. We have stayed in far nicer RCI Gold crown resorts.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Free_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs Cathedral City Golf Resort
3.3 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.9 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resorts Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Palm Springs

Address: 34567 Cathedral Canyon Dr, Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92234-6637 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range: £124 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resorts Palm Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welk Resorts Palm Springs boasts 350 days of sunshine a year, with an average yearly temperature of 75 degrees. With breathtaking panaramic views of the San Jacinto Mountains, the resort is located 10 minutes from Palm Springs in Cathedral City, California. Swim in a large pool or lap pool, soak up some sun, or enjoy championship golf and tennis at our adjacent Cathedral Canyon Golf and Tennis Club, including a restaurant with locally inspired cuisine. Experience luxurious vacation villa accommodations that include full kitchens, living and dining areas, and private bedrooms with king beds. Activities Center includes fitness room, billiards, air hockey, darts, and Ping-Pong tables with planned activities and classes for all age groups. An arcade is next to the Activities Center. And when you’re ready to explore, nearby Palm Springs offers plenty to see – You won’t want to miss the Aerial Tramway, The Living Desert, Indian Canyons, Knott’s Soak City, Children’s Discovery Museum and Air Museum, world-class dining and shopping, including the popular Cabazon outlet, thrilling casinos, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Welk Resorts Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Oasis Hotel Cathedral City
Desert Oasis Cathedral City
Welk Resorts Palm Springs California Desert/Cathedral City, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing