We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ("wunerful,wunerful,wunerful") Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welk Resorts Palm Springs
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We again stayed here over the cold winter months of the north and again the resort and their employees WOWED us. Between the wonderful activites, housekeeping, maintaince guys, and the front desk, the employees and cleanliness of the resort....those are the main reason that we come back each year and spend a month. Little changes from year to year other than the same employees greet you and that they are always doing improvements to the rooms and grounds. One thing this year that they added a handicap lift in both pools and spa for guests that need a pool lift.
We start our days there by walking in the gated country club next door and get back to do the 10 a.m. aqua fit class in the lap pool (temp of pools is perfect). There are lots of activities for the kids and seniors; from morning walks to wine and cheese bingo, outdoor barbecues for lunch and a new free margarita putting with a lime, for a free drink. Other guests commented that the golf course was in great shape this year with green fees for guests at only 25.00 with cart.
The location of the resort is just perfect, close to 3 grocery stores (trader joes,stater bros, food for less and a walgreens) all within a mile or two. All the suites are the same; 1-bdr units with large bedroom, 2 flat screens with a DVR and an On Demand box, walk in closet w/safe, hall closet and a large bath, patio or balcony, and the kitchen is equipped with everything you might need. My wife and I already made reservations for next year!
The activities people are awesome...super friendly and fun. All the people at the Welk Resort really make this a special place and a home away from home! We look forward to next year!

Room Tip: All suites are the same, other than being on the 1st or 2nd floor and your view. If you book early y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTtravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed 1 wk here via an rci timeshare swap in a 2nd floor 1 br place. friendly staff, not pushy for any presentation. very nice rooms. good shower/tub with handy grab handles; good hot water. wifi was good, with no extra charge. good kitchen well stocked. balcony for bfast.
this was our 2nd time here, and we would definitely stay here again.
played several golf courses (favorites and in best shape, terra lago north, and eagles falls).
took the tram to peak restaurant for dinner, good food, super view (much colder up there).
good week :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Was difficult to find a reasonable place to stay but finally settled on the Welk resort. It fit the bill nicely. Room was a 1 bedroom suite comfortably furnished with fully equipped kitchen. Nice view of pool after asking about room location. Think the golf course views might have been even better. I would avoid parking lot views. Was a little annoyed that, when I discovered I could have used exchange points instead of a direct paid reservation they would not allow the switch. All in all it was well located to allow us access to everything we wanted to do - well located, comfortable for both traveling out and "pool days".

Room Tip: Ask for golf course view or pool view, avoid parking lot and main road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveH656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

First time at Welk in PS. Loved it. VERY well maintained. Grounds are very well kept. Units have been refurbished and nicely done and well kept and maintained. Housekeeping does an EXCELLENT job! Thorough and took care of details. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good central location for desert location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSKazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We visit this area annually for a week. This was our first experience with this resort. Our unit was a one bedroom. It was more than adequate for a one week stay. Our unit had a living room, a fully supplied kitchen, double sink bathroom and a king size bed in the bedroom. There was a tv in the living room and the bedroom. The mattress was really not all that comfortable, nor were the pillows and the couch was not comfortable at all- but we didn't spend much time in the unit. Our unit did have a beautiful view of the golf course. There is ample parking. The location is perfect, everything is nearby. The staff was helpful and in no time replaced a broken coffe maker after I reported it. We have stayed at other locations in the area that we found more comfortable for sleeping and would probably chose one of those for a future trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geonannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our first experience with a cynical office staff soured my feelings about this place right off. I have an emotional support dog that I had cleared with several prior phone calls, but was still given the third degree at checkin. By the way you can have a dog that is both a therapy dog and a service dog. We have the training licenses. This was just the start. We were a few days late in arriving so they said everything was full and we were assigned a parking lot view. When I requested a change we ended up staring at an orange building. 3000 miles and 30,000 points later this was our escape in the desert!! Overall very disappointed with this resort. Very dated with some renovations. Grounds are pretty and units are very clean, but very small grounds area. It is a short drive to Palm Springs but this area is marginal with a strip club up the street. The golf course mountain views are limited. I am told to request early but you will not be guaranteed! They seem to rent units to non members who get better views than members or exchangers. You need to be savy enough to request well in advance! I would not stay here again!

Room Tip: Be sure you request your preferences very early especially for a golf course view. If you have speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcoll37254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stumbled upon this place using the app Hotel Tonight got a great deal.

Check In: we booked at 9:00 and headed down to the desert and arrived by 13:00 albeit check-in starts at 16:00 they gave us our room immediately. Originally we had some room close to the gold course facing the parking lot so I called up and spoke with Mary and she quickly moved us to room 558 overlooking the pool and a good view of the mountains.

Room: The rooms here are very nice and the kitchen is great. The furniture is modern and the rooms are very large. I looked for something similar but all the other rooms are 300-450 sq feet and have a kitchenette only unless you book the Marriott which is 258 a night. We paid 79$ on Hotel Tonight, the room was 103$ total then we had credit. We usually stay at Caliente Tropics up in Palm Springs but last time we stayed there the pool was so cold even though they said it was heated.

The kitchen is great and has everything even down to blender, mixer, wine openers, gone are the days of having to buy another cheap wine opener because I forgot it at home. Everything is clean and nicely laid out. The living room/dining room is nice, sofa/bed is comfortable, there's a huge flat screen tv in the living room, the patio is nice, there's another smaller tv in the bedroom with a huge walk in closet. Bathroom is large and clean. Lots of towels and pool towels and towel origami.

The only bad thing is that we have a two year old poquito and they have these huge floor to ceiling mirrors that are only attached from the top and he liked to play with it grabbing it from the bottom. But that's not the hotels fault. But it would be nice if the rooms were a little more baby proof.

Outdoors: the pool area is really nice when they say the pool is heated it really is heated. It's hot almost like a bath. The jacuzzi is nearby and not scalding hot but really nice and large. The have an outdoor cafe that has beers and food, there's tons of chairs and tables and a sofa like area. They have an adult only pool for the older people. The main pool was filled with young people and families.

Most if not all of the people staying there were families with kids from 6 months to teens. There were some old people but not like the yelp review suggests. Maybe it depends on the time of year.

They have this Hugh entertainment room by the pool that has arcade games that kind of sucked. Two claw machines that were out of order, a racing game and a futbol / FIFA game. Air hockey table is nice but costs 1$ two billiard tables that are free. Two internet computers that are free. And then you can rent tons of DVDs from 2$, they have a whole wall of puzzles and board games available. A little play area for toddlers with duplo and wooden puzzles and such, they have a Wii and vending. Machines and a fitness room and during the day they have tons of arts and crafts and some kind of child care at night I saw when I was going to buy a pitcher of beer which they sell also from pints to pitcher. They also have happy hour events and gas outdoor BBQ s everywhere.

Final thoughts: we would definitely stay here again, it's a little more pricey than say caliente tropics but with the full kitchen we are better off to stay here and cook here instead of spending money on breakfast and dinner outside. We will definitely come back and stay here and try out their other resorts in San Diego and Cabo. Not a bad place and great prices and great staff. See you next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool if you want to pop out at night for a hot tub soak, otherwise ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs Cathedral City Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
5.8 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
974 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
4.9 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resorts Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Palm Springs

Address: 34567 Cathedral Canyon Dr, Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92234-6637 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range: £125 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resorts Palm Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welk Resorts Palm Springs boasts 350 days of sunshine a year, with an average yearly temperature of 75 degrees. With breathtaking panaramic views of the San Jacinto Mountains, the resort is located 10 minutes from Palm Springs in Cathedral City, California. Swim in a large pool or lap pool, soak up some sun, or enjoy championship golf and tennis at our adjacent Cathedral Canyon Golf and Tennis Club, including a restaurant with locally inspired cuisine. Experience luxurious vacation villa accommodations that include full kitchens, living and dining areas, and private bedrooms with king beds. Activities Center includes fitness room, billiards, air hockey, darts, and Ping-Pong tables with planned activities and classes for all age groups. An arcade is next to the Activities Center. And when you’re ready to explore, nearby Palm Springs offers plenty to see – You won’t want to miss the Aerial Tramway, The Living Desert, Indian Canyons, Knott’s Soak City, Children’s Discovery Museum and Air Museum, world-class dining and shopping, including the popular Cabazon outlet, thrilling casinos, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Welk Resorts Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Oasis Hotel Cathedral City
Desert Oasis Cathedral City
Welk Resorts Palm Springs California Desert/Cathedral City, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing