We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but comfortable resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small but comfortable resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Let me start by saying we are Welk owners and have stayed at the San Diego and Cabo locations. Although this resort is nothing like the other locations, it is still very family oriented.
We stayed here from June 7-14,2014.
Location is great, not too far away from Palm Springs and area activities.
Check-in was a breeze except for the hassle about their "presentation".
They have an activities lounge connected to the lobby which has a small arcade, 2 pingpong tables, Wii games, 2 pool tables and an air hockey table.
There are scheduled activities daily, mostly for kids.
My kids enjoyed the bear-making and bead-making activities (with a fee).
The 2-storey buildings surround the 2 pools. An adult only lap pool and a small family pool.
The unit has a full kitchen (including an oven and dishwasher), a bedroom with king size bed and a pull out queen sofabed in the living room.
We were disappointed that there was no washer/dryer in the unit but they have a laundry facility next to the activity center.
There are BBQ grills located around the property and about 3-4 next to the pool. There are no restrictions on bringing food/drinks in to the pool area.
Overall, a nice and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly renovated Eucalyptus Bldg right next to the pool. I called in a week in advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    123
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
102
128
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had 2 units side-by-side on the first floor for a week-long stay. My parents who are in their 80's were in one and my sister and I in another. Both units were identical, clean, and comfortable. Mom and Dad found it easy to manage. My sister slept on the pull out couch and I took the bedroom. Both were comfortable. Rooms are spacious although not luxurious. The kitchen has all the dishes, glasses, cookware, and utensils you will need for small snack to large family dinners. Our units faced the parking lot which is not the better view but what do you really see at night anyway, right? The only challenge the first floor parking lot view side has is other guests returning late in the evening being loud on their way into the building. Other than that, we found the resort really well located, the staff friendly and helpful, and the accommodations just fine for an extended stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
325 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed three nights in a ground level unit. Parking lot view uninspiring but easy to load/unload car from the patio door. Older units have dated décor but lots of room with a fully stocked kitchen including a four-burner range with oven. Cabinets showing some wear but everything is clean.
Room was quiet until the unit above us was occupied the last day...lots of clomping around and doors opening and closing. Shower was great with lots of water.
Pool area is convenient and has towels and a snack bar. Water was cloudy and much too warm to be refreshing in both the main pool and the lap pool. Cathedral Canyon CC adjacent is a great place for a morning walk.
Location is convenient car ride to many restaurants and shops. There's not a lot to do in Palm Springs except eat, shop, play golf or tennis, and may poke around a few of the galleries.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 65oski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I were just here for a 4 night for our 1st time in Palm Springs and in California period. The room was nice I liked the T.V. settings.

We were asked to participate in a timeshare presentation for a free meal at Trio (which we still had to put $20 on top of) and a 7" andriod tablet .Well after the 90 min presentation (which really was 150 minutes) we were told the tablet would be delivered the next day. The next day we were told the tablet would come the next day then the NEXT day we were told there was a new program where we had to get it shipped to our house and they gave us $30 for the shipping in the form needed to be sent in to recieve the tablet. Well it ended up being a $40 shipping charge and we are hoping we even get the tablet.

Back to the room. The kitchen holds everything you need! The air works great the balcony was a nice touch. Huge walk-in closet there also. The bed however was rough to sleep on...I almost went to to sleep on the pull out couch one night! The pool area is nice and they have happy hour and food. They have a few grills around tho I never seen anyone using them and they have an activity center. Again we didnt use that either. We did however go to the casino in Palm Springs which I did not like (Spa Resort). The Agua Caliente Casino was much bigger and much better! We also went to Cabazon and went to the Morongo Casino best out of the 3 and the Desert Hills Outlet which was huge and had good deals!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hisdab4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The resort is very nice, with some rooms being renovated. You're virtually in the middle of nothing so you must have a car. Large pool, although the water is sometimes too cool. The rooms that look onto the mountains have a spectacular view and you definitely should ask to have one of those. Rooms are large and have a full kitchen with everything you need to cook a complete meal. It's a good place to spend no more than week given the fact that there's nothing else to do nearby. You have an outlet mall (Desert Hills) at 20 miles.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

In terms of resorts.. This is a great resort. Staff is extremely friendly.. Condo is clean and it feels like home away from home. You get a full kitchen/ two pools/game room/exercise room/golfing is on the property.. Just overall very nice. Caters to family's and a more mature crowd - 60+ years. I would have given this a 5 star if the check in/checkout times were better.. Check in was 4pm.. Checkout is 10am!!!! That to me is the only downfall.. Other than that, very good. Oh.. And cathedral city /palm desert/palm springs.. All withing 15 mins of each other ... I didn't realize that.. And there's lots to do in the area if your looking for shopping or dining .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Clean room, well appointed kitchen. Good location. Nice pool. Only bad thing was THE MICROPHONE PERSON who was blaring away with the microphone by the pool at 9 AM on Sunday morning. yes, it is important to have children's activities and bingo and whatnot for the guests, but can they announce bingo winners more quietly on a Sunday morning?And I did not need to be awakened by an over-cheerful activities director asking each child "And what is YOUR name?". Especially since I had crawled in from the Coachella rock concert late the night before. When I complained to the hotel manager she told me they had done this at 9 AM on Sundays for several years.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StellaPoling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
5.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
3.3 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
2.9 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Property: Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
Address: 34567 Cathedral Canyon Dr, Cathedral City, CA 92234-6637 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)
Region: United States > California > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welk Resort Desert Oasis boasts 350 days of sunshine a year, with an average yearly temperature of 75 degrees. With breathtaking panaramic views of the San Jacinto Mountains, the resort is located 10 minutes from Palm Springs in Cathedral City, California. Swim in a large pool or lap pool, soak up some sun, or enjoy championship golf and tennis at our adjacent Cathedral Canyon Golf and Tennis Club, including a restaurant with locally inspired cuisine. Experience luxurious vacation villa accommodations that include full kitchens, living and dining areas, and private bedrooms with king beds. Activities Center includes fitness room, billiards, air hockey, darts, and Ping-Pong tables with planned activities and classes for all age groups. An arcade is next to the Activities Center. And when you’re ready to explore, nearby Palm Springs offers plenty to see – You won’t want to miss the Aerial Tramway, The Living Desert, Indian Canyons, Knott’s Soak City, Children’s Discovery Museum and Air Museum, world-class dining and shopping, including the popular Cabazon outlet, thrilling casinos, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Oasis Hotel Cathedral City
Desert Oasis Cathedral City
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis California Desert/Cathedral City, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing