We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Cathedral City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Great”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Old hotel, needs remodeling. We stayed with a group of 12 families and seemed everyone had the same experience we did. Broken items not replaced around the hotel. Room Set up was not ideal. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha D, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Cathedral City, CA
May 25 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Red Lion Inn, Cathedral City, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you the high standard of hospitality which is the norm of our hotel. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this.

As a gesture of good will, we request you to kindly accept a 2 night stay, based on availability at our property. Please call or email me at the contact number or email below and I will personally take care of it.

Again, I would like to apologize for any issues that happened during your stay and ask that you accept my sincere apology and will continue to do business with us.

I would like to reassure you of my dedication to make your next visit a more positive experience and look forward to seeing you again in the future. I am working to make changes to make our property and your feed back helps.

Thanking You,

Yours Sincerely,
Marsha
marsha@williamryanllc.com or (760) 324-5939


Red Lion Inn, Cathedral City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    38
    33
    34
    37
See reviews for
49
36
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, Ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here last year and it was terrible. My favorite place, the Travelodge in Cathedral City was sold out last night and I had no choice but to stay here again. What a mistake, I should have slept in my car!! Room was in the back overlooking a trailer park that looked like something out of a movie set. There was hair on my sheets, the toilet was dirty and the room smelled. The people at the front desk were annoyed to check me in, since that meant they had to stop their gossiping about some guest who kept complaining. The supposed hot breakfast was cold and looked like it had been warmed over from days before. This place is a disaster. Take my advice, if you stay in this area go to the Travelodge, a few miles away with a friendly staff and clean rooms!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaimyankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha D, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Red Lion Inn, Cathedral City, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay at our hotel

We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time.

I came on board to this property about 60 days ago and with the help of my owners, we are making changes to the property some you notice just driving in and others are internal such as staff training.

We take all guest issues seriously and would like to extend an invitation for you to return to our property. Please email me at marsha@williamryanllc.com or call me directly at (760) 324-5939 and I will be happy to set something up for you.

I hope to hear from you in the near future


We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit.

Sincerely,


Marsha D.
Red Lion Inn, Cathedral City
Office: 760-324-5939
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were charged $80.00 the first night and $89.00 for the second night. Considering that you are receiving a complimentary breakfast with a value of a least $20.00 that is an exceptional value for two people. The king size bed in the room was very comfortable and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha D, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Cathedral City, CA
May 25 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Red Lion Inn, Cathedral City, Thanking You, for commenting on our property and hope to see you on a return visit.

Yours Sincerely,
Marsha
marsha@williamryanllc.com or (760) 324-5939


Red Lion Inn, Cathedral City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is my second visit to Redlion,It was a lil hectic this time around they couldn't find my reservation but The FD lady Amara was wonderful, helpful and very funny just a pleasure. She found my reservation and gave a nice room away from road... The Breakfast was wonderful made waffles. I would stay again and I don't know why people give the Hotel a bad wrap its a good Hotel for reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella_031978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha D, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for the kind words to staff and I am so glad that you had a nice stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Marsha
Red Lion, Cathedral City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just a downright dump of a hotel. Dirty and dingy rooms. The first impression that I had when I walked into the room was the overwhelming smell of bug spray that literally burned my eyes and throat. I had to open all the windows and leave for a few hours so I wouldn't breath in the fumes. Not a good first impression. Upon returning later and checking out the room a bit more, I noticed blood on the bathtub, hairs all over the bathroom and bed, and just general dust and grime in every nook and cranny of the room. There were also unidentified yellow splatters on all four walls of the bathroom.

I would've left for another hotel if it weren't for the fact that a horse show and tennis tournament was going on meaning that every other hotel was either fully booked or charging $300 + / night. This was a business trip with a budget so I had to bear it for one night.

I also noticed that it looked as though someone had tried to pry off the window screen... sketchy! Did I mention that this hotel is in the bad part of town right next to a busy highway and in front of a trailer park.

I was awoken at 5:30 in the morning by the loud noise of traffic through the thin windows that even ear plugs couldn't drown out.

The internet was extremely slow when it was working and there is no gym at all.

Breakfast was included but I didn't bother checking it out since the rooms were so dirty, the part that is supposed to represent their hotel to customers ... I was afraid of what their back kitchen and food storage looked like... this might be one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at.

Shame on you Red Lion. I know Red Lions are bad but this one is especially so ...

Room Tip: If you have to stay here then ask for a room as far away from the highway as possible. Very noisy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyTravellerSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha D, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Red Lion Inn, Cathedral City, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay at our hotel.

Again, I am so sorry that your experience at our property was not up to par. I would like to address a couple of things.
1. The mobile home park behind us is well maintained. Unfortunately I can’t do anything about the mobile home park being behind us.
2. We are on the edge of Rancho Mirage and since I’ve been here we have not had any guest issues with security of the property.
3. There is never a good reason for your room not to have been cleaned properly. This issue has been addressed with the Housekeeping supervisor and staff.
4. We do have a Fitness Center for our guests to use, from 8am-10pm

I came on board to this property about 60 days ago and with the help of the owners, changes are being made to improve the property. Some of the changes are noticed just driving in and others are internal such as staff training for the Front Desk, Housekeeping and Engineering

We take all guest issues seriously and would like to extend an invitation for you to return to our property. Please email me at marsha@williamryanllc.com or call me directly at (760) 324-5939 and I will be happy to set something up for you.

I hope to hear from you in the near future


We hope you will notice the improvements that have been made and will enjoy your time with us in your next visit.


Sincerely,


Marsha D.
Red Lion Inn, Cathedral City
Office: 760-324-5939
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The high points..... 1) the young ladies who checked us in and out were exceptional and, 2) we checked out a day early.
The low points......1) everything else. To start.... the tile floor in the lobby is filthy, which about sums up the appearance of the rest of the facility. Our room was filthy. The maroon colored couch in our room was placed directly in front of the door way for out inconvenience. The couch was stained, had debris all around the piping and smelled. The white trim in the room was dirty. The bathroom counter top needed to be scrubbed. The carpet was worn, stained, and dirty. House keeping was negligent..... shampoo was never replenished, ice bucket never emptied, room not vacuumed, furniture never dusted. The furniture was damaged, and there was peeling paint around the bathroom vent and bottom of the bathroom door. Maintenance was non-existent. The walkways were stained and dirty. They had short brick walls for landscaping, and they were leaning about 20 degrees. Weeds in the cracks of the sidewalks. Paint was missing from various places on the building. One dared not use the pool or spa. The breakfast was a joke. Even though the front desk was told on several occasions that there was no more coffee, orange juice, breakfast foods, etc. no one replaced them. The front desk staff looked like they were homeless...... hair unkept, inappropriate clothing, loud and obnoxious. The breakfast room is very small and fills quickly, so get there early (6:00 a.m.) in order to get a breakfast and find a place to sit. One has a choice of views... the front of the motel looks out over the valley..... and Highway 111 directly in front. The traffic noise is loud unavoidable. The back of the hotel looks out over a trailer park directly into the wall of a mountain about 150 feet away. If I were a representative of Red Lion I would pull the signs down and never go back. This motel simply can't come close to representing the Red Lion's reputation for quality motels/hotels! This is one of the worst places we have ever stayed!!!

Room Tip: Find another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Overall this was a poor excuse for a room. For $150.00 a night I expect much more. The furniture in the room was in poor shape and stained. The bathroom vanity was partly off the wall and cracked. The carpet in the bedroom was dirty. I tried to book another hotel but could not due to the tennis tournament which was in town at the time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha D, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Red Lion Inn, Cathedral City, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay at our hotel

I came on board to this property about 60 days ago and with the help of the owners, changes are being made to improve the property. Some of the changes are noticed just driving in and others are internal such as staff training.

We take all guest issues seriously and greatly appreciate your comments. Please email me at marsha@williamryanllc.com or call me directly at (760) 324-5939 if you would like to discuss this issue further.

Again, I would like to apologize for the issues during your stay and I hope we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again.



Sincerely,


Marsha D.
Red Lion Inn, Cathedral City
Office: 760-324-5939
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
3.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs-Cathedral City Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Palm Springs - Rancho Mirage
1.4 mi away
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City
Address: 69151 E Palm Canyon Dr, Cathedral City, CA 92234-1420 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Date Palm)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located off Highway 111 and is within minutes of downtown Palm Springs and the cities of Rancho Mirage, Palm Desert, Indian Wells and La Quinta. The hotel is approximately five miles from Palm Springs Airport. Whether traveling to California for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City is perfect for anyone visiting the Palm Springs and Cathedral City areas. The management and staff welcome you to experience our hotel and comfortable accommodations.Our 97 guest rooms, including many suites with full kitchens, include amenities like complimentary wi-fi, comfortable beds, eco-friendly bath products, flat screen TVs, a fitness center and access to the business center with copy and fax services. Guests can take advantage of a complimentary deluxe breakfast, a news stand located in the lobby.Red Lion welcomes pets for a fee. Coin laundry available to our guests. Business travelers are minutes from Palm Springs and will appreciate conveniences like a business center, access to copy and fax services. We are also 2.7 Miles from the Field Of Dreams, where many of our sports teams play ball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Date Palm Hotel Cathedral City
Quality Inn And Suites Date Palm
Quality Inn Date Palm
Cathedral City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Cathedral City
Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing