We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leon and Tony are the Best :)”

Mountain View Grille at Desert Princess
Ranked #74 of 134 Restaurants in Cathedral City
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dining at Desert Princes Country Club is always a memorable experience. We take pride in creating delectable creations for our members and their guests to enjoy. Whether you join us for breakfast, a casual lunch or to wine and dine, the service and food are always impeccable. Desert Princess offers a comfortable, upscale ambiance, replete with stunning views of an immaculately groomed golf course framed by the San Jacinto and Santa Rosa mountain ranges. Desert Princess Country Club is also a great place for banquets, wedding receptions, parties, reunions and meetings. Bar open until 5pm Monday-Thursday, Sunday until 5pm, Friday & Saturday until 7pm.
Morongo Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Leon and Tony are the Best :)”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

If you are visiting the Palm Springs Area this is a Must ! The food is Fabulous and so is the crew and the owner's. I have been going to Leon's for years (20) no matter what location their at. The Food is by far the best in the Desert... The service is warm friendly, just like family I rate this a 10+ and so will you once you taste their food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mycwcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We went to Leon's at the Doral Hotel/Desert Princess. It is really not in the hotel but in the clubhouse. The views were fantastic. The mountains, the golf course, the flowers, all great. The brunch menu was like $16.99. There were about 15 choices for brunch ranging from a chicken or New York steak caesar salad, short ribs, crab benedict, huevos rancheros. I ordered the sole that came with mashed potatoes (strange) and sautéed vegetables. It was a huge piece of fish. All the portions at our table of eight were large. The food was good....not great but good. They have unlimited champagne at brunch. They were not stingy, always refilling our glasses - they even put a bottle on the table but we never got a chance to pour it. The busboys were great clearing and filling waters. It was busy. We had a nice time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonandMaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistency is the Key - Leon's Has It”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

8/16/12 - Reading some of the old reviews on this site are misleading. Leon's at the Desert Princess Hotel is our favorite restaurant at this time. Of course, there are other good restaurants in the Coachella Valley. We haven't tried them all, but when you find a favorite -- how far does one venture?
Don't be put off by the outdated reviews of Leon's past locations.
Dinner includes a soup or salad. We opted for the soup, because they are homemade, for certain. We nibbled on the hot rolls and butter as we waited.This night the soup offering was Egg Drop with Spinach, recommended by one of our favorite servers, Oscar. He was right again.
My wife loves scallops, and Leon's, she says, has the best offering she has had in years. The regular serving on the menu includes 4 large scallops, prepared to perfection. We asked the price for adding 3 additional to her order. Without question, when given the price, she accepted. Also, she loves French fries in lieu of the mashed potatoes. They were substituted without question. My order was the dinner special - Grilled Sole. I stayed with the delicious garlic mashed potatoes. Both of us commented on the delicious fresh vegetables served elegantly on the plate. By the way, unless you have a ravenous hunger, skip an appetizer. We always see other diners taking part of their dinners home. As we dined, we were entertained by Heart to Heart, a middle-aged duo with a large repertoire of melodies, from the 1960's to the 2000's. Lyrics and tunes by a songstress you can understand, and guitar accompaniment by a very accomplished fellow. If you are dancers, bring your dancing shoes. Leon's has a dance floor, and a couple who were well-trained in ballroom dancing left their table and partook of the wonderful music. Before leaving, we stopped at their table, and learned some of their history. Fascinating.
I must also add, that the views from the dining room are breathtaking and lovely. We watched the sunset silhouetting the beautiful grounds -- through the windows and also reflected in large, facing mirrors. The gorgeous views cannot be missed. Divine elegance - quite romantic, too.
AGAIN - don't be put off by the previous reviews. Leon's at this location is memorable and well worth the price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location - Delicious Food - Fantastic Menu”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

7 June 2012 - Leon's at Desert Princess, 28555 Landau Blvd, Cathedral City is one of the finest restaurants in the area, and we have many. We have resided here for over 10 years; sometimes it was difficult to decide where to go when we wanted an evening for dining where the view is wonderful, the food is delicious, and the price is reasonable. Well, Leon's at Desert Princess is now our first choice. A gorgeous view of beautiful golf courses, a gracious and smiling wait staff, and quiet music in the background provides just what we love. Last night, I had the Sand Dabs cooked in Olive Oil served with fresh vegetables, and mashed potatoes. My wife had the Scallops served with fresh vegetables, and substituted French fries. Included is a soup or salad. I had salad, fresh and crisp; my wife had French onion soup. Delish! We couldn't help but comment to one another how hot the food always is, even near the end of our dining. They have a great wine selection, too. And the rolls and butter are always welcome. Caution: Don't have more than one bread roll. You will find that the quantity of food on your dining plate is more than sufficient. Many diners take some home, too, unable to finish at the table. The cost? Unbelievably worth every low dollar. Added to the dining, currently, they have additional programs to entertain while dining. We stayed an hour later, listening to the live music and watching the many dancing partners throughout the Thursday evening program. We have dined there a half dozen times, and have never been disappointed. Try it -- just once, and see if you don't agree.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We liked the previous place they had in Palm Springs and found it very good with a great room, good food and attentive service. The new leon's in the Desert Princes country club, is even better. Oscar, our server and the manager. offered 5 star attentive service. Our lunch was very good and the view was stunning. the prices were very good too. So glad they found a new home.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain View Grille at Desert Princess also viewed

Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Mountain View Grille at Desert Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing