We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality ordinary Mexican fare”

La Casita Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 134 Restaurants in Cathedral City
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good quality ordinary Mexican fare”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We arrived dearly (4:30) not knowing what to expect. Being early for dinner, the place was empty. Everyone we met was cordial and helpful and we had yummy Margueritas before too long. By the time we left the steady stream of customers filled the place up on a wednesday nite.

Good menu with lots of choices. Mixing the tomatoes and herbs in the guacamole at our table was a nice touch. My fajita was excellent , chile ranno was too much batter , beef taco was ok. I'd go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“You Can Do Better”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Here you are, in the middle of Southern California. Finding relatively inexpensive authentic Mexican food shouldn't be that hard, right? *Wrong.* (And I say this as a former Californian.) While there is nothing bad to say about the staff -- they were all very friendly and helpful -- the food leaves a lot to be desired. We saw the high marks here on Trip Advisor as well as Urban Spoon and decided to try it out. Talk about misleading. The salsa tasted like it was out of a jar, the entree portion sizes were small (especially compared to the high price), and the tacos were nothing to write home about (and I judge them all by their tacos). Usually a place that looks halfway like a hole-in-the-wall has something going for it. I hate to say stuff like this, but in this case... keep on driving.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PacificNWUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb Mexican Food and Service”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

La Casita is a little gem, and I go there whenever I'm in the Palm Springs area. Ate there twice during the past 2 weeks while visting from San Francisco.

We started with the fresh guacamole made at the table--much better than the usual guacamole served elsewhere. Be sure to try it.

My favorite item at Las Casita is the Yucatan Chicken which is very generous in size; typically 3 large flattened chicken breasts served with rice, refried beans, and a small amount of salad on the plate. I usually ask for double beans and no rice.
On all occasions I've had this item, I've been very pleased. The chicken can be a bit dry, but that's how I like it when prepared this way. Other items are excellent according to friends who have tried other dishes there.

Margaritas are excellent and reasonably priced considering their size and potency.

Service is extremely friendly and attentive. It's clear that La Casita appreciates its customers. I always feel welcome and completely satisfied after eating here.
La Casita in Cathedral City rates an easy 5 stars.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iQuack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican Food”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This place is good for their salsa and albondigas soup. Other that that, very Americanized food. It's always full though. I just prefer a more authentic fare.

Helpful?
Thank J9wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcminnville or
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“"Americanized" Mexican Food w/ good service”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This restaurant is part of a successful small local chain. We went there with a group of 50 and the restaurant did quite well to serve such a large group. The foods offered however were the bland usual dishes expected in most Mexican restaurants. This is apparently what most people want thus the success of the chain. If what you are looking for is a little more hot spice and authenticity, this is not the place. I doubt if many Mexicans eat here.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casita Restaurant also viewed

Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to La Casita Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing