We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral City Travelodge

Cathedral City Travelodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cathedral City Travelodge
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I went to Cathedral City for a wedding. It was her first trip there, my second. She had dealt with Mike, the desk manager, over the phone for booking. He was extremely helpful and flexible with our nightmare flight fiasco.
When we arrived, Mike was instrumental in helping us find our bearings around town, and offered great suggestions for things we might find interesting.
The room was a double, fairly standard for this type of hotel, but still somewhat larger than normal. There was a continental breakfast that was okay, but the conversations with Mike during breakfast were wonderful.
We were on the ground floor, and our room opened up to the outdoor pool. The pool itself, despite the 100+ degree heat, was COLD. I'm not sure what another reviewer was talking about; it was also very clean.
Room cleaning staff were very friendly and accommodating.
All in all, we had a wonderfully pleasant experience there, and Mike, if you're reading this, Mike and Dani from Michigan say hi and wish you well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel M, Front Office Manager at Cathedral City Travelodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dani & Mike: Thank you so very much for your wonderful words of praise for the hotel and myself. As i've said many times "it's very easy to be nice to nice people." It was a true pleasure having you both as our guests and the entire staff looks forward to your return. Again, many thanks and come see us again, soon! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    25
    39
    34
    51
See reviews for
58
39
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

First of all, the whole establishment needs to be upgraded. Besides the worn down, dirty, out of date esthetics of the place, the pipes make an unbearable whistling squeal every time you turn on the water, therefore, you hear through the walls whenever someone else in a neighboring room is either showering, flushing the toilet, or turning on the sink, always. The outlets are scarce in each of the rooms, making the air conditioner, television, refrigerator, microwave, and lamp all plugged into ONE power strip which causes the fuse to constantly blow, making it unable to turn on the air conditioner as you seek relief from the blistering heat of California. Your keys literally never work. You'll find yourself making countless trips to the office to get new keys that work for only a brief amount of time, all the while having the front desk attendant blaming you for the malfunction instead of paying to fix the problem. That leads me to the most significant aspect of a successful hotel, the employees and their hospitality. At the Travelodge the ones who work both at the front desk and in housekeeping are by far the worse. From the old man who checks you in upon your arrival, (inappropriately discussing personal information about past and current paying guests to the other patrons) to the maids who NEVER clean your room, this place maintains zero level of professionalism. Having stayed for an extended period of time, our room was never cleaned, the sheets were rarely replaced, and the towels were hardly ever restocked until you found and asked the cleaning service yourself. I was actually charged for using the room towels because apparently they ended up being too dirty after use, and I was told numerous times that I could not get new towels when I was in need of them. We had no choice but to go out and purchased our own cleaning supplies and towels due to their apparent neglectfulness and pure laziness. The hotel looks appealing because of its on-site pool and hot tub, although neither of which you're able to use. The hot tub is far hotter than any hot tub should be to keep you relaxed and comfortable, while you're unable to even stick your feet in the pool because the water is ice cold. If you do try to use the facilities, you'll have to bring your own beach towels since the establishment doesn't provide them for you and you'll get in trouble if you use your room towels (if you're lucky enough to even have those). If you're coming on a business trip where you need to access the Internet, you'll have better luck going across the street to Starbucks. Their wireless signal makes trying to get any work done not even worth the headache. Needless to say, the Travelodge in Cathedral City California is one of the most unsuitable hotels I've ever paid for and, speaking to countless guests, I've realized that I am not the only patron with issues at this establishment. My advice to you is to drive farther down East Palm Canyon and pay a little more to be closer to downtown, do not let the Travelodge ruin your vacation to Palm Springs.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tramptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cathedral City hotels

Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have stayed here a number of times and truly feel like it is a home coming. Not the impersonal robot like greeting . But a genuine concern for guests to be accommodated. The desk mgr. Mr. Lewis has a great sense of humor and watches out for guests . As a single woman traveling alone, I feel this is a very safe hotel. Your family here . I work in the area and stay for extended periods of time it is so quiet and relaxing , and the location is good. (it is very close to Palm Springs but not the high rates .
The owner is just as accommodating . They work hard to keep this hotel a nice place to stay.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, the maids do a terrific job. They have a continental breakfast . The desk clerk, Michael is very knowledgeable about the area and can recommend restaurants, places to shop, even an honest mechanic.
Bring your suit for the outdoor pool and spa, a waterfall and fish pond makes a nice serene setting , very relaxing. I would recommend this hotel highly if your looking for basic clean and comfortable settings. Refrigerators , coffee pots, microwaves in every room, laundry facilities on site. For the kids Boomers is across the street, Traders Joes is as well. Target, everything is close by within walking distance.

Room Tip: The back side offers a mountain view, if you are an Elks member the club is within walking distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel M, Front Office Manager at Cathedral City Travelodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Alisha: Thank you so much for your rave review of our property and staff. You are a valued guest of ours and the entire staff always looks forward to your return. We all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Absolutely abysmal. The guy on reception is HORRIBLE (Michael I think his name was). The pool looks like you will catch something from it and was never cleaned. Filled up with leaves and other rubbish. The room was a state, stained sheets and carpet, door didn't lock properly. Maid didn't clean the room for three days, had to go to reception twice to ask for towels. "Air con" left you constantly worrying that it might explode at any moment. I would honestly advise anybody to pick ANYWHERE else. The Bates Motel would have been a more preferable stay to here.

Room Tip: Absolutely none
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel M, Front Office Manager at Cathedral City Travelodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We remember Bea and her female traveling companion well. They DID get maid service EVERY day, unfortunately, their room was in such a disarray, it was impossible to service the bed they used due to their personal belongings thrown atop. As to their other complaints, they were very satisfied with us until, at checkout, they were shown 11 towels, of different sizes that were collected over their stay that were laundered and impossible (with bleach) to be reused. They were charged a very reasonable $50.00 replacement charge for the towels and told they could take them with them, as we could not reuse them. The towels were imbedded with dirt, food and especially makeup they would not bleach out. We are always sorry when a guest's stay is less than expected, however, this problem has nothing to do with the hotel but with this guest's disregard for others property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Upon returning to the room at the hotel, we noticed cockroaches. It was late so we killed the roaches we saw and decided to talk to the desk in the morning. We brought down the cup with the dead cockroaches to the front desk to the General Manager to bring it to his attention. He immediately had an attitude and stated there was nothing he could do, that it is getting hot outside and the cockroaches come in. He said why didn’t we call the night before. We said it was too late and decided to wait until morning. We all agreed to transfer to a new room and would be back in an hour to switch. Upon our return, he stated that he had some news, that he reamed out the cleaning personnel and that she saw roaches in our room but failed to notify the front desk. We asked what he was going to do about this and felt an adjustment should be made. He said it is not about the money and would not offer any. We could switch rooms or leave. We had made a reservation for a clean room and obviously it was not. Roaches, stains on carpet and garbage on balcony. He repeatedly kept blaming us and was taking no ownership of any of it. When I brought this to his attention he kicked us out of the hotel. We had one more night to stay so he refunded our money for this next night stay. He began to accuse us that we brought in the cockroaches and that our grand scheme was to do this and then get a freebie. He then said you are trespassing, get out of here or he would call the police. I will never walk into this establishment again. To stay at a location that has no customer service and treat us in this manner is unacceptable. To take no ownership of the situation and making accusations towards us is offensive. By the way, we have been coming to Palm Springs for years, and have been using the Travelodge for overflow of residence during our visit. He has known our group for years and still treated us in this manner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel M, Front Office Manager at Cathedral City Travelodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We are always unhappy when a guest has a less than perfect stay with us, however, this was a guest that was looking for a free ride. Gary checked in EARLY wednesday morning for 4 nights. He was here wednesday, thursday and friday (over 72 hours). On saturday morning, Gary and his partner came to reception with a coffee cup that had a small DEAD roach in it. Gary "said" he found the roach on the floor, in addition, he "said" there was food left on his balcony. Gary and his partner occupied his room for over 72 hours WITHOUT a mention of a roach or food on the balcony. Gary then INSISTED on compensation for his experience and wanted a FREE 4 night stay with us. Rediculous-according to our maid service form, the balcony was serviced PRIOR to his arrival and while he was a guest. After almost 4 days of occupancy, it is impossible for a dead roach to appear UNLESS the roach was in Gary's luggage when he arrived. In any case, 4 free nights, in compensation for his inconvenience is beyond customer service. Gary mentions he will not return, when in fact he was told he would not be welcomed back in the future. This is a case of someone looking for a free vacation, which will not be the case here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
3.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#48 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Palm Springs
Quality Inn Palm Springs
#58 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City
2.2 mi away
Motel 6 Palm Springs - Rancho Mirage
1.0 mi away
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral City Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral City Travelodge

Property: Cathedral City Travelodge
Address: 67495 E Palm Canyon Dr, Cathedral City, CA 92234-5450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cathedral City Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cathedral City Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cathedral City Hotel Cathedral City
Travel Lodge Cathedral City
Cathedral City Travelodge California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing