We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Shangri-La in Cayucos”
Your Vacation Ranch House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your Vacation Ranch House
Approaching the house Living room with library loft above
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Your Vacation Ranch House
Approaching the house
Living room with library loft above
Living room
Livingroom
Kitchen with a view
Dining room shot taken from the living room 1383
Master Bedroom 1
View from spa at the house
Lunch outside
edible landscaping along the driveway
View from the ridge top
time to play bocci
Bocce Ball Court and view down canyon
Alpenglow on pond
Up canyon view from the patio
Horsehoe courts down at our park
storm coming up Cottontail
Views
Our barn
Up Canyon view from house.JPG
Fishing pond with Large Mouth Bass and Blue Gill
cattle in party house field.JPG
View from the house
1.  Fire pit, bocce court
2.Tennis court/pool
3.Grazing cows/hiking 4 you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gisha517
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
“Shangri-La in Cayucos”
Reviewed 1 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Cottontail Creek Ranch is a Shangri-La in the hills above Cayucos. We recently had the privilege of staying there for several days with a group of friends. The lodge is perfectly decorated, with a rustic feel that is in perfect harmony with the magnificent landscape. It is very well appointed.The kitchen is stocked with more utensils, cookware, dishes, etc than you will ever use. There are 5 very comfortable bedrooms (ea. has it's own bathroom), sleeping lofts and a casita. The property includes many extras, including a pingpong table, bocci court, corn hole games, board games, fire pit, jacuzzi & pools. You can spend a day in Paso Robles touring a winery or take a ride to see the beautiful coastal delights. In all honesty, we could have never left the property & been very happy. There are beautiful hiking paths & the most majestic views to be seen from the deck that wraps around the house. Susan (owner) is the hostess-with-the mostest. She provides you with so much helpful information before you arrive & is available to enhance your experience while on the ranch, whenever needed. One of the highlights of our visit was a tour of the ranch land in the back of Susan's pick up truck. To say that she is a warm, accommodating & welcoming host is an understatement. Do not hesitate to consider Cottontail Creek Ranch for your next family reunion or group vacation!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2018
Thank you Thank you...for being wonderful guests. I am lucky person that has a passion and a job that are one.
Hoping to see you back soon,
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VJIrvine
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
Reviewed 21 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Cottontail Creek Ranch cannot be described in mere words. It is both a destination and a place from which to visit the natural areas surrounding it. The complex itself is huge, first rate and oh-so comfortable. We were there for 4 nights with a group of ten (5 couples) and we had a simply marvelous time. The home is comfy, cozy and welcoming. The property has streams, ponds, hiking trails, orchards, cattle, chickens, wild turkeys and magnificent hawks soaring overhead. The house has every amenity for your comfort, from the most glorious bed sheets to paper products stocked and ready for your use. We have rented homes and condos throughout the country, and this is better equipped than 99% of them - you want for nothing. Susan is a most gracious hostess and we found fresh oranges and avocados from her orchards awaiting us upon arrival. The fire pit and indoor massive fireplace were already laid with a perfect fire, all they needed was a match. Fresh flowers graced the dining room and all of the bedrooms. I could go on and on, but you get the idea. Susan and her well loved ranch run circles around the bulk of the hospitality industry. Thank you for a really fabulous vacation experience!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Good Morning,
Wow. Now this review is The way to wake up!
Lovely guests. Fun loving and respectful. Perfect.
You missed the pool...next time.
Thank you and I hope to see you soon,
susan
ps. You beat me to send the request...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gravesric...
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 8 March 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Cottontail Creek Ranch is one of those special places on earth that’s located close to cities and towns with great options but it’s far enough away, you feel like you’re removed from any pressures of city life.

The drive in from the coast takes you past Whale Rock Resevoir and through working cattle ranches and produce orchards. It’s literally you, a bevy of quail, a circling hawk, and a herd of cattle roaming the hillsides. Sweeping vistas quickly erase the thought you’re in the middle some of the best wine country in California let alone only a few short hours from either San Francisco or Los Angeles.

The entry to the ranch has you amble up a road, skirting acres of oranges and as you crest a hill you can see the pool and tennis court available to you during your stay. Another 100 yards and you are next to the house framed by oak trees. When you park you notice the bocce ball court out front and hope you can remember how to play as there isn’t a prettier location available for some family fun.

The patio next to the house seems to extend forever with fire pits, lounge chairs, a long open air bar all focussed on the view of the valley below and the hillsides to the east. As the glow of the sun sets behind you, the eastern hills are rose and golden colored and you can see the cattle, deer, and occasionally a group of wild pigs on the far hillsides.

The house itself has a kitchen ready for you to prepare any meal you can imagine and plenty of table wear to feed any extended family group. The floors are covered in a warm golden wood that feels like soft earth as you wander about.

Each sleeping room has its own unique flavor and style with special features tucked into any imaginable corner. The common areas are comfortable and flow into one another to allow for small groups to break away from a larger group while at the same time keeping everyone together.

I can’t say enough about the ranch....start your day with a swim, hike to the top of the hills and see the grand vistas of the Pacific Ocean, take a wine tasting excursion, BBQ local grass fed beef over an oak fire, play a game of bocce ball and relax as the cool coastal air makes it’s way over the hills keeping you 20 degrees cooler than the communities just a few more inland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2018
Thank you Rick for the great review. This is a family that travels the world and knows how to enjoy everything they encounter. When they were here they also popped down to the beach to surf and beach comb.
They would finish their day sitting around the fire pit naming stars and recount all their adventures.
See you soon, Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles S
Auburn, Washington
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 27 February 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Great location for hiking, relaxation and wine tasting. A hot tub overlooking the ranch.
Susan the hostess is the best.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Thanks Charlie,
Hope to see you all again very soon,
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen H
1 review
“Magical”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in March 2017

We have stayed several times on the ranch! It’s just beautiful and large accommodations for big or small groups. Soooo many fun things to do, hiking, tennis, swimming, wine tasting or just kicking back at the stunning location!
For our family we call it “Magical”!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Maureen, It is always a pleasure to have you and your family at the ranch.
Especially special was the canasta gang last year!!
Looking forward to your trip next week.
See you soon,
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikedowne...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Incredible place for a unique getaway with family and friends”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Cottontail Creek Ranch exceeded expectations. 8 couples when to the ranch to celebrate some 50th birthdays and it was perfect. The house has everything you could possibly need and the owners are extremely friendly and welcoming. The surroundings are gorgeous with incredible hiking. We went in the spa every night an looked up at the sky with infinite starts. Perfect destination for a family reunion, corporate retreat, or just a getaway with friends. Hoping to go back every year. Thank you Susan!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
My thanks to you and all for visiting the ranch. It was a pleasure having you, Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Journey53...
1 review
“Stop Your Search...You found Private, Inspiring, Relaxing, & Wild Perfection....”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in November 2017

It does not happen often when you find the perfect place for a private retreat with the most wonderful and responsive people running it - just for you! We found that place when we went to Cottontail Creek (over and over again). A luxurious upscale country place complete with awe inspiring care, comfort, and wild nature views out every window. While sitting in the private hot tub on the back deck one night we watched a barn owl hunting with the light of the moon and sparkling stars. It is run by a generous, fun, and talented artist who shares her gift for design and joy in every unique and cozy room. Even though you are so close to the beaches - you want to just stay holed up at the ranch with a good book, next to one of the amazing stone fireplaces, with great friends. Thank you Cottontail, every time I visit you I get inspired!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
I can only add,
I am blessed to take care of such a special place and have the good fortune to have equally special guests visit. Thank you, susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing