We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handmade, like Mom's”

Brown Butter Cookie Company
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Handmade, like Mom's”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This place was like walking into a family kitchen-- happy, pleasant people working together making/baking cookies. Much work is done by hand- this is not a cookie factory or high priced mall cookie store with pre packaged batter from another state.
The cookies are large, tasty and "yes" were like mom's. they are not cheap, but quality and personal pride comes with a cost. Snicker doodle and oatmeal raisin were favorites. We'll be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    90
    34
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great cookies”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Wonderful cookies, very expensive. Quality is everything with this bake shop. A great variety of flavors, I love the mint chocolate cookies!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dognthmnlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
1,073 reviews
674 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“UNIQUE COOKIES”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Although this review is under restaurants, the Brown Butter Cookie Company is just that, a cookie company. That being said, WOW, what great cookies.

They have their own unique recipes for a variety of cookies. Most are flavored with sea salt which adds to the flavor. We really enjoyed the Citrus Cookies, Almond Cookies and several other varieties. They offer free samples so that you can choose the flavor you like the best. . .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High priced terrible cookies”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I recently went into this store in paso robles for the first time. The texture of the cookies reminded me of almost burnt pie crust. Too dry and crumbly. A small bag of dry cookies for $15? Unreal. I was expecting a counter filled with tons of different cookies like chocolate chip. These arent cookies...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average Cookie at a High Price”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you are stopping here for a cookie that is special then continue driving. Premium priced cookies that were quite average, I love peanut butter cookies and these were not special. We also had a chocolate chip which was below average.One of the salted cookies we had was good but 6 mini cookies for $6.50 was not worth it.

Nice staff. Free samples.Very clean

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seacoast2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brown Butter Cookie Company also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Brown Butter Cookie Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing